We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb cottage, fully equipped and an excellent...”
other travelers have booked this property
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Time for tea and cake in cosy Columbine Cottage Columbine Cottage's garden with patio, furniture and barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
36 reviews
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Time for tea and cake in cosy Columbine Cottage
Columbine Cottage's garden with patio, furniture and barbecue
Columbine main bedroom with double bed
Twin Bedroom 1
Luxurious kitchen
Columbine Cottage's dining room
The lane outside Columbine Cottage
Relax in the sun outside the sitting room door
Sitting Room with real log fire
Twin Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Bathroom
Footpath along the lane from the cottage
Garden with sitting room window behind
Steps to Garden
View across valley from just outside the cottage
Main entrance to Columbine Cottage
Foxgloves and horses from the local riding school
View from the lane outside Columbine Cottage
Ashover Village
Heather moorland within 2 miles of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roycav
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb cottage, fully equipped and an excellent location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A very well kept property in a lovely location.

Spotlessly clean and fully equipped with everything that we required.

Lots to see and do within a 10 mile radius, Chesterfield, Bakewell, Matlock, Bolsover and much more.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage, beautiful countryside.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Clean comfortable cottage, many extra touches gives this cottage the excellent rating. Very quiet location with views to surrounding countryside.
Nearest eateries in Ashover approx 1 mile away, we had our dog with us but two of the pubs are dog friendly. The Old Poets Corner, the food was average but plentiful, however was quite a long wait although did not appear that busy. several dogs in the pub at the time of our visit. We preferred the The Crispin, food much better presented & tastier, very friendly pub both locals and staff. Individual water bowl provided for the dog. Dogs allowed in top bar only. They also do a takeaway menu several choices for £5 a meal.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Thoughtful touches provided by owners
Liked least: Sofas, didn't find them very comfortable, also very low.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnypil...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific location, lovely property & people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Columbine Cottage this year whilst visiting from Australia with our two kids (aged 4 and 8). Sue and Chris made every effort to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable, and we were lucky with the weather too. The cottage is beautifully maintained and there is everything that a family or group could need in terms of equipment and appliances. The location is excellent for walks and is a good base to explore Derbyshire and further afield. Local amenities are quite closeby too, including the lovely village of Ashover. Everyone in the pubs, farms and shops are super friendly and welcoming (don't miss a trip to Ye Old Tuck Shop for the amazing cakes, or a pint at The Old Poet's Corner or The Crispin Inn whilst you are there). As you might expect given the area, the views and walks are second to none including the spectacular Fabrick Rock which is only half a mile away.

A couple of years ago we also stayed at Foxglove Cottage (next door), which we can also highly recommend.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The people and the location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sal F
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Cottage is lovely and is well kitted out with all you need for self catering, spotless and very clean. Home from home.
collecting key/dropping off excellent.
Great Views and quiet setting
would reccommend

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the cottage, very cosy
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great setting, beautiful cottage, very friendly and helpful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The entire stay was a pleasure - it is a beautiful cottage, really homely and very well presented and clean with a big kitchen, excellent dining space pleasant rural surround and a homely living room with a real log fire.

They made allowance for our slightly odd arrival times, were incredibly prompt and helpful in ensuring we had all the information we needed to get there and when you get there there's all kinds of bits and pieces to give you ideas to enjoy your time (places to eat, places to walk et al. - I'd definitely reccomend visiting "The fabric Stone"!).

The dishwasher, wifi, large range of provided toiletries et al made everything really easy, I couldn't say a bad word about it.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The Log fire!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathy1new...
newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everybody wanted to stay longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were invited to Chesterfield for a 40th birthday party and as I prefer selfcatering to hotels this accomadation did not disappoint. Are party consisted of 4 adults and 2 children. Everything has been thought off by the owner of this cottage. The kitchen is very well equiped and a wonderfull welcoming tray was waiting for us. A good size dining and a spacious living room with a fantastic fire already set so we only had to put a match to...........bliss. Upstairs three good size bedroom and a wonderfull bathroom with a great variety of toliteries for the guests to use. Everything was spotless and well miantained. A short drive to the nearest village and pubs with good food. I would imagine in summer the veiws and walks would great plus not far from towns and lovely village. It was so comfortable my daughter was lucky to see me and the restof the family at her party as we didnt want to leave the cottage at all.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The thought gone into making it so comforable for the guests
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hjcnurse
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in this cottage several times,why ? because it is so relaxing,in a lovely location and so comfortable.The cottage is in a idyllic location if you like being in the countryside.Both holiday cottages are equipped to such a high standard you are spoilt rotten ! Our teenage girls enjoyed having a room to themselves this time,which gave us peace and quiet ! We had a good walk around Chatsworth which is definately a favourite haunt.We even managed to escape the teenagers for a lovely breakfast at the farm shop at Chatswoth.Handy for walking,cinema and local pubs doing great food.Definately recommend this one.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Shere comfort
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$117
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing