We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Delicious, and the Best in Italy”

BillyBau Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Camino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: BillyBau brings a breath of freshness to the traditional cuisine of Piedmont and offers some more gastronomic 'opportunities'.Together with 'classics' such as ‘Fritto Misto’, you can find delicious and delicate dishes such as ‘tagliatelle’ with Gorgonzola cheese and cinnamon or les 'Oeufs à la neige' with cassis.The meat cooked on soapstone and a selection of Valsesia’s cheese paired with local honey complete the range of BillyBau’s gastronomic innovations.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We believe that Billy Bau is the best restaurant in all of Italy! We spent 3 weeks in the Piedmonte area on vacation and heard about this restaurant. The food is so good that we were back 3 times during our holiday. two owners Marta and Gabriele have created something very special - the atmosphere, the service, the menu choices, the preparation of the food was amazing (or as the Brits say...BRILLIANT.) We tried several different dishes and ordered our favorites 2 and 3 times. Each and every time they were as delicious as the time before. We loved the soap stone dinners - unique, different, fresh, flavors galore. Marta and Gabriele pour their heart into making this place very unique and special. Memories of our time in Italy will always include our special times dining at Billy Bau and getting to know Marta and Gabriele. They will always be in our hearts and tummies!

Our recommendation...if you are going to be even close to the Piedmonte region - take the time to dine at Billy Bau's. It will be a forever memory! Maybe they could open up another one here in Seattle...it would be a smashing success :)

The Americans...jan, wally, jeff, lindsay

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 20Jan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillyBau, Proprietario at BillyBau Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Jan, Wally, Jeff, Lindsay,
what can we say? It was so nice to meet you all!
Thank you so much for this amazing review... You've totally got the feeling we really want to share with all our guests: Feel Billy, Feel Bau, Feel Yourself!

We shared amazing moments with you all! (do you remember Saturn watching on the telescope during the last dinner on the 10th of August?) :-)

Marta has already started to think about a 2nd BillyBau's in Seattle! ;-)
We hope to see you again as soon as possible!

Gabri & Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 438 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

You must try this very speciel restaurant, where food is cooked and served on a special stone which makes the food extraordinary tasteful. Excellent food, excellent sevice, fantastic wines - and a nice view from the terrasse.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillyBau, Proprietario at BillyBau Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you very much!
We are particularly happy when people enjoy our food cooked on the soapstone because, when we started the Restaurant two years ago, it was a special choice of ours in order to offer alternatives to the traditional Piedmontese cooking manner but still keeping a strong link to our local meats.

Thanks again
Kind regards

Gabriele & Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I visited the BillyBau Restaurant last weekend when I was staying in Piemonte for a short vacation. What I can say? From now on this special place would be Number One on my list. I did not expect great deal, because I was reffered by my hosts in the hotel to this restaurant and such refferals usually turn up to be not spectacular places. But...this restaurant was above all expectations. The cusine is delicious - one of the best meat I ate ever! The choise of the wine was also perfect. The place is in beutifull location on the hill watching over amazing landscape. However, tho most important thing for me was the attention I have hot from the owners of the restaurant - Gabrielle and Marta. It was so personal and friendly. It makes me want to return to this place again and again in the future. Highly recommended restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EddieMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillyBau, Proprietario at BillyBau Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Eddie,
we just can say thank you, thank you, thank you!
Reviews like yours really makes us realising we are on a good way.
Thanks for the pictures you took too!

We hope to see you again soon!

Gabriele & Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We always use this website to find hidden gems on our travels and must admit we have not been disappointed yet. The road to get to the restaurant from where we were staying was not the best but I must admit when we got to the restaurant it was truly worth it 100%! Gabriele welcomed us and our 2 year old son and made us feel immediately at home. He has an eye for everyone's needs and a real passion for his job, he made sure our son was happy and occupied by giving him some toys meaning that we could enjoy our evening too. The food Marta prepared was delicious starting with the raw meat tartare, traditional "fritto Piemontese", local cheese with honey and a wonderful selection of desserts and home made rice biscuits. One thing I have not mentioned yet is the view that is also amazing, we were so busy enjoying the wonderful hospitality and amazing food that we almost forgot about it. I live in Italy so speak Italian but I must say both Gabriele and Marta speak very good English and have learned over the years a very good customer care that is not always easy to find in italy, I honestly think it come naturally to them which is the nicest thing. Unfortunately we live a good few hours away from this lovely restaurant so I do not know when we will have a chance to return, if we lived closer we would definitely go often and we highly recommend it to all. Last but not least I must say that the price was very honest specially considering the high quality food we had. Also highly recommend their gluten free biscuits. A wonderful experience for us all!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillyBau, Proprietario at BillyBau Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you very much for such a detailed review! (and sorry for the late answer) :-)
We're so happy you liked our culinary style and all the "surroundings", especially our approach to children and to food intolerances that are topics we really take care of.
Even if you live quite far from here, we anyway hope to have you again as our guests as soon as possible!

Thanks again!
Kind regards

Gabriele & Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Aibj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BillyBau Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Cantavenna, Province of Alessandria
Camino, Province of Alessandria
 
Camino, Province of Alessandria
Mombello Monferrato, Province of Alessandria
 
Camino, Province of Alessandria
Palazzolo Vercellese, Province of Vercelli
 

Been to BillyBau Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing