We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful beautiful place to stay perfect home...”
other travelers have booked this property
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Time for tea and cake in cosy Columbine Cottage Columbine Cottage's garden with patio, furniture and barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Time for tea and cake in cosy Columbine Cottage
Columbine Cottage's garden with patio, furniture and barbecue
Columbine main bedroom with double bed
Twin Bedroom 1
Luxurious kitchen
Columbine Cottage's dining room
The lane outside Columbine Cottage
Relax in the sun outside the sitting room door
Twin Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Bathroom
Footpath along the lane from the cottage
Garden with sitting room window behind
Steps to Garden
View across valley from just outside the cottage
Main entrance to Columbine Cottage
Foxgloves and horses from the local riding school
View from the lane outside Columbine Cottage
Ashover Village
Heather moorland within 2 miles of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caroline...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful beautiful place to stay perfect home from home.”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We came with the family the cottage was beautiful well equipped and cosy. Loved the toiletries and the log fire. We would definitely come again the kids loved it and so did we.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfy beds
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kismat73
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, excellent facilities”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Lovely cottage and we had a lovely weekend ! The cottage had everything we needed and hopefully we will be coming back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keir G
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful & comfortable”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We enjoyed our stay, The cottage is very well equipped, comfortable and an excellent location for walking and visiting places. Would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: It peaceful and comfortable
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourCooks
1 review
“Cosy, comfy cottage perfect for our young family.”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had a lovely time at Columbine Cottage. It's surprisingly spacious which was perfect for three small children crawling/running around and there's plenty of space for grown ups to relax too. The kitchen is well equipped and we enjoyed the selection of DVDs too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roycav
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb cottage, fully equipped and an excellent location.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A very well kept property in a lovely location.

Spotlessly clean and fully equipped with everything that we required.

Lots to see and do within a 10 mile radius, Chesterfield, Bakewell, Matlock, Bolsover and much more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage, beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Clean comfortable cottage, many extra touches gives this cottage the excellent rating. Very quiet location with views to surrounding countryside.
Nearest eateries in Ashover approx 1 mile away, we had our dog with us but two of the pubs are dog friendly. The Old Poets Corner, the food was average but plentiful, however was quite a long wait although did not appear that busy. several dogs in the pub at the time of our visit. We preferred the The Crispin, food much better presented & tastier, very friendly pub both locals and staff. Individual water bowl provided for the dog. Dogs allowed in top bar only. They also do a takeaway menu several choices for £5 a meal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Thoughtful touches provided by owners
Liked least: Sofas, didn't find them very comfortable, also very low.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnypil...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific location, lovely property & people”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Columbine Cottage this year whilst visiting from Australia with our two kids (aged 4 and 8). Sue and Chris made every effort to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable, and we were lucky with the weather too. The cottage is beautifully maintained and there is everything that a family or group could need in terms of equipment and appliances. The location is excellent for walks and is a good base to explore Derbyshire and further afield. Local amenities are quite closeby too, including the lovely village of Ashover. Everyone in the pubs, farms and shops are super friendly and welcoming (don't miss a trip to Ye Old Tuck Shop for the amazing cakes, or a pint at The Old Poet's Corner or The Crispin Inn whilst you are there). As you might expect given the area, the views and walks are second to none including the spectacular Fabrick Rock which is only half a mile away.

A couple of years ago we also stayed at Foxglove Cottage (next door), which we can also highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people and the location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing