We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could keep this place to myself, I would.....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Poets' Corner
Ranked #1 of 1 Ashover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If I could keep this place to myself, I would.....”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I love going here - we try to at least once each year, if not more often. Fantastic range of real ales and ciders, served by well-trained, knowledgeable and friendly staff. Must make a personal mention here for Michelle. Little firecracker who really has a handle on absolutely everything going on around her. It was great to find her still working here this year.
Food always used to be good. Nothing special, just unpretentious, well produced grub served in decent portions. This year it's even better than we remembered.
Rooms tend to be a little on the small side, and you can easily find yourself with bumps and bruises trying to squeeze between the bed and the mantelpiece on the way to the en-suite bathroom in the dark! That being said, it's a really old place, full of character, so I wouldn't expect anything else.
Set just on the edge of Derbyshire's Peak District it's the ideal place to head for a weekend of walking, fantastic beer, food, company, open fires, pub dogs - you get the idea.

Room Tip: Lose a few pounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    71
    20
    14
    10
See reviews for
65
115
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My partner our German Shepherd and I stayed here in April and we had a great time.My main reason for originally booking The OPC was the brewery and the extensive range of real ales,lt did not disappoint in this regard or any other aspect what so ever.The location is excellent with terrific views in a lovely village.The food was pipng hot,tasty and the portions were generous.The building itself is full of character with an open fire in the bar.The room we stayed in was quite large and spotlessly clean.Finally to one of the most vital components of a good hotel, the staff.The people who work here without exception strive to make your visit memorable and nothing is too much trouble.We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My partner and I, along with our 2 dogs stayed here for 2 nights at Easter. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The choice of beer and ciders excellent. The food was lovely and good portions after long walks. We would definitely recommend a stay or visit here and hopefully will be returning in the not so distant future. What really impressed us apart from the beer and food was that all the staff were so friendly and helpful. A great pub with great atmosphere! Loved the real fires. The only downside was the shower was more of a drizzle. Hopefully that will be sorted. Lovely village too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheeler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Myself, my husband and our boxer dog Humphrey stayed here for one night over Easter. Lovely friendly pub, excellent for walks directly from the pub. The food was generous and tasted great, good breakfast. Very dog friendly, though bedroom quite small for all 3 of us. Would definitely stay here again, for longer next time. Good brewery attached!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerlip20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This pub is situated fairly central to major attractions in the Derby Dales. Prices are a bit high for the stay but the Dales area has limited accomodation and demand is high as we have found in the past staying in Buxton for a wedding.That aside the Pub has five oldie worldie rooms with en-suite fascilities adequate and very clean. All staff where very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was of a high standard, we stayed on a sunday night which was Currie Night with a suprisingly large selection of curries, all very tasty. Their selection of Real Ales was outstanding, tasting before buying was encouraged.
Overall a pleasant overnight stay. Would go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadewood41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We had the Sunday carvery which was excellent. Of course the beer here is renowned for its awards and was thoroughly enjoyed by the men. The wine was also lovely. This village is so beautiful and well known to walkers and cyclists. The pub has themed bedrooms and a cottage so please don't hesitate to book your room, you won't be disappointed. The staff will give you a warm welcome and cater for all your needs.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURTON
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Myself hubby and dog visited over Easter we all had great time this place is excellent! Having called for drink some time ago we decided to book in for three nights bed and breakfast we couldnt fault anything The bedroom was nicely decorated cosy & spotlessly clean tv hairdryer tea coffee etc avaliable The staff all friendly and made us all welcome we soon felt relaxed opened the bar tab and that was it ! super varied tasty food and great range of real ales soon worked my way along the pumps before settling on a favourite.The full english breakfast is huge and sets you up for the day.The Poets is ideally situated for some brilliant walks buy a walk guide from behind bar they are easy to follow and informative . Dogs welcome in all areas chatted with locals and visitors mostly about beer and dogs and biking GREAT want to go back again this year

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurtonJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashover
2.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
753 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
597 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#12 of 15 in Chesterfield
247 reviews
4.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
263 reviews
3.6 mi away
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Poets' Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Poets' Corner

Property: The Old Poets' Corner
Address: 1 Butts Road, Ashover, Chesterfield S45 0EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Ashover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ashover
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional British pub in the heart of the Peak District. Surrounded by beautiful walks and spectacular views. We offer five en-suite rooms and also have a three bedroom cottage attached to the pub. Only a short drive from Bakewell, Matlock and Chesterfield you will always have plenty to do. We offer an excellent menu and a warm welcome and our staff will do everything to make our stay memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Poets` Corner Hotel Ashover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing