We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spring 2013” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lake Louise Ski Resort

The Lake Louise Ski Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.21*
and up
Lake Louise Winter Wildlife Snowshoe Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spectacular scenery awaits at Lake Louise with uniquely beautiful terrain that is both vast and varied. Located in the heart of majestic, historic Banff National Park, Lake Louise is truly legendary and offers the world's finest terrain. With 4200 skiable acres, Lake Louise is one of the largest ski areas in North America.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“spring 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

most visiters stay in banff, so the journey to lake louise is about twice the time and distance than sunshine mountain. the ski resort is larger than its near by cousin and it does have a big mountain feel. yet again the food choice is fairly poor, more burgers, fries and chilli. ample parking is available even on busy days it is easy to get parked within a short walk of the resort base station

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bdcedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    114
    22
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great mountain, need to do more grooming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Skied on a weekend where they received a lot of new snow. As an intermediate skier, I found the excessive "fresh powder" challenging. According to the 5am morning snow report, certain trails were listed as "groomed", yet we made fresh tracks on them. We hit the slopes at 9am, and an hour later the trails were chopped up and seemed as the only grooming was skiers! Our most recent 2 ski trips were at Vail, and we visibly saw them grooming trails there, or we would see the groom marks in the snow. At Lake Louise, I only saw a handful of groom marks and NEVER saw any grooming machine in action.

It was this ski trip, which made me realize what makes a great ski area and thus higher lift prices. 1) better trail grooming 2) nicer lodge facilities (more food options, healthier food options, more places to sit, nicer restrooms 3) better lift pass technology (Vail uses cards that can track your distance, never needing to take them out of your pocket)

I was also surprised that we never saw anyone to take your photo on the mountain. Definitely less commercial than US ski areas -- can be a good thing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LYFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Skiing in Banff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We normally ski at Sunshine but heard good things about Lake Louise so we thought we would try it this time. We are so glad we did, it was excellent.

The staff are all very friendly, they look like they enjoy their jobs. We saw ski friends at the top of mountains and lots of medics.

The runs are good, they are very long. It was snowing so I just stayed on the first runs from the lift and gondola. If you are afraid of chair lifts, there is the gondola that takes you up also. If you are afraid of small kids on the chair lifts, this is a great option.

As with all the ski resorts in Banff, the lunch areas are just not big enough. It took a good 15 minutes to find a little area to sit. They serve Starbucks coffee, food was really yummy also. There is a lounge and restaurant upstairs which would be a nice option. My husband went on a few more runs and said there was another lunch area further up the mountain, I love this idea and wish there were more restaurants/coffee shops on the runs like in Europe.

Will be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank reuhl925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Tons of runs to choose from, but I would recommend the back side and the Larch area. Too many people on the front side, and it gets way icier! Sad to leave this place. :(

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank melaniedawn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I hadn't skied louise in over 14 yers. Lots of new lifts and services. Main lodge was great, still had to look for space no different that other resorts. Good snow, runs got icy near end of day on front side. We skied mostly ont he back side as it kept us out of wind and crowds. Had a great time. As always could have had fresh snow, but didn't and still had fun.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PrairieDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lake Louise Ski Resort also viewed

Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Lake Louise Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing