We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Step Back in Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspen Crossing

Aspen Crossing
Cuisines: Canadian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: In Aspen Crossing's 1887 Pullman Dining Car you can enjoy a tasteful lunch or delicious dinner or simply enjoy a cup of coffee or tea with home made pie. This car was once used as former Prime Minister John Diefenbaker's private car when he traveled across Western Canada. We are very proud to have a part of railway history.
Nobleford, AB
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

How would you like to enjoy a meal in the back of an old train car?
Booths are also available but the back is so much fun with its chaise lounge
chairs, arm chairs and the display of tea cups. The salmon dinner was so tasty
after fresh rolls from the oven. Don't forget the dessert - mmmmmm!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank southNobleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great lunch in railway dining car”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was not our fist visit to Aspen Crossing. The atmosphere is great and the dining car is amazing. Lunch was awesome and prices reasonable. Only had two staff but they were very accommodating. We are retired so didn't matter if we had to wait a bit. Fun to try something different. They have finished the garden in back and is very nice and relaxing. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LorandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, South Dakota
Level Contributor
365 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Unique setting; tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had lunch here and it was a pleasant experience. The dining car has been attractively restored and the luncheon dishes were tasty and priced fairly. Our party had the Monday prime rib Philly and Fish and Chips. The fresh squash soup was excellent. The serving staff of two seemed overwhelmed by the large crowd; every table was taken. The service was on the slow side but wasn't unacceptable. We were surprised that without a reservation we almost didn't get seated, but that may have been because it was the Monday of a holiday weekend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank docj9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food, service could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We went as a group of five for dinner. The space is neat - not often that you can eat dinner on a rail at of historical significance. The food, when it arroved, was good but the service needs improvement. One of the orders was almost missed when the server took them, and one was completely missed when the meals were brought out; the rest of the party was almost done eating by the time it got to our table. The staff was apologetic and did provide two complementary desserts.

Not sure if we would go back, but seeing as we are from out of province, it's not likely we'll be in the area again anyway.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StrawberryJewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience in A Rail Dining Car”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had a great dining experience with friends in the Railway Dining Car at Aspen Crossing. Service and food was excellent but don't expect it to be quiet and private, remember what the size of a dining car is. One of the best Clam Chowders we have had in some time, loaded with great ingredients. The server advised us to order the cup not the bowl as a bowl was too big. The cup was the size of a bowl in most places so I am not sure what a bowl would be like! Great money and belly saving advice! Food was great and we thought reasonably priced. Server was attentive and friendly. Don't be in a rush though as it took a while for the orders to come out which is fine if you are out for a casual evening with friends. There is also a neat gift shop on the site. Note that this is a destination dining experience as it is out in the countryside.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank papabear192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aspen Crossing also viewed

 

Been to Aspen Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing