We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Piedmont's lovely countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Camino B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2012

It may sound like a cliche, but this place really is a hidden gem. It's located in the hills of Piedmont, near Casale Monferrato (worth a visit), an area that is not spoiled by mass tourism yet, like some parts of Tuscany seems to be nowadays. From this agriturismo, you have a lovely view over Piedmont's countryside. Appartments are tastefully furnitured with some nice bric a brac. Beds are even more comfortable than at home. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Especially Graziella is an angel. My husband and I stayed here for one week with our 7 year old special needs daughter. As we cannot take here to a restaurant, Graziella offered to serve dinner in our appartment. So we had our own romantic private dining moments while our daughter was sleeping in the special bed tent we took for her (we didn't have to pay any extra for this third bed). We had lunch outside our appartment, on the tasteful terrace. Food is delicious and good value for money (three courses €25, four courses €30, wines about €7 a bottle). Definitely a place to come back to.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanne1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 576 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

I am an American here for work, and this was the most relaxing place I could have chosen. The service was great, the food was delicious and the atmosphere of the spa was unbelievably relaxing. It is located in such a beautiful area, with lovely scenes surrounding, but such a feeling of home, that you don't want to leave. I would recommend this resort to anyone wishing to get a true feel for the Italian countryside, and wants a perfectly quiet and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: the apartments are all beautiful, they have a very authentic and rustic feeling, and make you truly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

On our way back from our business trip, my friend and I found ourselves in a wooden bathtub poured with red wine.
Although coming from Japan where people got accustomed to taking a bath together, we felt so awkward when we were left alone in the wine SPA because it was overwhelmingly too romantic.
We were expecting massage treatment with grape seeds or something, but instead, were given total privacy.
The lady in charge told me later that she did find it rather unusual to have two men in wine bath, but neither I felt like explaining, nor felt embarrassed because she was so friendly no matter who we were.
Anyway, we enjoyed "vinoterapia" so much, and it was not self-suggestion, but indeed our skins got a lot smoother.
I spent at least 15 minutes outside on the balcony watching stars in cold November air, but strangely, I kept feeling warm all the while.
My friend told me in the morning that he does not remember waking up so refreshed in many years.
Our bed rooms were very charming and clean and the mattress was better than Sheraton where I slept next day.
Dinner was great and all the staffs were so friendly.
Shall come back with my family, but I cannot help feeling envious of my friend who is single.
Now that I know exactly where he would go with his girlfriend.

Room Tip: They have a very pretty apartment with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTJAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed in San Sebastiano for one week and it was great. The hospitality of Daniela, Maurizio and the other staff (Graziela, Valentino and team) is very good. We were with our family (two kids, 3 yr and 0.5 year). Our 3 yr old son had lots to see and was able to run around and bicycle on the premises. The food in the restaurant is excellent. Camino is a perfect spot for exploring the Monferato area. We stayed in San Sebastiano in 2009 and 2011 and we definitely plan to come back sometime!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truffel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ca San Sebastiano. Total countryside, great food, great hospitality. The 2-hour spa experience is a must! The owners were very friendly and worked with us to create the experience we wanted. We highly recommend this place to relax, rewind, and recharge the batteries.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank tasisteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We had planned this long week end a while ago and looking forward to relaxing in charming surrounding whilst pampered at this well rated resort. Reality was a world apart. Upon arrival a rather unfriendly receptionist (Irene I think) told us we had been allocated a superior accomodation (the website is actually rather misleading) close to the resort (but not in it) a a place that they themselves ought to call ironically "The Villa"! We got there and the "Villa" was nothing but some modern built rather unloved 70's cube, fully of flies, spiders' webs and all sorts of creepy crawlers! It did even turned not to be owned by the resort itself, the story goes it actually was some summer house used by old folks visiting the village once in a quarter of a century! Having made up our mind and decided to leave, we rather politely made our point to (the rather rude, avoid her at all cost) Irene who invented us an excuse to flog us another accomodation overlooking a couple of garages full of dump! At this point we had no choice but accept what given as it was now late and the place totally isolated. To cut this story short during our stay the place was never cleaned, towels never replaced, food below average, wine terrible, breakfast incredibly poor (where else u dont get a cappucino in Italy??), staff unfriendly and the wine therapy its just a joke - if u dont beleive me i dare you to go and try it yourself! I do have to wonder who did write all those other fantastic reviews?

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GA29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danymau, proprietario at Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2009

We are truly astonished to read such a comment …. You had been advised from your first telephone call that we were already fully booked for the week-end and you accepted the solution of the villa… You may disagree on that but it IS a villa : on 2 floors, with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, large living room, separate kitchen, veranda and garden with swimming pool. Well, you didn’t like it, we understand that, but Irene DID NOT find any excuse, she just did her best to find another accommodation for you considering that we were fully booked.
You inspected the apartment with her, and you said it was ok. This was Friday evening. On Saturday morning, after having tried our (poor) cooking and our (poor) wine, why didn’t you leave ? Why did you stay 3 nights ?? We didn’t oblige you !! We asked you many times during your stay if everything was ok and you said YES, everything is fine! You were not left alone near a garbage deposit, as you put it : our restaurant was open, you had a massage, then an aperitivo with chilled wine served in your apartment, then a candle light dinner in our Restaurant, then you stayed another whole day with an exclusive 2 hours Spa circuit. So why did you stay 3 nights – 4 days if it was so terrible ??? Why didn’t you complain with anybody of us ?
We are proud to say that most of our guests are more than satisfied with our place, so I hope that other Ca’ San Sebastiano guests write their comments to testify that we are not like you described us…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

On our 6-day trip through Italy, this was the best place we stayed. The location was difficult to find. One should have great directions/map or GPS. Luckily, we called the owner, Daniella, who led us to the bed and breakfast. The location was fabulous!! We were with another couple and Daniella took us a couple of miles away to the winery and showed us around. She then had a tasting for the 4 of us in a very stylish area near the reception and restaurant. (She charged us 5 euro a person for the tour/tasting which was a bargain. We happily paid it but were surpised as we were not told of the charge and just saw it on the bill upon checkout.) The wine was so good that we purchased 12 bottles.
We had dinner onsite which is advisable as there is nothing nearby. 4 courses for 30 euros - good and filling. They were very kind about changing a dish to vegetarian which was refreshing. Another surprising charge was the wine (their wine) was marked up at the restaurant. (Again, this was not noted on the menu or told to us until we saw it on the bill at checkout.)
The decor of the common areas and the apartment we stayed in was stylish. There were modern touches intertwined with original features. The apartment was very clean.
The breakfast left a lot to be desired. They served a limited amount to the table of Melba Toast, biscuits/cookies with jam, pound cake, yogurt, coffee, and juice. The jams were good and made by them and available for purchase.
We did not get to take advantage of it but there was an outside table with a view of the landscape and a pool and a "Wi-Fi" area just outside reception.
The B&B offers spa services including a wine bath. We were unable to take advantage of any of these services.
The only disappointment was that we were only able to stay 1 night. We joked about cancelling the rest of our trip to stay there. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 2Travs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camino
9.1 mi away
Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA
7.4 mi away
Spinerola Charme & Relax
12.6 mi away
La Foresteria del Castello Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ca'Villa Club Agriturismo
19.5 mi away
Rocca Civalieri
Rocca Civalieri
#1 of 1 in Quattordio
279 reviews
3.5 mi away
Borgo Ramezzana Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa

Address: Via Ombra 10 - 12 | Frazione Castel San Pietro, 15020 Camino, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Alessandria > Camino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Camino
Price Range: $103 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' San Sebastiano is an old country house in the Piedmont countryside. Its wellness centre specializes in wine therapy and it has an outdoor pool with Jacuzzi.Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa gives you great sports options. You can rent bikes on site or go trekking. Tennis courts are located 400 metres away, in Ombra centre and there are golf courses nearby.You can still see frescoes in the oldest parts of Ca' San Sebastiano. Wine is made here and you can visit the cellar and try it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing