We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very friendly and informal B&B in beautiful...”
other travelers have booked this property
View of house from tennis court
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of house from tennis court
Nuthatch Bathroom Nuthatch double doors opening on the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
9 reviews
View of house from tennis court
Nuthatch Bathroom
Nuthatch double doors opening on the garden
Nuthatch Patio area
Swallow barn and Nuthatch cottage front doors
Swallow barn Front door
Open plan living area upstairs
Lounge area
Swallow barn fully equipped kitchen
Picture window
Swallow Barn Double room
Swallow Barn double room
View from Swallow Barn bedroom
Swallow barn triple room
Swallow barn triple room
Swallow Barn Bathroom
Swallow Barn steps up to the garden
View of garden from bedroom window
Lake Villa Front door
Lake Villa
Lake Villa hall
Lake Villa dining area
Dining area
Large conservatory with doors onto the garden
Cosy lounge with wood burner
Lake Villa King room with en-suite
Lake Villa King room with en-suite
Lake Villa King room with en-suite
Balcony with hammock
Lake Villa double room with bath in the en-suite
Lake Villa double room with bath in the en-suite
Lake Villa double room with bath in the en-suite
view from the double room onto the tennis court
Lake Villa triple room with bunks
Lake Villa kitchen
Lake Villa kitchen
Lake Villa kitchen
Lake Villa kitchen
Wild flowers from the meadow
Hidden lower lake
Upper Lake
One arce garden
Guest with fish
Cabin by the lake
Bude sea pool just 10 miles away
Body boarding at Sandymouth beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Bradworthy, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RJWG
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very friendly and informal B&B in beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent three B&B nights here in very hot weather. Peter and Lesley were charming and friendly - expect to be on first name terms as soon as you arrive. Twin bedded room comfy but a bit small - choose the double room if you have the choice. Breakfasts made to order and eaten around a communal table. South facing balcony to sit on which overlooks the garden is a bonus as is the lake, which is a great place to spend the evening with a glass of something!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The relaxed informality
Liked least: Room and shower a bit cramped
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our first visit to 'Swallow Barn'. Accommodation immaculate. So well equipped plus superb information re: local walks, beauty spots, pubs, etc. The 'Lakes' were beautiful, so relaxing & once again so well equipped re: fishing, BBQ & general information regarding the environment. Our hosts Peter & Lesley were warm & welcoming & made us feel part of a family. All in all we can't wait to return & neither can Henry our dog!!.
Thoroughly recommended

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Facilities/Environment
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Being made so welcome and comfortable
Liked least: Leaving!!!!!!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2013
Thanks Jill for taking the time and trouble to put a review on. We were delighted to welcome your family and friends here and were only too pleased that, with one or two extra beds, we managed to fit them all in! I do hope the children suceed in persuading you to come again!
Lesley & Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
aliankids
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage with friendly owners in good area to explore lots of places ot interest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Cottage was clean and well presented.It had the living room upstairs so we enjoyed a good view of the garden.The owner showed us around and it had everything that we needed. We were able to use their two pond area (just up the road) which was also lovely and had the weather been better we would have enjoyed a few hours there soaking up the atmosphere.The garden area outside the house also looked promising.
We were within easy reach of Tintagel, Dartmoor, Bude and Jamaica Inn.
We had a great relaxing time. The one small criticism was that the bedroom being downstairs had to have a humidifier on most of the time because of the earth against the back wall.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic, cosy and comfortable cottage.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Lesley and Peter are the perfect hosts. There when you need them,full of helpful advice and knowledge of the area, but unobtrusive at the same time.
The property is a charming little cottage with all the amenities you could possibly need for a doggy break in Devon.
The location is very handy for reaching coastal walks or tourist attractions of all kinds
My favourite thing about this cottage is the kitchen - floor is very easy to keep clean with a mad Springer Spaniel!! Also the little patio area is a real sun trap on a bright day.
We have stayed in every cottage at Lake House over the last 6 years and all are beautifully appointed, comfortable and spotlessly clean.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of the location and local amenities.
Liked least: Nothing - there was nothing not to like!!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_capin
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very plaisant cottage and nice people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

My partner and I stayed in the Nuttach cottage for two nights with our dog.
Lesley and Pete are really welcoming people and although we only stayed for a short period of time they accomodated us with everything we needed.
Nuttach cottage is a lovely place to stay and the back garden is huge!
We loved the folder which recommands all the walks to do and places to go to!
I would definately recommand the lake house cottages to anyone who is looking for a countryside escape.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: dog friendly
Liked least: the shower could be updated
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$300
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing