We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The highlights of our Canadian Rocky Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Book In Advance
$30*
and up
Glacier Skywalk Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The highlights of our Canadian Rocky Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We drove from the Lake Louise campsite in the early morning and enjoyed the view and drive along the way to Jasper NP. Don't miss the hike at the Parker Ridge trail just before the Icefield center. A herd of big-horn sheep was spotted at the end of the trail. Another place to meet the wild animals is along the driveway to the Maligne Lake in Jasper NP. Other highlights include Peyto Lake, Bow lake, Saskatchewan glacier, Mt. Edith Cavell and Athabasca Falls. It's been a long day since we have to head back to Lake Louise. The sunset at the Icefileds Parkway is awesome!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Pipilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    953
    125
    30
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“awesome !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

we hired a motorhome as part of a month long holiday and travelled from Banff to lake louise and jasper. the whole trip was excellent. we didnt see as much wildlife as we expected but it was still amazing. we hadnt booked any camp sites as we didnt want to be rushed, but found you could stay in the overflow car parks and lay bye's if you could manage without hook ups for a night or two. we actually stayed at the Icefield visitor center overnight in the car park and woke up to the sight of the glacier. Awesome ! we took the trip up the glacier on the 6 wheeled buses which was amazing (take an empty water bottle and fill it up with pure Glacial water running through the ice) Mosquitoes were a problem for me, got bitten to death, so long trousers, tops and mozzie repellant were essential wear. plan to do it again though next year.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank sallyslapcabbage54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Pierre
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Agree don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Wonderful, literally every mile a world class view. Summer driving was a pleasure and well worth it. Plenty of places for scenic stops but make sure you have provisions with you, especially if like us you were taking young children, as quite rightly so there are no shops or garages on the way!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank VARH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Super drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We drove from Banff up to the Icefield Center and back and really enjoyed the drive. The road is popular and when we visited in summer was fairly busy with tour buses but it was still really pleasant and the number of stops along the way offer some great views. Some of our favourite stops which we would recommend are:

• Crowfoot Glacier – Viewpoint on the roadside to the stunning glacier.
• Bow Lake – Attractive lake near to the road, here you can drive down to the Lodge and take a short walk along the waters edge.
• Peyto Lake - Stunning Lake, a short walk to the viewpoint is well worth it
• Mistaya Canyon – a 15 minute walk down to the Bridge from which you get great views of the Canyon.
• 93km – Sunset Pass and Sunset Lookout - Trailheads
• Weeping Wall – this is on the roadside and is very pretty at the right time of the year.
• Bridal Veil Falls – Viewpoint on the roadside to the waterfalls on the other side of the valley.

The views along the whole drive are stunning and if you don’t want to take any walks then the drive alone with the roadside viewpoints is really worth it. Take your time and enjoy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Sara_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is RT 93 that runs between Lake Louise and Jasper.it is a gorgeous drive. It took approx. 6 hrs, including a stop at the Columbia Icefields Glacier.We went in late September, which is a great time of year to avoid crowds. The glacier trip was interesting, different, and a good way to get out and stretch a bit. We did the excursion in jeans,sneakers and light jackets, and were comfortable. Bring your own empty water bottle to fill with glacier water. This is what water can taste like? Who knew? It was so very good.
Along the route there are many glaciers that can be seen from the road, beautiful lakes, and the like. Innumerable,beatiful, camera battery depleting vistas that change with the light. A truely beautiful ride,with many opportunities to hike along the way.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank catsmeowNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing