We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Inn With Character”
Review of The Nettle Inn - CLOSED

The Nettle Inn
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Lovely Inn With Character”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We decided to have Sunday lunch at The Nettle and so had the carvery (no other option available on this day) and were very impressed by the selection on offer. Add to this the great character of this village inn/restaurant with a varied mix of beers ans wines it was a delight. There are two things which prevent a 100% rating. The first being one of the cuts of meat (lamb in this instance) which was very grisly that even the cutlery could not cope with it! Secondly a member of the staff seem to resent you being there in the first place-an intrusion into THEIR space...? Apart from this, it did spoil the meal or the overall atmosphere of this pub.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bagpuss125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    41
    22
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clay Cross, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went with my family over the Xmas period and it was disgraceful. Both my mother and I ordered the chicken and leek pie and were given beef pie. When I explained it wasn't what we ordered, we were told by the waitress(once she'd checked with chef) that 'That's all we have got so you will have to have it!' -Both beef and chicken pies were on the menu! Sent it back and reordered fish and chips. Then my husbands pork chop was raw in the middle- bright pink!!! They removed it from him and he didnt hear anything else back from them about alternatives or anything! So we made them take it off the bill.

They also ran out of white wine!

No apologies from the manager for the disgraceful experience.

Will NOT be going here again

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

A wonderful evening spent with good friends, fine wines and a fabulous meal. Marcus and his team made the evening special with excellent service, the menu was varied with a good specials board.The Nettle can not be beaten for value, quality and the extra special touch which sets them way above most other pubs in the area. The pub has a lovely welcoming atmosphere and has a well stocked wine list and local guest ales. I would recommend The Nettle to anyone and will definately be returning very soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Day lunch”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Having had lunch on a number of occasions and really enjoyed ourselves we decided to book a family Christmas Day lunch for seven people.We really looked forward to a special time ,but was disappointed to find a carvery self service , the food was average at best and for sixty pounds a head was not value for money, a let down to say the least

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This must be the best pub-restaurant within 30 miles”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've been dining at the Nettle Inn for over 10 years and cannot find another pub-restaurant to beat it. It's a great place to take friends and guests because it is located in a beautiful valley and looks gorgeous from the outside. A real old English pub with flowerbeds outside, it has a neat, well-maintained area with seats and umbrellas etc for outside drinking and eating
Inside there are two bars, both full of character and the place is stone walled, low-beamed with log fires, decorated with fascinating 'things', and is clean, warm and very comfortable. You get the feeling that it's much loved by the owners.
The barman guy, Darren, is justifiably famous for his Derbyshire cool. He works like a dog, is always helpful and knows exactly what is going on. He just doesn't do "Have a nice day ya'll"!
You can eat in the bar or the restaurant, which has been enlarged over the years but retains internal walls that help to create a sense of comfortable intimacy. The table aren't crammed together - diners feel at ease. The service is professional, friendly, attentive but not over-bearing. The staff seem part of the family and don't seem to change much, which is a good sign.
The menus seem to change with the seasons and there's a biggish 'Specials' board. In my experience, the food is invariably outstanding. It's heavy on local sourcing for meat, game and traditional English fare, but there's always fish and vegetarian. Much of the cooking is done by/led by one of the owners and there's an excellent kitchen team.
We've always found it a great delight to eat there. Prices are well within the local averages - if they weren't, we wouldn't go there. The Sunday lunch is especially good value.
Finally, the customers look happy and they keep coming back. I suppose that I do too! There isn't anywhere else as good until you get to ....? I've looked and not found it yet!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mecastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nettle Inn also viewed

Ashover, Chesterfield
Ashover, Chesterfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing