We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, comfortable, well equippd, rural cottage.”
other travelers have booked this property
Foxglove Cottage in Derbyshire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Foxglove Cottage in Derbyshire
Foxglove Cottage's Dining Kitchen Relax in Foxglove Cottage's peaceful garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Foxglove Cottage in Derbyshire
Foxglove Cottage's Dining Kitchen
Relax in Foxglove Cottage's peaceful garden.
Double Bedroom
View from the Kitchen Window
Sitting Room with log fire
Another view of Foxglove Cottage's Garden
View from Outside Foxglove Cottage
Twin Bedroom
Another view of the Double Bedroom
View from footpath along the lane from the cottage
Dining Kitchen, newly fitted in December 2013, now includes a dishwasher
Bench outside Foxglove's front door
Foxgloves in the garden
Bathroom
Ashover Village
View from the lane just outside Foxglove Cottage
Heather Moorland within 2 miles of cottage
Bluebell Walk in the Spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RogerW660
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, comfortable, well equippd, rural cottage.”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This cottage makes the perfect base to explore the scenic and historic surroundings. A car and confident driver is, however, essential. We spent several enjoyable days visiting historic stately homes and old mills where the industrial revolution really started.We also explored miles and miles of single track roads as we visited the combination of beautiful small villages and towns which abound in the Peak District. A comfortable cottage in an area abounding in historic beauty is hard yo beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Comfort and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen G
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Immaculate, quiet and a little gem”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely location, well equipped, attention to detail and a very sweet little cottage. Lots of information from the owner about the area and walks - and a lovely place for peace and quiet. great for kids too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nice touches
Liked least: nothing it was all great
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
insomniac...
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful break”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Foxglove cottage for a week. Really enjoyed the area. Some great pubs in Ashover, which is within walking distance by footpath which takes in Ashover rock. The cottage was clean and comfortable and had everything you could need while on holiday. There is ample parking and the garden was a useful addition.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: there was nothing we didn't like
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plkuj
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with amazing views”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage is very well kitted out and impeccably clean. Thoughtful guides / walks to the local area have ben provided and overall the cottage has a lovely feel. The bed was amazing - very comfortable. We also have a dog and she loved all the fields around the cottage and we loved the dog towels to clean her up afterwards! Highly recommend this place. I also think it is incredibly good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how well kitted out the cottage is
Liked least: the rain!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D
1 review
“Everything you need for a week away with baby.”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Visiting Derbyshire with our baby to introduce him to the northern contingent of my husbands family. Found this gem of a cottage on Tripadvisor. Highchair and nice clean travel cot provided on request.
Lovely welcome package including a pint of milk - so thoughtful. Small supply of washing tablets came in useful so I could travel home in clean jeans!! Even a handblender had I needed to knock up a purée.
Would definitely stay again.
Sarah

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caryn s
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We took our 2 young granddaughters for a part of a week holiday as we weren't sure how they would cope away from home. We found this cottage within a price range that was fitting to what we had budgeted for (a caravan can cost as much!)
The cottage was just wonderful. At first we were concerned about the garden not being completely attached to the house. DO NOT be put off by this. Up the very private, none vehicle path, up the 'pixie' steps and into the sweet secret gardens beyond, our 4 and 6 year old girls toddled to then find a buttercup meadow with horses beyond that! (I sat early morn with them to drink coffee at the garden table).
Parking was absolutely fine.
Peace and quiet - totally.
Our welcome was pleasant and easy, without being in your face. Lovely, lovely cottage, fully equipped with all we needed and some more!
Our only regret? - Not having booked for longer, because we could happily have stayed for a couple of weeks at least. A bargain, and our grand daughters will never forget this lovely first holiday with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy in such a tightly built cottage.
Liked least: We enjoyed every thing.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBCHulluk
Hull uk
1 review
“Fabulous Cottage!”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

In a very peaceful location with great walks with the dog from the door. The cottage had everything we needed for our stay it really was a home from home. The welcome tray and toiletries provided were a lovely treat, my daughter loved the chocolate! Was within easy reach of Chatsworth, Dovedale, and Padley Gorge was a great day out too. Would highly recommend and hope to return. Thank you Sue and Chris for a truly relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No hidden extras to pay for
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing