We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly memorable birthday”

Casa Joya Guesthouse Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Velez Rubio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: ADVANCED BOOKINGS ONLY. To avoid disappointment please calls us in advance. Don't forget to use either WhatsApp or email as signal can be a problem. Restaurant and Spacious Accommodation set in Rural Almeria. Run by former London head chef. Serves international classical cuisine.
Reviewed December 4, 2017

We visited for a late birthday celebration and overnight stay. We were not disappointed. The weather added to the occasion with glorious autumn sunshine. Mary was a very welcoming host complemented by occasional appearances from the kitchen by James. The four of us each chose something different from the menu and no one was disappointed. The food and presentation were superb, and we were introduced to a new to us very acceptable local red wine. At the end of the evening Mary delivered a wonderful iced fruit cake, made by James. Truly a talking point. Possibly the best fruit cake ever! We then retired to very comfortable bedrooms ahead of an enjoyable light breakfast- mmm, the homemade fig jam, before heading home. We cannot recommend James, Mary and Casa Joya high enough. Thank you. 5 star rating. Rating buttons below not working

Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaJoya1, Owner at Casa Joya Guesthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Thank you very much for taking time to review us and your wonderful review. We are so delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed your experience. Looking forward forward to seeing you in future and thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 164 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

We had lunch here earlier this year and loved it so much that we decided to come back for an evening meal and stay the night. Totally hidden away in the hills it is so peaceful and relaxing - and the hosts are extremely welcoming. The food was outstanding - a very interesting menu with good wines too. The room was large - a suite with living room (with kitchen facilities), a large double bedroom and a shower room. The views are stunning and even more so from the roof terrace. As well as a lush garden area there is a pool, again with outstanding views. If you want a gourmet getaway, away from it all, then look no further!

Thank CharlieYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaJoya1, Owner at Casa Joya Guesthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Thank you for taking time to review us and choosing to spend time with us. Your feedback is important to us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

On this visit to Mojacar we have visited Casa Joya on two occasions for Sunday lunch. Each has lived up to the excellence of previous visits with superb meals for all five of us on both visits. The quality of ingredients for every course is wonderful and James' cooking and presentation is first class. For anyone who loves offal, the sweetbreads and kidney as a starter and liver and bacon as a main course, thoroughly enjoyed by two of us, are courses "to die for". I have never tasted such tender and flavoursome liver anywhere else before. There is always a choice of 9 to 11 starters and 10 or eleven mains, so everyone's taste is catered for. Be prepared to take your time over a leisurely lunch at Casa Joya. Everything is cooked and prepared for you alone here by a brilliant chef, in a restaurant capable of seating 20-30 covers when full, so even with staggered sittings, you may have to wait between courses. But that's a detail and it's well worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaJoya1, Owner at Casa Joya Guesthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Thank you very much for taking time to review us and your wonderful review. We are so delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed your experience. Looking forward forward to seeing you in future and thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017

We have been eating here today with some friends and i must say is was well worth visiting.
The food is superb, well balanced by flavour and prepared with passion.
As a restaurant owner my self i always look with a critical eye but as soon enter you fall in love with the place and his owners.
It was a well spend only day off.
Thank you James and Mary for making our day.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jossandevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017

What an amazing restaurant, it was so good we dinned their twice in our 17 day stay in Velez Rubio.
You would not believe that a restaurant could be in such a fantastic location , the drive is along an unmade road but don't let this put you off as the meals are fantastic .
10 of us dined on our first visit , James the chef and is wife Mary are such welcoming people and make the experience one to enjoy.
After dining there is the out side terraces and gardens to enjoy and the views are outstanding.
The meals were so good that we booked again for the day before our departure home again the meal was out standing, on this occasion we were the last to leave so we had an opertunity to chat with James and Mary .
If you are in this location you must book a table and experience this amazing restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank srsilvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Joya Guesthouse Restaurant also viewed

Velez Rubio, Province of Almeria
Velez Rubio, Province of Almeria
 
Velez Rubio, Province of Almeria
Velez Rubio, Province of Almeria
 
Velez Rubio, Province of Almeria
Velez Rubio, Province of Almeria
 

Been to Casa Joya Guesthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing