We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely superb!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue C
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb!”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is an outstanding cottage, the best we have stayed in. The accommodation is excellent and the welcome received from Veronica and Jo was quite special. A card, cake, eggs from their hens, and honey from their bees . There was even a bed for the dog, in case you had forgotten to bring one! The cottage is very well equipped, spotlessly clean and the beds are very comfortable. The dog had an enclosed private garden to play in and plenty of quiet lanes and open fields to explore. The cottage is very well situated for visiting all that the Peak District has to offer and their are four excellent pubs nearby. We couldn't have asked for more!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
“A well equipped cottage in a lovely rural setting”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Acorn Cottage is a beautiful converted barn in a lovely quiet location. We found it to be very clean and well equipped with great attention to detail. The owners Veronica and Jo went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed for the perfect holiday. Nothing was too much trouble and they made several recommendations on what to do and where to go in the vicinity. A welcome pack was provided and greatly appreciated. The cottage was furnished to a very high standard and was warm and cosy. Acorn Cottage is well situated for visiting towns such as Matlock and Bakewell and impressive houses such as Chatsworth House. Having stayed in many properties throughout the country this must be one of the nicest and we will certainly return at some time in the future.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W
Heacham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have had a lovely week in Acorn Cottage. The cottage is lovely as are the owners. The location is perfect, so many lovely dog walks from the doorstep. The cottage is a great location for Bakewell, Matlock, Chesterfield, Alton Towers but is in a quiet hamlet with great views. I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dog friendliness of property and location. Everything.
Liked least: Nothing, all perfect
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2015
Hi Nancy, what a delightful review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Acorn Cottage and that the owners were lovely to you. It was also nice to hear that the dogs had a great time and the location played a part in your happiness. We look forward to your next booking!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
southam Warwickshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A well kept secret!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

What a lovely cottage, well equipped, cosy, and quiet. Jo and Veronica were very welcoming, from the lovely home made biscuits, their own free range eggs and lots of little extras. Loved helping with the animals, and an added extra we had snow....
No wonder they are booked up till after October, we shall be back next year!

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2015
Thank you so much for your review. It sounds like you had an excellent time at Acorn Cottage. The owners appear to have gone out of their way to welcome you, everything from the home made biscuits to including their own eggs! It is definitely the small homely touches which make a big difference. We would love to get you booked in early for next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K3722KSsh...
Hasland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!”
Reviewed December 26, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Great location for walking, pubs, shops and unloading the car is quick, as it's parked beside front door. Jo & Veronica are extremely helpful and keep the cottage to a very high standard. It's very well equipped for dogs and humans, lots of unexpected extras, plenty of bin bags toilet roll etc. Nice touch on arrival of cake, milk and eggs, or in our case a real Christmas tree, crackers, mulled wine and mince pies. This is our THIRD visit and we have booked again!

Date of stay: December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy L
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb in every respect”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here with our daughter and her husband and their 1-year-old daughter and must say it far exceeded ALL our expectations. Immaculately clean with every amenity you could ever need, and looked after by two of the nicest people you could wish to find and only too pleased to assist you if you needed anything.
The cottage is a recent (2 years old) barn conversion situated down a narrow lane in a beautiful valley with extensive views once you leave the drive. The garden is well maintained and the lawned area in safe and secure behind a dry stone wall and gate... so great for kids. There is ample parking and if the weather is as good as we had you will not need to venture far. Well placed for the local attractions, and excellent an Pub and Farm Shop a short drive.
This is by far the best place we have ever stayed at and intend to return.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owners keen to let you feed the animals on the farm.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhán G
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I went to this cottage with my 13 year-old daughter who chose this cottage it was lovely, very friendly owners and animals, my daughter helped out with the working farm and she loved it. it is a very well warming- welcome, we were very lucky to get nice weather.
My only reservation is to provide more cooking utensils i.e salad bowls, pie dish to put lasagna in.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 13-17
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing