We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Most spectacular road in the Canadian Rockies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Book In Advance
$1,001.41*
and up
Icefields Parkway Sidecar Ride and Champagne Helicopter Flight
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Most spectacular road in the Canadian Rockies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We keep coming back to the Icefields Parkway year after year, it is the most spectacular road in the Canadian Rockies with lots to stop and see. At the center is the Icefields Center, where you can see the Columbia Icefield/Athabasca Glacier and actually go out on it. You can walk to it or you can take a Snow Coach out on it. There is also the Icefield center which is a hotel, restaurant and tourist stop. Downstairs there are displays with information on the icefields and the rockies.
We usually stay at the Wilcox Creek Campground, which is also the trail head for Wilcox Pass, a 7KM (one way) hike that the first people who came through the valley used. The ice has since receded where the highway runs and the Wilcox pass was abandoned, but it is a great hike.
I cannot say enough about the Icefields Parkway, if there is one highway to drive, this is it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren_in_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,026
    136
    30
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best one day's drive in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have now "done' the Icefields Parkway in Summer (1994) and Winter (2012) and cannot imagine a more awe inspiring single day trip being possible. Even though the various falls (and also Moraine Lake) were not accessible in December and the road was labelled "critical - avoid" by DriveBC, the weather was perfect and our snow tyres did their job. I took hundreds of photos and regretted not taking more! (Take your light reading from the blue sky so your snow doesn't over expose!)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank blairsensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
401 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“A Must, beauty to behold!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Travelled this route in October, awesome beauty of nature! Lots of opportunity to take photos, stop and explore and look at this vast expanse! Not too busy at this time, perfect temp., and weather! I love to stop and just be still and take in the images! Great place to take a packed lunch or snack, fuel up! Take a map to be able to identify the various points of interest!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank MASH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spectacular drive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was one of the most beautiful drives I have ever done. I've been to 32 nat. Parks including glacier and none compare. I left Banff at 0700 and arrived in jasper at 1730 and every turn was sensational. I stopped at hector lake (best reflection) early morning. Then bow lake and peyto lake and some beautiful waterfalls.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank dawgpound32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An amazing Drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just past Lake Louise you take a turning onto the Icefield Parkway. It is at this point you loose phone reception and start one of the most amazing drives in the world. For nearly 300km the scenery just takes your breath away. Leave yourself enough time ot do some of the hikes, they are totally worth it. Keep an eye out for wildlife - especially the goats as they like to eat the grit off the road. We did this drive in the fall so saw maybe 5-7 cars on the whole journey. The drive back was interesting as it had snowed (make sure your car is prepared) but it was equally if not more beautiful.

Enjoy!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing