We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Casa Joya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Joya
Ranked #2 of 4 Velez Rubio B&B and Inns
Somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent one night at Casa Joya including dinner/bed and breakfast. What can I say .... James and Mary are exceptionally warm hosts, and we felt very welcome from the moment we stepped inside the door. The location is unbeatable if you're looking for a beautiful, quiet and perfectly unspoilt part of Andalusia. The accommodation is charming, combining both rustic and ethnic flavours. Our room was delightful, very spacious and immaculately clean with a huge comfortable bed. The night time views were equally as awesome as the day. Pitch black, with a sky absolutely full of stars ..... no light pollution here!
If you decide to visit, you just must sample the food. It's absolutely superb, and we've eaten at very expensive London Bistros which would struggle to meet the high standard of fare offered here. All in all, this is a fabulous gem tucked away in the stunning Andalusian countryside, and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaJoya1, Owner at Casa Joya, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
It is always a pleasure to read our guests' take on Casa Joya. We feel honoured that you chose to come and spend the night and eat in our restaurant. Your warmth as guests made us warm hosts and looking forward to having you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taberno, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have now been to Casa Joya four times over the past couple of years, and each time the food has been absolutely beyond reproach. We are vegetarians, and it is great to see what a wonderful, inventive and great tasting range of options Casa Joya can offer. Recommended without reservation. James and Mary provide a unique gastronomic experience, in a beautiful setting. The prices are very reasonable too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66d35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaJoya1, Owner at Casa Joya, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to review us. We are always delighted to get feedback and aim to always make sure that our customers get the best we can offer. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The warmest welcome in Andalucia, James and Mary have worked their magic to create a eclectic environment, nestling amongst the almond groves of Andalucia.

After settling into our Moroccan influenced apartment we went for a dip in the pool surrounded by stunning views and garden landscaping, Mary effortlessly served cold beers as we soaked up the late afternoon sun. This was a golden wedding anniversary treat for my parents (locals by all counts) and the four poster bed in their apartment sealed their smiles.

We couldn't have asked for a more intimate and yet welcoming environment in which to celebrate their mile stone. Our evening meal was stunning. James' culinary expertise shone through. The extensive menu had our mouths watering. The four of us all ordered something different and sharing was the the order of events. We were wowed by the quality of ingredients, immaculate presentation and explosion of flavours, all served with infections smiles from Mary.

The is one place that is well worth the trip, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayovlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaJoya1, Owner at Casa Joya, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to review us. It was a pleasure meeting you all and seeing you enjoying the celebrating your parents´ golden anniversary. Looking forward to your visit sometime in the future. With kindest regards to you all. Mary, James & Lilybeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedar, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

What a wonderful first stay and many more to look forward to. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Casa Joya, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review us. We are delighted to hear that the service was perfect and we look forward to your return.
Mary Rice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

At the end of a long winding track in the Spanish hills, we found Casa Joya nestling in a valley surrounded by almond trees. We spent two days here, re-charging our batteries away from the city. We enjoyed the tranquility, superb food and the hospitality of James and Mary. We would recommend Casa Joya to anyone who wants a comfortable, peaceful hideaway with top quality cuisine and attentive hosts!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mag839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaJoya1, Owner at Casa Joya, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing such fantastic feedabck with trip advisor following your recent stay at TCasa Joya, Velez Rubio Spain. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found the level of service and facility to be of an acceptable standard.
We hope to be able to welcome you again on future visits to Andalucia but in the meantime we appreciate the time you have spent sharing your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velez Blanco, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We have stayed at Casa Joya on several occasions. The rooms are fantastic the views unbelievable and Mary and James great hosts. Since moving permanently to spain we have been to the restaurant on numerous occasions and cannot recommend the food enough. If you are ever in this area a visit to Casa Joya is a must.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaJoya1, Owner at Casa Joya, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share such great feedback with tripadvisor following your stay and eating at Casa Joya. We are delighted to read that you found the facilities to be fantastic, the hosts to be attentive, and the food highly recommended. In the meantime your comments are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I was after a peaceful after the Christmas holiday and preferred a rural setting.

It was very peaceful and the location was ideal...The rooms are very specious and clean.. There is a swimming pool ideal for a morning swim or just lounging..

There was a large selection of meals and snacks..The owners are very friendly and accomodating..

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kambz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casajoyavelezrubio, Owner at Casa Joya, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we appreciate your taking time to review us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velez Rubio
10.2 mi away
Hotel Velad
Hotel Velad
#1 of 2 in Velez Blanco
53 reviews
24.1 mi away
El Palacil
El Palacil
#2 of 2 in Velez Blanco
30 reviews
17.9 mi away
Parador de Lorca
Parador de Lorca
#1 of 5 in Lorca
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cortijo La Estrella
Cortijo La Estrella
#1 of 2 in Velez Rubio
36 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luxe Bed & Breakfast Casa Paco
8.7 mi away
Sol de Taberno
Sol de Taberno
#1 of 2 in Taberno
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Joya

Property: Casa Joya
Address: La Losilla 26, 04820 Velez Rubio, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Velez Rubio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Velez Rubio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PRETTILY NESTLED within the mountains of southern Spain in the province of Almeria you can find Casa Joya Rural B&B, restaurant run by former head chef service international modern & classic cuisine. . We are located in the Los Velez region of Andalucía, between the towns of Velez Rubio and Huercal Overa, both of which offer a good range of shops. The region is rich with Spanish culture and history with many interesting places to explore. Casa Joya radiates tranquillity, charm and hospitality. Once a private house it has been sympathetically restored and refurbished giving it an exquisite and charming ambience. Accommodation comprised of 8 double bedrooms with lounges and all facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Joya Spain/Velez Rubio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing