We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a beautiful Olde Worlde pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Nettle Inn - CLOSED

The Nettle Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Blackwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“a beautiful Olde Worlde pub”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Fantastic atmosphere with cosy surroundings and good food. Have returned many times, and would highly recommend

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MargaretField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    41
    22
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had such a lovely meal here with our friends. Plenty of choice on the menu and attentive staff. The food was lovely, hot and fresh and we didn't feel pressured to free the table up despite the fact that this is a very popular restaurant. Only wish that I'd have had room for desert.

I would advise booking due to popularity.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shoeipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poor customer service”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The food was good but spoilt by the service, we rang beforehand to ensure they had room for a table of 7.
Our order was taken just as we had decided. The meal was well presented and tasty. A member of our party was looking forward to her sweet,however the sweet menu was not forthcoming, we were just about to ask for the menu when we heard the barmen telling a young couple they were unable to eat or drink as they were about to close. [this would have been helpful conveyed to us]
We decided that coffee and cake at home was the order of the day and left, the absence of any
one saying goodbye or thank was strange to say the least, however the comments from the bill payer [we decided to work out between ourselves later] was the barman didn't even seem interested to take payment!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food,burger fantastic with great atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Drove past this pub on the way back to our hotel,booked a table purely on the basis that we liked the look of the place.We weren't disappointed,we would definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andsomelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolutely lovely pub”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I took a girl here on a first date a while ago now. We had great food a really friendly service and an atmosphere unmatched. Weather it be a summers day sat out front watching the world go by or a winters afternoon sat in front of the fire this lovely eatery is ideal for all occasions. I'll be back here agin this Saturday with the same girl celebrating our first wedding anniversary and I'm certain they wont let me down. Really looking forward to going back again.

-"Paul Wilbourn"

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nettle Inn also viewed

Ashover, Chesterfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing