We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ambience, pricey for the area”
Review of Coco Cubano

Coco Cubano
Reserve with
Coco Cubano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 41 Restaurants in Rouse Hill
Cuisines: Australian, Cuban, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Inspired by two water-loving cocktail-sipping cultures, Coco Cubano offers sunshine inspired Cuban flavours; an exotic fusion of Cuban & Australian cuisine with a vibrant atmosphere perfect for any fiesta! From Havana streets to tropical treats there’s something to suit any craving with a perfect mix of share plates, fresh salads, generous mains & indulgent desserts. From early morning espresso to moonlight mojitos & everything in between, a taste of exotic Cuba can be experienced throughout the menu. Whether it’s a classic Cuban street sandwich, a rich cup of coffee with our custom Havana Roast blend, decadent Couverture single origin chocolate, or the list of celebrated Cuban rum and cocktails. Enjoy all day dining & beautiful cocktails til late, every day of the week. Viva la vida!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, pricey for the area”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a last minute dessert stop before we went to the movies on Saturday night. It was 8pm on Saturday and there were only a few tables full, which I did not see as a good sign when the other restaurants were busy. You order at the counter/register then take a number to your table. For the price, I would expect full table service, however perhaps that is just me.

Coffee came out quickly and was nice. We also ordered churros, which was expensive at $13.90 for small churros with hot melted chocolate and a strawberry.

Nice cosy set up with a variety of seating options, lounges, traditional tables etc.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    25
    24
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Filthy and full of flies”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place opened with a bang last year but we went for lunch recently and were bitterly disappointed. First we noticed that the cafe next door was full of patrons which was unusual as it was not to the same high standard of Coco Cubano in the past. Not a good omen, we thought!

I tried in vain to find a healthy meal as an alternative to the same salad I ordered on a previous visit. Everything is fried or full of fattening ingredients so I just ordered a pot of tea.

While we waited for our order we were constantly annoyed by flies and, as I looked around,I understood why. We found the cleanest table outside but it was full of crumbs so I just wiped them off and sat down. Tables needed to be wiped down as there was sticky sweet stuff all over them. The plant stands behind our table were also splattered with something sticky-looking as well. A table behind us remained uncleared for at least 15 minutes. The ground was littered with crumbs and stuff that needed to be hosed away, not just swept.

The coffee here is probably the best in the area and the servings are substantial. The music and decor enhance the atmosphere.Unfortunately they need to be careful or they will be losing business if they let standards slip. Staff also need better training as they give the impression they'd be more suited to working at Mc Donald's - no polish!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosaposer165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
174 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice cappucino”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

My dining experience was ok perhaps its not that busy,cappucino is great for $3:70 and quirky ambiance .the decor is something to talk about while waiting for your order.Churros is quite expensive for 4 small pieces $13.90 ,overall my family still decided to come back one day to try out main meals.

Helpful?
Thank Xplorer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not great value.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Went there for breakfast and had the bacon and eggs. It was served on the smallest peice of sour dough bread that I think they could find and the side of bacon was smaller than the 1 small slice of bread.
Won't be back, don't consider it value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeathThompsonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good service , great food . Enjoyed the night out with friends.the service was quick and professional. The mains were well priced

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank randolphgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Cubano also viewed

Parramatta, Greater Sydney
Blacktown, Greater Sydney
 
Randwick, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Coco Cubano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing