We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a Drive !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Book In Advance
$30*
and up
Glacier Skywalk Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a Drive !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

When in the Rockies there is fantastic scenery everywhere - but this drive is a different league. This is a section between Banff & Jasper and does require some extra time for stops like the Bow Lake, Peyto Lake, a very high chance to see the Bears - depending on the season. besides these stops you see spectacular sights like the Crowfoot Glacier etc. A visually packed ride this

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Manavsingh444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    120
    30
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“On a Clear Day This Ride is Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I never saw so many snow-covered mountain peaks one after another. Make sure you go when the weather is clear or you will miss the sight. If you are aware of one snow-covered peak as I am (Mount Shasta in California), picture a thousand of them, one after another and you will begin to understand what you will see.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great scenic drive and amazing lakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A very scenic drive through the heart of the Rocky Mountains. We didn't see any wildlife though. The day before we drove from banff to radium and saw 3 grizzly bears and 4 black bears but maybe that was just luck... We have done the ice fields drive twice now once in October and once in June. The snow capped mtns in October were probably more spectacular then the mtns looked in June. But if you don't have the luxury of choosing it is still a must do drive while in Canada.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank slogan112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Senic View! (Long drive ;) but woth it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We made this drive in the rain all the way from Banff to The Columbia Icefiels. It took about 3 hours with one stop. The gorgeous mountain scenery was outstanding. The drive is worth it if heading to Lake Louise or further on to the glaciers. I was told to point out in my review that I missed approx 1 hour of this awesome drive because I am embarrassed to say I feel asleep! We had been on the road quite a bit by this point, but I definitely took in all the highlights! Well worth the $20 park entrance fee.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank urban_girlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast England
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenery but be prepared to get robbed at the toll booth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The icefields parkway is spectacular and definitely one of the worlds greatest drives but the park fees at the toll booth left us flabbergasted as they charge nearly $20 per day (I think for 2 or more people) so as we were travelling around the parks in the area for a few days was very expensive. We have travelled in many US national parks and this was way more than even the 7 day pass for the Grand Canyon which has been the most expensive US national park weve visited. Im glad we saw the Icefields Parkway but if Canada charge this much for their national parks we would rather go south of border next vacation if we want to tour national parks which are just as spectacular!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJS1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing