We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Keep going on to Little Beehive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Agnes

Lake Agnes
Book In Advance
$76.78*
and up
Banff National Park Guided Hike with Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tiny lake only a couple of kilometers away from Lake Louise; a great hiking destination.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
387 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Keep going on to Little Beehive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Bring your guests here; this hike is perfect for show-and-tell. You start with beautiful Lake Louise, then get a good workout hiking up to mirror lake. From here you get fantastic views of Big Beehive (another hiking option). Continue on to Little Beehive for amazing views of Lake Louise down below and the surrounding mountain landscape. On the way back down from Little Beehive, stop at Lake Agnes and the tea house for some snacks or a hot beverage (they only accept cash). Then make your way back down. This trail is busy, which lowers the risk of encountering wildlife. Although I prefer more isolated hikes, this is a great place for those who are nervous about large animal encounters. Hike it in the summer, snowshoe it in the winter :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVeggieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    61
    12
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tea House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Lake Agnes trail has amazing views and options for additional hikes. The Tea House was the reward. Tea, views and celebration of a hike well done! It's worth the effort and time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Longville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Lake Agnes Trail to the Tea House is a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

It was a much more difficult trail than I thought, and I'm in great shape. It was well worth the elevation gain, however - the lake is gorgeous and the tea house was amazing. What a great little gem in the middle of such gorgeous terrain.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ValleyAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hike uphill with 2 kids worth it! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

In June my husband and I walked to Lake Agnes. We pushed our pram as far as we could (approx 2/3 way)then walked the rest of the way with our 2 young boys. It was all uphill and took us about 1 hour 10 mins. We all loved not only seeing the Lake (partly frozen), having scones and tea, but also the journey!

Helpful?
Thank Chantelknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Go in the offseason”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I've taken this hike a dozen times in my life having grown up near Lake Louise and it is a completely different experience in the offseason (much better) than in the summer. Took some friends today and, while it was beautiful as always, it was also uncomfortably busy. If you must go in the summer be sure to get an early start since the trail really fills up around 11 am or so. Much better to walk past 100s of people on the way down than it is sharing the trail with them in the same direction. The tea house is tiny and finding a table in the summer (even early) is pretty much impossible so don't get your heart set on a nice relaxing lunch at the end of the trail since chances are you'll be disappointed. Even if you are lucky enough to find a spot it is shoulder to shoulder. Best to walk up, take pictures, but eat when you get down.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 987xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Agnes also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Agnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing