We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff!”
Review of The Garlic Farm

The Garlic Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Newchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Garlic Farm is all about garlic...We've been growing garlic on the Isle of Wight for over 30 years now and are the UK's largest specialist garlic grower. We are proud of our exceptional quality garlic which is renowned for its flavour, keeping quality and beauty.We also travel the world to find the best quality garlic varieties to offer our customers. We sell our garlic through our farm shop, farmers' markets, our website and through specialist food retailers across the UK including farm shops and delicatessens. We welcome visitors to our farm shop and cafe on the Isle of Wight.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I went to the Garlic Farm recently for coffee, cake and a natter with a couple of friends at approx 4pm. The food was lovely and the staff were very friendly. The cafe closes at 5pm. At 5:20pm we were still having a natter and the staff didn't say a word! We made our apologises (the staff were very welcoming still and told us not to worry or hurry) and we left shortly after this. Normally you get shooed out of places before closing by rude staff desparate to get home. What a refreshing change this was!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FredMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    774
    513
    166
    49
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hillingdon
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We visited the Garlic Farm whilst on a minibreak during October. Not only was everything in the shop displayed beautifully, there was a 'tasting' facility - needless to say we came away with a few garlic bulbs, chutney, mayo, oil - lovely produce! Also a very nice café which we would have taken advantage of, had it not been for the very generous breakfast we'd just had at our hotel. You can also walk round the farm which is lovely for children as plenty of room to run around and see the resident pigs, chickens etc. Finally learnt about the many properties garlic has and actually how good it is for you!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanklin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“made to feel uncomfortable by staff”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Visited the garlic farm for the 1st time even though have always lived on the island. We made a mad dash from the car park to the entrance in the rain. Quickly through the front door where 3 lady members of staff stood. We said very jolly, "hello, its not very nice out there"! And not one of them replied!! They continued to look/stare out the window and totally blanked us! The 10mins we were there looking around the shop (which is nice) and the cafe smelt beautiful, not once were we asked if they could be of any help or even given a friendly smile! The garlicfarm is a huge attraction on the island, there is alot of information about the farm and garlic in general around the shop, perhaps thats why the staff feel they dont need to talk to you?!! We left empty handed and with the rudeness we encountered we won't be rushing back!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 46AndyJo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Real nice find”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in on a rainy November day and very surprised at what we found. Left with several bags of garlic goodies and will return each time we visit the IOW. Just one recommendation, don't let your dog eat the garlic scotch eggs!! They are absolutely lush for humans as is the garlic and herb popcorn.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bugnerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Third visit and will keep going back”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A really interesting place to visit - this time we went back to buy our seed garlic to plant for next year's crop. Went with our grandchildren who loved the tasting experience and then chased us around the shop to make sure we bought their favourites. Too wet and windy this time to wander around the fields, but did go to see the chickens. The staff are partcularly helpful and gave us plenty of advice as to what to plant this time around. A "must visit" from our point of view and we will go again - next time we will eat in the restaurant as the food looked, and smelled, wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank catofkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garlic Farm also viewed

East Cowes, Isle of Wight
Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Garlic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing