We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place with great service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Poets' Corner
Ranked #1 of 1 Ashover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Place with great service”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Visted this place for my mums 60th Birthday. On arrival parking was difficult but once inside we were met with a lovely decor. The food was great and well priced, good selection of drinks from the bar and brilliant service. They let us take a cake in that we had made, they kept it in the kitchen then brought it out for us when ready. Highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    71
    20
    14
    9
See reviews for
65
115
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We went to the poet on a Saturday night. We have been to the pub many times-which is really lovely- but never to the restaurant. We were so disappointed! The food was awful and some of our order was wrong. I had a mushroom starter cooked in some sloppy greasy sauce which just tasted like vinegar and my friends had pate which they couldn't finish as we were overwhelmed by the smell of fish! I had steak for main at nearly £15 supposedly cooked 'medium' but it was very dry and chewy. Definately not worth the price, far too expensive for such poor quality of food and cooking. Maybe the price was just for quantity rather than quality? It won't be a restaurant we will be going to again, but the pub is really good and we have absolutely no complaints about that :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Old Poets' Corner, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Firstly I must apologise for the delay in responding to this review. There is a fairly long wait for TripAdvisor to allow you to verify your connection with the business and to pass security before you have the opportunity to respond to reviews.

Had we been made aware of the problems this party had in our restaurant at the time or received correspondence directly we would have been able to handle this complaint immediately.

We very rarely receive complaints and so on the few occasions that we do get it wrong we always seek to put right any grievance immediately and make our customers happy, we also record all complaints and take them very seriously. On this occasion we have no record on the night of any complaint. We have however still taken this review very seriously and have since made changes within our kitchen management team. We are confident these changes will improve the level of service we offer and we endeavour to strive to improve quality. We are a very successful business with a fully booked restaurant most evenings, on the very rare occasion that we have a problem such as this we use it as an opportunity to help us in our attempt to continually improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedlescombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Yes this is a nice pub other half loved all the 'Real Ales'.Ate in the pub on two nights running as staying in the area gets very busy but food very good and not over priced like some. when we went roaring fires going (lovely).Staff helpful and chatty if your passing 'Pop In'.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felinesussex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
252 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

14 of use went to The Old Poets' Corner on Sat 31st March and what a great night it was Great
own beers (Micro) good food and great service.Thank you we will be back!

Room Tip: Did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have visited this pub at lunch times, in the evenings, on all days of the week, in both Summer and Winter and can say that the atmosphere is always great, even when busy or empty! The locally produced beers are brilliant (can recommend Light Rail and Hydro - both Ashover Brewery Beers) although we find the guest beers a bit pricey (over £3 a pint). We have never stayed there overnight or eaten so cant comment of those aspects.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartcarlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

having discovered during a day walk last year we decided to stay for a weekend. Room was great, food was great, beer was outstanding, weather was pretty awful but roaring fire soon dried us out.
Staff couldn't have been more friendly.

They do get very busy with food so a tip is to book a table when you book your room just to be on the safe side.
It is very dog friendly & a big CAMRA pub so if neither of them appeal look elsewhere!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pog_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire, england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

My partner and another couple all stayed at the old poets corner for one saturday night on a bed and breakfast option. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly bar staff,a log fire and warm surroundings. We were shown to our rooms which were spacious ,comfy and nicely decorated,with flatscreen tv and tea and coffee making facilities. It is a very snug little pub with a great menu,great choice of real ales and wines. The breakfast was great with very good choice and we have planned another trip for later on this year already. Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome

Room Tip: The pub rooms are great and they also have a cottage that sleeps 8 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callywallywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashover
2.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
734 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
586 reviews
3.6 mi away
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
247 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,350 reviews
4.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Poets' Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Poets' Corner

Property: The Old Poets' Corner
Address: 1 Butts Road, Ashover, Chesterfield S45 0EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Ashover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ashover
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional British pub in the heart of the Peak District. Surrounded by beautiful walks and spectacular views. We offer five en-suite rooms and also have a three bedroom cottage attached to the pub. Only a short drive from Bakewell, Matlock and Chesterfield you will always have plenty to do. We offer an excellent menu and a warm welcome and our staff will do everything to make our stay memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Poets` Corner Hotel Ashover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing