We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“what a hike !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Agnes

Lake Agnes
Book In Advance
$73*
and up
Banff National Park Guided Hike with Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tiny lake only a couple of kilometers away from Lake Louise; a great hiking destination.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“what a hike !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

stupidly I suggested walking up to lake agnes from Lake louise. It was a fair trek, not for the faint hearted- all up hill, however the scenery on the way up and once at the top was awesome. there was also another smaller lake you passed which was very peaceful. the whole jaunt was worth the effort

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyslapcabbage54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    55
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth the climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a steep path so it is essential to wear strong footwear. The views are amazing when there is a gap in the trees. It was snowing lightly on the day we went and there was a bitterly cold wind but we were very well dressed for the conditions. When we got to the tea house however, it was full and a few people waiting so we opted to sit outside on the veranda. It was cold! We had soup which seemed quite expensive but you have to take into account that everything has to be delivered by helicoptor! Worth the hike up if you have stamina.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic HIKE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a fantastic hike. We were there in the off season so the teahouse was closed....sad. we decided to go all the way to the littel beehive. ABSOLUTELY SPECTACULAR hike....some of the best views on our trip. WOW. Beware, this is very steep and long. The altitude is rough if youre not used to it....good physical condition required. You wont be disappointed

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Hike and a reward at the end.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a great short hike in a beautiful area but it is a steep walk so keep this in mind.The tea house was a wee gem and was a welcome reward at the end.Even although it was last day of the season the staff still managed to cope.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WilmaP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I would absolutely recommend the hike to the Lake Agnes Teahouse. It is rather strenuous at times, so be sure to check it out before going. There are a couple of nice areas to stop along the way to take a break! However, it is well worth it. We hiked here early one morning with our 3 kids and then continue on to the Plain of Six Glaciers Teahouse. Although, we arrived early, the Lake Agnes Teahouse was pretty busy. We needed a break from hiking so we just waited around until a table on the deck opened up. What a beautiful spot to spend some time. The kids ordered biscuits and hot chocolate, while a cup of tea hit the spot for us. We loved the tea house and will absolutely go again. (I think you can also reach it by horseback if that is more appealing to you than hiking!)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank backcountrytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Agnes also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Canadian Rockies, Alberta
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Agnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing