We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Poets' Corner
Nearby Hotels
Peak Edge Hotel(Stonedge)
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodgkinson's Hotel(Matlock Bath)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbeydale Hotel(Chesterfield)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
195
77
22
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
77
22
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbeer festivalreal alegreat beerquiz nightfish chipscurry nightpiehome cookedlovely foodown brewerysunday carveryburns roomstayed for two nightsevening mealbreakfast was excellentpeak district
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 321 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Friendly staff, great choice of food and beer and rooms nice and clean. Breakfast was fantastic. Great atmospere and good value for money. Lots of Lovely walks nearby. Will definately stay again very soon!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRP1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked this inn as we were travelling with a 20 week old puppy. The pub was most welcoming, our room was a good size (plenty of room for the pup's cage), comfortable bed. Dogs are allowed in the bar, should you so wish, but not in the restaurant , naturally. The food was good fare, well cooked and cheerfully served. The bar staff were exceptional - thank you, Kirsty! especially - it is so nice to have cheerful service and helpful advice. Lovely walks from outside the pub. we will be returning as soon as possible!
Only small complaint - the air filter in the bathroom was very noisy.

Room Tip: Having looked at all the rooms - for future booking - they are all a good size and well-appointed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northeasttraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Several visits in and I still keep going. Great selection of real ales and ciders. Food is really good. Do not go unless you have an empty stomach. I can eat a lot but struggle to finish these meals. Always fresh and real chips. I had a meat and potato pie today and the only thing I could criticise was the lack of potatoes. It was absolutely full of well cooked beef. Everyone else there seemed really happy with the food served.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Andyt2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Old Poets Corner is exactly what you hope to find when choosing somewhere to stay for an evening based only on recommendations on the internet. A very cheery welcome, excellent choice of beers and fruit wines plus proper, unpretentious home cooked pub food. Our room was lovely, comfortable and so quiet.
Now to plan my return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked the cottage and several rooms at Poets Corner for a family get together. The cottage is very roomy and comfortable and the B&B rooms are lovely. The staff are very cheerful and friendly and looked after us very well. Lovely food and my husband loved the selection of beers. We will certainly be going back to The Old Poets Corner.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews