We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best terrain, open the longest!”
Review of Sunshine Village

Sunshine Village
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sunshine Village sits high on the Continental Divide in the heart of Banff National Park, and is just minutes from the mountain town of Banff. Three sprawling mountains provide breathtaking sitelines, uninterrupted by any signs of civilization beyond the resort's leasehold. Ski or ride in Alberta and British Columbia in one run. Sunshine Village's seven-month season stretches from early November until late May - the longest non-glacial season in Canada. The Village's altitude of 7,082 feet ensures the snow stays dry. Sunshine can receive up to nine metres (30 feet) of snow in a season, and it stays all year.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Sunshine is the best! So much terrain to explore! A lot of diversity in difficulty and not too far away! Sunshine is my favorite mountain to ride!!

Thank Brianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya O, Manager at Sunshine Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thanks so much for the delightful review of our resort, Bri.

We’re so glad that Sunshine Village is your favourite mountain to ride—what a compliment!

There is still one month left to take advantage of the best spring skiing in the Rockies, so we look forward to seeing you again before the end of the season.

Best regards,

Tanya Otis, Manager of Communications, Sunshine Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ski resort"
in 58 reviews
"great divide"
in 16 reviews
"delirium dive"
in 16 reviews
"flat spots"
in 14 reviews
"great snow"
in 25 reviews
"gondola ride"
in 53 reviews
"lift lines"
in 11 reviews
"great resort"
in 11 reviews
"natural snow"
in 10 reviews
"tee pee"
in 8 reviews
"lake louise"
in 74 reviews
"green run"
in 17 reviews
"fresh powder"
in 15 reviews
"chimney corner"
in 7 reviews
"black diamond"
in 11 reviews
"lookout mountain"
in 7 reviews
"ski school"
in 21 reviews
Filter

503 - 507 of 716 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Wow, first time at Sunshine and loved the experience; the gondola ride to the Village, the ease of renting equipment, access to the lifts. As this being our first time we stuck to the Strawberry lift and green hills. We were awe-mazed by the views, knowing there were sooo many hills to ski. Thank you Don Beaulieu we will definitely come again. A great getaway from Calgary!!

Thank Bernadette H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya O, Manager at Sunshine Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thanks for the lovely review of our resort, Bernadette!

We pride ourselves on making every guest’s visit to Sunshine a seamless and enjoyable one and we’re so glad you were able to experience that.

The views are spectacular and what a treat to have a place like this so close to Calgary.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

All the best,

Tanya Otis, Manager of Communications, Sunshine Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very surprised by many positive reviews. I think this is the worst place in the Rockies I skied at. Where to start:
1. Short runs. I mean really short, it could be just a hill, not a real mountain. Too many flat places in between.
2. Terrible parking. You are looking to spend 1-2 hours just to get from and to you car on busy weekend
3. Pain with the kids. One has to bring kids back to the first lodge or buy a gondola ticket for parents that don't even ski. Why there is a charge for that? Who wants to ride the gondola to hang out at a busy ski lodge. So if I want to send a kid for a break it will cost $30.00+ for a non skiing parent to get there.
4. Pain to navigate between mountains. Feels like most time spent is riding the lift or gondola.
5. Weather is rarely good. On top of that even if weather is good, most good runs are still windy.
6. Unsafe trail marking. Multiple unmarked obstacles on green runs. I am not surprised at all by two skiers injured at Delirium Dive in a avalanche just recently.

Only positive is they get more show compared to other hills in the Banff area.

2  Thank YEPTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya O, Manager at Sunshine Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort.

We are truly sorry about your disappointment and want you to know that all customer feedback we receive is reviewed by our management team and is used to enhance our guest experience.

Best regards,

Tanya Otis, Communications Manager, Sunshine Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Been skiing Sunshine for years and years. On a clear blue day the Canadian Mountain range is stunning. After years of skiing my daughter decided to take up snowboarding...she only had gone a few times to grab the basics and felt it was time to tackle the mountains. Feeling overwhelmed and frustrated I gave her two hour lessons it was like night and day. After the lesson she was up and managing turns, stops, more knowledge and the instructor Kaz built her confidence. Best 100$ spent. Love Sunshine, the atmosphere, the runs, scenery.

Thank Monika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya O, Manager at Sunshine Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thanks for the review, Monika.

We agree that the views of the Rockies are hard to beat at Sunshine!

I will be sure to share your comments with Kaz and the rest of the ski school team.

Do come back and visit us again soon.

Best regards,

Tanya Otis, Manager of Communications, Sunshine Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have been skiing and boarding at sunshine several times (usually at least 10 or more times per season) each year for the past few years. The hill has a pretty good variety of terrain. I do hate the lack of slope when you ski from the upper lodge to Jackrabbit but that is something that nature has created, Sunshine has no control over that. My main complaint with Sunshine is that we used to really enjoy stopping for lunch at Trappers but in the last couple of years, the quality and quantity of the food they serve has gone downhill. For example, for $17 you can order nachos. This is pretty pricey when there is only a very random amount of cheese scattered over top, most of the chips have no cheese and you get a very tiny plastic container of salsa, sour cream and guacamole, not nearly enough for the chips. When you ask for more, each tiny plastic container is an extra dollar. Also, the other meals used to be very good but these meals are not good anymore, especially for the price you are charged. The burgers used to be nice, thick and homemade tasting. Now, they seem like the thin pre-frozen patties you could buy at Walmart.

The staff on the hill are great, very friendly and easy to talk to. The lodge is a nice place to stay. The rooms are small but comfortable. It is expensive though, so we only treat ourselves once or twice a season. If they had a few more room specials we would probably stay on the hill more often. I wonder if the hotel is always full. If not, it would make sense to put some rooms on sale since the resort would then fill empty rooms and make money on food and drink purchases as well.

Thank klownt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya O, Manager at Sunshine Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thanks for your review!

We strive to offer all of our guests an exceptional dining experience at all of our food & beverage outlets.

Our General Manager of Food & Beverage, Steve Novak, would like to connect to speak in more detail about any ideas you have to improve our food & beverage offerings.

He can be reached at steve.novak@skibanff.com.

Warm regards,

Tanya Otis, Manager of Communications, Sunshine Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Village also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Sunshine Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing