We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great scenic drive and amazing lakes”
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Book In Advance
More Info
$971.21*
and up
Icefields Parkway Sidecar Ride and Champagne Helicopter Flight
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great scenic drive and amazing lakes”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A very scenic drive through the heart of the Rocky Mountains. We didn't see any wildlife though. The day before we drove from banff to radium and saw 3 grizzly bears and 4 black bears but maybe that was just luck... We have done the ice fields drive twice now once in October and once in June. The snow capped mtns in October were probably more spectacular then the mtns looked in June. But if you don't have the luxury of choosing it is still a must do drive while in Canada.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank slogan112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,053
    139
    30
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Senic View! (Long drive ;) but woth it!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We made this drive in the rain all the way from Banff to The Columbia Icefiels. It took about 3 hours with one stop. The gorgeous mountain scenery was outstanding. The drive is worth it if heading to Lake Louise or further on to the glaciers. I was told to point out in my review that I missed approx 1 hour of this awesome drive because I am embarrassed to say I feel asleep! We had been on the road quite a bit by this point, but I definitely took in all the highlights! Well worth the $20 park entrance fee.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank urban_girlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast England
Level Contributor
159 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenery but be prepared to get robbed at the toll booth”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The icefields parkway is spectacular and definitely one of the worlds greatest drives but the park fees at the toll booth left us flabbergasted as they charge nearly $20 per day (I think for 2 or more people) so as we were travelling around the parks in the area for a few days was very expensive. We have travelled in many US national parks and this was way more than even the 7 day pass for the Grand Canyon which has been the most expensive US national park weve visited. Im glad we saw the Icefields Parkway but if Canada charge this much for their national parks we would rather go south of border next vacation if we want to tour national parks which are just as spectacular!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJS1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
682 reviews
340 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“A stunningly beautiful drive”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was awestruck by the stunning beauty of this trip and I've been to Canada, including the Rockies, about half a dozen times. This must be one of the most beautiful drives in the world. And it looks quite different both ways so don't be concerned if you decide to return via the same route.

Take a camera and your binoculars if you're interested in wildlife as you'll see interesting water birds and raptors en route as well as bears, sheep, goats, and elk.

Stop often and enjoy the stunning scenery. Don't rush. Take a flask of tea/coffee and some snacks and enjoy it at one of the many magnificent places en route.

To be safe, as a precaution, fill up with petrol often and take warm clothes, food, water and a torch or candles if travelling at a time when it may snow, even if it's Spring.

Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Icefields Parkway”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The scenery was fantastic. Pack something to eat and make sure you have a full tank of gas because there is nowhere to stop for many miles. Make sure to bring your camera and plan to stop often to view the sights.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing