We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place for walking”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Poets' Corner
Ranked #1 of 1 Ashover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ideal place for walking”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I and 3 friends stayed in the cottage for 3 nights whilst walking in the Peak District. The accomodation was excellent and the pub with its good food and huge selection of real ales and ciders lent itself to some merry evenings as we wound down from a hard days walking. My only criticism was that it was difficult to find any staff around in the mornings and the doors were all locked. We eventually found a route in through the kitchen so no harm done - and the breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyWB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    71
    20
    14
    9
See reviews for
65
115
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our eighth visit to the poets, may there be lots more .The range of beers is great and cider too,so I've been told. As for lager it's available!

The poets is well positioned for short or long walks and the in house guides for the local routes are excellent. Curry on Sundays is highly recommended.

We stay in the cottage and the facilities are first class. The staff at the poets are always friendly and helpfull.

David

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davsterobian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I am reviewing as a resturant/pub, not a hotel. Wide choice on menu, the food was very tasty, with decent portions, and prices low. Service was friendly, they have a seperate dining room or you can eat in the main pub area (dogs are allowed here). Only minus points were the side order of vegetables, which was just peas and carrots, and the chocolate fudge cake was a bit weak for a chocolate lover like me!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Cambridge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash vale
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you are anywhere within say twenty miles of this establishment then I urge you to visit.This is a brilliant example of an old fashioned pub with wooden floors,great beers (local tipple £2.80 a pint) and ciders and good value food....the spicy sausage casserole is really tasty. Two blazing fires add to the atmosphere and enjoyment. Congratulations to those who own and run the place.
Wish we had pubs like this in Surrey !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

A real warm and inviting Pub with great bed-rooms above. We have been twice now, and will almost definitely go again. Great food, amazing breakfasts great beer on draught, what more could you want ? A really good base to explore the peaks from, staff cant do enough for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnkracher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It’s a really nice place. A couple of open fires, wood and coal to keep the place warm, and the place is candle lit in the evening / nights. Atmosphere is spot on.

They have great a food and real ale / ciders selection section. The bear Tapas is also fun if you can’t decide and you get a little tray of 1/3rd pint glasses.

Most negative things I hear said and have experienced about Poets are where it is a victim of its own success. It’s a small pub and all the food is “really” made etc, so it can get jam packed and things slow down a little at peak times.

Has to be given a go if you like this kind of thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelT224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
250 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

15 of use went on an aletrail weedend and went for a meal and drink on Fri.night what a great pub first class beer/food and service very busy a very good sign.Very welcoming staff and customers.Can not wait. to go again

Room Tip: DID NOT STAY Sorry wrong box
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashover
2.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
734 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
586 reviews
3.6 mi away
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
247 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,349 reviews
4.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Poets' Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Poets' Corner

Property: The Old Poets' Corner
Address: 1 Butts Road, Ashover, Chesterfield S45 0EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Ashover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ashover
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional British pub in the heart of the Peak District. Surrounded by beautiful walks and spectacular views. We offer five en-suite rooms and also have a three bedroom cottage attached to the pub. Only a short drive from Bakewell, Matlock and Chesterfield you will always have plenty to do. We offer an excellent menu and a warm welcome and our staff will do everything to make our stay memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Poets` Corner Hotel Ashover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing