We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb cottage with wonderful views...”
other travelers have booked this property
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Time for tea and cake in cosy Columbine Cottage Columbine Cottage's garden with patio, furniture and barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Time for tea and cake in cosy Columbine Cottage
Columbine Cottage's garden with patio, furniture and barbecue
Columbine main bedroom with double bed
Twin Bedroom 1
Luxurious kitchen
Columbine Cottage's dining room
The lane outside Columbine Cottage
Relax in the sun outside the sitting room door
Twin Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Bathroom
Footpath along the lane from the cottage
Garden with sitting room window behind
Steps to Garden
View across valley from just outside the cottage
Main entrance to Columbine Cottage
Foxgloves and horses from the local riding school
View from the lane outside Columbine Cottage
Ashover Village
Heather moorland within 2 miles of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PippaHert...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb cottage with wonderful views, well-equipped and comfortable for the whole family.”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Five of us enjoyed a wonderful week-long stay here with two children. Brilliantly located to reach so many of Derbyshire's attractions, as well as superb views and wonderful local walks on the doorstep. The cottage is brilliantly equipped, from tea towels and tin foil to children's cups and plates and coffee machine (nevermind the dishwasher, washing machine and drier!). The beds are extremely comfortable, with gorgeous white cotton sheets, and a great shower with soft towels aplenty. Lovely toiletries provided, too. Lots of storage and hanging space in each bedroom. Sue welcomed us on arrival having sent lots of information in advance and in the cottage there were plenty of guides to local attractions, shops, walks and all we needed to know about the cottage itself. The boys loved playing in the little garden with the ball (provided in the shed). Parking was easy. Everything has been thought of. Columbine Cottage really is to be highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole F
Switzerland
2 reviews
“It was just great”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed the first time in Derbyshire and our children the first time in the UK. We had a fantastic holiday. We rented the Columbine Cottage for 14 nights and we liked it very much. It is very well equiped and the beds are very comfortable. We slept very well. In our private garden just next to our house, we could have a rest and the children had enough space for playing on the gras. Alton has only a few houses and so it's very quiet there. What we liked as well was, that within 45 minutes driving, we could visit a lot of interesting places. Our children (11y and 8y) liked it as well, There were lot of things for them to do as well.
The Ashover area is lovely and in Ashover itself, there are very good Pubs where they serve delicous meals. We always walked there. It's a 30 minutes walk up to Fabrick Rock and down to Ashover and the sight is just marvellous.
We hope to come back one time because there is still a lot to see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane64bd
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best holiday cottage I have stayed in”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We all absolutely loved Columbine Cottage. The standard of all the equipment was exceedingly high, the bed linen was the finest I have slept in; every time I looked for something in the kitchen I found it, and so on. I loved the fact that we had our own garden, and even better was the fact that the table there gets both morning and evening sun. The owners were super nice and super helpful. I would stay there again without hesitation. Added to all this, it's in a stunningly beautiful quiet rural location in a gorgeous part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Accommodation, everything you needed was provided.”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with family visiting from Australia, the cottage and setting was perfect, would definitely stay again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alibobs78
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in beautiful Peak District setting”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Gorgeous cottage in lovely peaceful village not far from town with shops/places to eat and lots of attractions close to hand. Beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Sue the owner is fantastically helpful ahead of your stay and has really thought of every convenience to make it feel just like home - especially for young kids (cot, stair gate, high chair and boxes of indoor and outdoor toys all to hand). Lots of really useful tourist information in cottage - no need for a guide book, everything for a brew on arrival in case you've yet to get to the shops, lovely toiletries in bathroom and everything you might possibly need in the kitchen. There is an adjoining cottage also available to rent for bigger parties. Absolutely fantastic value too. Could not fault it and highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
53country...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Restful scenic home from home.”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Columbine cottage looks charming from the outside and has everything you need on the inside. The cottage had a wonderful arrival tray to meet the needs of grandparents, adult children and grandchildren alike. The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable, with crisp white bedlinen, soft plump duvets and a good array of toiletries.The sitting room was cosy and had the benefit of an open log fire....wonderful at nighttime. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and had both dining room and breakfast bar, especially enjoyed by the little ones. The cottage is in a beautiful location over a valley with open fields. The owners were extremely hospitable and nothing was too much trouble.Even the passing walking locals were happy to chat.We had a lovely few days here, enjoying local country walks, and trips to Chesterfield and The Heights of Abraham. The pub in the market square at Chesterfield does wonderful food so we ate there twice. We would definitely make a return stay to Wildflower cottages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, amenities and cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemary...
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent cottage in fantastic location”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

we had a great two week holiday in this fantastic home from home cottage. Everything you could thing of was in the cottage and nothing was to much trouble for the hosts.
We found the cottage was situated in a very central location , making it easy to reach lots of attractions in the peak district. There was also lovely walks from the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: plent of room in the cottage
Liked least: only one toilet
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing