We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Auberge de Vauclair
Nearby Hotels
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau de Courcelles(Courcelles-sur-Vesle)
$316
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Laon(Laon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Domaine de Barive(Sainte-Preuve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
85
26
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
26
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis assistantfabulous hotelquirky decorspa bathhuge bedno hesitation in recommendingporkgreat wine listan overnight staytop qualityrooms are comfortableseparate toiletfree wififrench hotelsmall hotel restaurantthe owner chefcochon
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 117 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked 2 nights in Auberge de Vauclair through the ‘Office de Tourisme’ of Laon, and we couldn’t have chosen a better place for our long weekend. The Suite Romantique was fabulous: a very cosy and spacious room and a bathroom with a big shower and jacuzzi. We also had 2 dinners in the restaurant of the hotel, which were both exquisite. The owner Manuel is a professional cook and is extremely passionate about his job. In the kitchen an impeccable sous-chef helps him to transform every dish into a joy for the palate.The menu is in classic French style but with an innovative personal touch. We tasted one of the best fish dishes ever (tarbot with artichoke and champagne sauce). We felt really spoiled by Manuel, who has a very warm and hospitable personality. Last but not least, the hotel is situated right in between 2 historical cities (Reims and Laon) and in the middle of beautiful nature; which makes it a perfect location for sightseeing in a relaxing environment. And for the champagne lovers, all the best champagne houses are” right around the corner”. We will definitely come back! Grazie di tutto Manuel da Anne & Gio. A la prochaine!

Room Tip: We only experienced the Suite romantique, but for couples it's definitely a good choice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne_Gio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manuel V, Gérant at L'Auberge de Vauclair, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

You can imagine that is a great pleausure to read something like this. I'm really happy that you enjoy your week end and more happy to met you. You're a strange couple, mixture of scientific and literary but your meeting seems an evidence. thanks for your curiosity wich was the base of our long verbal exchange. I promise you some recipe you can ask me now on facebook. And hope to see you soon, may be I could try to make you discover more tasty dish than turbot au coeur d'artichaud sauce champagne. Take care both and good luck for your very soon last run Gio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were the first guests to stay at L'Auberge de Vauclair, Manuel had just been putting the finishing touches to the rooms when we arrived!

Manuel is a wonderful host and made us feel like family as soon as we walked in the door, his passion for good food and drink is plain to see from the menu and the wine list.

The food was quite outstanding, it could not be faulted. The presentation was beautiful, delicate tastes all cooked and seasoned to perfection. The style of food is a very well thought out blend of classical French dishes with a modern theme,

Manuel could (should!) charge double the price for the food and it would still not be unreasonable.

A limited but superb wine list is on offer covering all the main regions and tastes.

When we walked into the rooms, we were delighted as Manuel has put his heart and soul into the decor, the bathrooms and the whole ambiance.

The setting is fantastic, a small, beautifully kept village a few km's from the E17 so perfect for stop-overs when travelling north / south through France, summer or winter. It took us about 2.5 hours from the Auberge to Calais.

We will surely be back.

Thank you Manuel.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manuel V, Gérant at L'Auberge de Vauclair, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thanks a lot, but may be it would be better to congratulate your family. for advice, encouragement and good humor. And the best thing is to learn your visit in the month of February. Thank you for everything.

Best regards, Manuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pas apt pour les handicapés
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews