We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Palazzo Paleologi
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed here only one night as a stopover en route to Tuscany. The landscape around Lu Montferrato is really lovely, rolling hills full of vines and picturesque hilltop villages like Lu. The Pallazo has been sympathetically restored and has some wonderful stonework. The family room we stayed in was huge and more like an apartment, it was very comfortable and clean.
I would highly recommend booking for dinner in the attached restaurant, the food was just about the best we have had on any trip to Italy, everything was freshly made and delicious, the service was excellent and there are panoramic views from the restaurant balcony. It would be worth checking with the Hotel about booking breakfast as there didn't seem to be any on offer!? So we walked down the hill into the village and found a basic bar/cafe for a croissant and coffee. Overall it was a truly unique place with lots of charm and it would be a great place for a quiet get away from it all weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Relais Palazzo Paleologi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 129 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed here 3 nights with my mother (75 years old) and had a great time. The owners are very sweet people and the room we booked was more like an apartment (kitchen corner, 2 seperate sleeping area's and a kitchen table) The restaurant was serving nice food. However do check because I think they may only be open during the weekends. One night when we were there the restaurant was closed due to a wedding but they were nice enough to serve us the wedding food anyways in the restaurant. The bride and groom did invite us to join them for cake and drinks. VERY nice. A few thinks you need to know . This is not what we in the USA consider resort . Breakfast is a bit limited. The owners don't speak English and the hotel has no pool or entertainment. The only reason I don;t give it 5 stars is due to this But if you want to stay with a nice Italian family and have an authentic experience this is it! Clean and big rooms in a partially restored monastery. The town also has a good family run restaurant. Simple good food.

Room Tip: room #7 was great(3 stairs up)
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We booked this hotel expecting it to be unique, but had no idea it would be so lovely. The location is beautiful. We were immediately met by the very friendly family staff and were proudly given a tour of the whole complex...and then shown to our apartment which was palacial in size, but warm and inviting. It has been totally redone to honor the antique structure, and furnished with a delightful mix of antique and modern furnishings. The bathroom was very modern and generous, with a large shower, huge sink (great for washing out a few pieces of laundry!) Heated towel rack. Convenient little kitchen, free WIFI for our entire stay...and it had a great heating system...even in October! The restaurant is beautiful, the food exquisite! The restoration continues and is part of the fun of being there. We were able to watch artisans restoring beautiful frescoes, antique chandeliers being refinished, they were preparing to dig the swimming pool while we were there.Everyone working on this restoration is so proud of their work and happy to explain the project. Even though the work was going on in other parts of the complex, we did not experience any noise issues. We originally booked for 3 days and decided to stay for 6! A wonderful experience and a base for exploring all the other little hill towns nearby!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bici25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I am director specialized in travel guide and even living not far from this place I never know it till 2 month ago. I am not often in Italy and usually have little of spare time to go round but ,by the end of June, I was looking for a nice accommodation equipped with internet and modern comforts better if located in an ancient house to use how location for a film of mines. I went to visit a Buddhist temple nearby then before going back home I decided to go off the beaten track and stroll around following country roads cut among vineyards and other cultivation carpeting the surrounding hills. How many artists, colours and some unexplained signs pushed me to follow this unusual short name "LU". It recalled me the village of Å in Lofoten island, just one letter to name it. Thanks to my innate curiosity I found this little village based on his medieval plot with a plenty of churches and some very beautiful observation pint from which you can look at the Alps and its astounding landscape.
You can see in my added photo. In this context was not difficult to find Palazzo Paleologi Resort cause is the most suitable accommodation in the village and anyone can show how to reach it within a few minute walk. Great place, I had the chance to eat in nearby restaurant that is not owned by the same property so, of course I had to pay a separate bill for it but I am used at it travelling often in Norway and other Scandinavian countries, checking my website you discover how many videos I have done in those places.
Food was delicious prepared and I had a good selection of wine to choose even from local wineries. Very good, I tasted the so called "Gnocchi" made with special bacon in Italian called "speck", butter and some aromas. They had a very thin crust hiding a very soft creamy content.....and...I suggest to taste it cause I miss the words to describe the whole dinner.
I found my room clean and comfortable for staying also a bit longer than a week-end cause it was equipped with a little kitchen completely furbished.
In general, I found the resort being a good place. It is not far from Milan, Turin and other major cities of Northern Italy so, it can be suitable for attending fairs and sleeping out of city sounds.
By the end I enjoyed my two visits and noted it for a possible film location too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngeloGiammarresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Lovely hotel in quiet hill top village with fantastic view of the Alps. This place seems to be just getting on its feet. The renovation of the old building is good and our apartment type room was comfortable to a point but needed a few more touches to bring it up to standard expected for the price. There must be a bedside table for each person with a good reading lamp for each. Also two extra pillows would have been useful. The restaurant for dinner was excellent and we were thinking highly of the place until we went to breakfast in the morning in the same restaurant where we were given a few thin slices of stale hard bread and a little pot of jam and warm coffee. What a let down. They were going to charge us 20 euros for the breakfast for two . We had to produce our booking sheet to show it was supposed to be included in the price we were given for the room. Also we had to pay seperatly for the dinner and could not have it included in the room so that we only had one transaction to do. We would stay again only if the breakfast was a big improvement.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank passyparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sanne Gloria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank izzilleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lu
10.2 mi away
Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA
24.4 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
476 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Morneto
Villa Morneto
#1 of 1 in Vignale Monferrato
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Relais del Castello di Oviglio
5.8 mi away
I Castagnoni - Bed&Breakfast e Relais
I Castagnoni - Bed&Breakfast e R...
#2 of 5 in Rosignano Monferrato
164 reviews
8.6 mi away
Relais di Tenuta Santa Caterina
Relais di Tenuta Santa Caterina
#1 of 3 in Grazzano Badoglio
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Palazzo Paleologi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Palazzo Paleologi

Address: Via Cardinale Bobba 1, 15040 Lu, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Alessandria > Lu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lu
Price Range: $74 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Palazzo Paleologi 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since in the 13th century the Paleologi Marquis, who held the largest part of the territory of present-day Piedmont, chose the current location of the Relais Palazzo Paleologi at Lu in Monferrato to erect their ancient Italian Villa, you can be sure that today you will enjoy that prime choice by staying in a context truly rich in history and charm.At one hour from Milan, Turin and Genoa and a half-hour from Alessandria, Casale Monferrato, and Valenza, Asti and Alba, the holidays rooms and vacation Studio Apartments, the Palazzo Paleologi Restaurant, were designed to recreate the Historic Residence of Monferrato with a careful renovation designed in collaboration with the Office of Monuments and Fine Arts in Turin.Completed with the utmost care, the Holiday Rentals Villa has kept intact the original typologies and materials as much as possible, thanks to the use of methodologies attentive to the environment and to the well-being of the guests. Where possible, the dictates of bio-architecture were followed, with the use of natural plasters based on lime, water-based paints, and treatments of brickwork and parquet derived from natural productsToday the philosophy of the historic Relais Palazzo Paleologi is Slow Living: The slow life, to rediscover the rhythms of the past and the charm of Piedmont traditions in an atmosphere of calm and relaxation, ideal for those who are looking for a sensorial venue, in contact with the true life of a town, for an experience to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Palazzo Paleologi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing