We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing drive!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Book In Advance
More Info
$983.95*
and up
Icefields Parkway Sidecar Ride and Champagne Helicopter Flight
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is my favourite stretch of road in the rockies. The natural beauty you encounter is amazing. I have done it in the passenger seat, the drivers seat and also from a tourist bus, and it never gets old. Athabasca Glacier, is a must do at least once. I am yet to do some of the hikes out there though i'm told they are fantastic. If you have time, hire a car and drive it yourself but take your time, Brewster (being the only company with rights to the Parkway) usually will not stop if wildlife is seen and with a car you can stop as frequent as you want. My favourite viewpoint is at the top of the Icefields Parkway Valley.

Helpful?
1 Thank dean0rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,035
    139
    30
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotherfield, East Sussex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing road - well worth a day's drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Lots of amazing views to see - we spent a day going down here - could have spent longer. We did the Snocoach onto the glacier too - well worth it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“'Must see' at least once.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We learned so much about glaciers, and of this one. Interesting to watch the scientists out collecting data. Drivers were very knowledgeable as well.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank DairymeetsDairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“One of the best drives in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Drive on a clear day otherwise you won't see much. Lots of wildlife, especially is you are early or late in the day.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank SARNanoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Columbia Icefield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

I was on the icefield on the last day before it closes for the season, and that was in early Oct 2011. Of course it was great to be able to walk on a field of ice with wind blowing, the cold and do hold on to your cap or you may not recover it when it get blown down the valley.
I was up in El Calafate at ther Perito Moreno glacier earlier in the year but did not get to do the walk so this was an experience missed earlier. The ride on the snow explorer is also a great experience without which it would have been a tedious task to get to the top. Just remember to check the closing date of the ice field when planning your journey so that you will not be disappointed when you are there. a case of so near yet so far.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank passionfruitsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing