We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage and very comfortable”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newchurch, Sandown, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

John S
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage and very comfortable”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first venture into cottage accommodation after caravanning for nearly 40 years and we now wonder why we carried on for so long. The cottage is quiet, warm and extremely comfortable. The hosts make you feel very at home providing some grocery items and a very warm welcome.
We are now concerned that we may not be able to find another cottage that is as comfortable. I am sure we will be back at some point.
No negatives other than the narrow and bumpy roads on the island! Wake up Hampshire C. C.

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleF...
South East UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The BEST self catering I've ever stayed in... with the nicest hosts. 5 STAR!”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were recently stayed here & we were so impressed... not only with the accommodation itself which is just perfect, but the hosts Hillary & her husband were THE most hospitably, friendly and generally great people you could ever hope to meet. They made you feel like welcome friends not just guests! They could not have been any more friendly, welcoming or downright lovely.

The location is beautiful, the cottage is perfect - great kitchen, lovely shower, bedroom & lounge lovely - we could not find a fault at all with anything we encountered here. The place is spotless, the bed is comfy - what else could you want? Milk & tea on arrival + cake? Hillary provided that too!!

No hesitation at all in recommending this place to anyone at all. We hope to return again!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property & the hosts - both fantastic
Liked least: No faults
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams1234...
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous cottage fantastically located with a wonderful host.”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A perfect cottage centrally located on the Isle of Wight the owner was a great host and made us feel very welcome. We would strongly recommend this cottage.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpoard...
Harlington, Middlesex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Definitely 5 Star”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I have visited the Isle of Wight many times over many years, we have stayed in hotels and caravans all over the island BUT this is the most superior self catering we have ever stayed in. The cottage is superbly furnished with both thought and pride. The owners are the nicest and most accomadating people, we feel honoured to have stayed at Springfield Cottage.
We went on a short break to relax and relax we did, the weather wasn't kind to us but we had no trouble at all with returning to the cottage early in the afternoon to cosy up with a book or sit in the garden in between showers.
We found Newchurch to be the ideal area to stay, it is fairly central and not very far from the ferry or beaches near by.
We were sorry to leave, but that is a sure sign of a great holiday. If Hilary can find a space for us then we will return.
Thank you very much Hilary and David , see you very soon.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph506
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a couple visiting the Isle of Wight”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A lovely warm welcome from Hilary who'd provided us with milk, tea, coffee and orange juice as well as a yummy chocolate cake. The cottage was very clean and comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. We didn't fair too well with the weather so it was lovely to come back to our nice warm cottage. It's well located for lots of attractions and we can recommend a visit to the Garlic Farm and Arreton Barns which are just down the road and Godshill village which is a little further away.

Date of stay: March 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A wonderful little cottage on the island.

Very clean and presentable, wonderful location and we felt very welcome from the moment we arrived.

Everything you need when taking a short or a long break. Compared to some other places we have stayed the quality was very high. A very comfortable stay in a clean and welcoming cottage.

would and certainly shall be coming back.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: very clean and tidy, lovely host.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassysan2...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This cottage is fabulous it has everything you could possibly want and is decorated so lovely, it really is a home from home. The welcome pack is lovely and a very nice touch.
The patio is excellent for BBQ and the setting is serene. What can I say about the owner, she is lovely and nothing is too much trouble. I had a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: A bit too rural for me
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.