We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely countryside cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coffee with a view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Coffee with a view.
Master bedroom with kingsize bed & en suite.
Twin with en suite.
Our woolly neighbours.
Enclosed garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kat50Engl...
england
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely countryside cottage”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a fabulous 3 night break at this lovely cottage. Everything was just perfect. Clean and cosy,furnishings and decor lovely. Unsettled weather but not a problem at all. Great walks from the doorstep and what could be better than returning and lighting the woodburner and sitting watching a dvd with a glass of prosecco care of the owners. Thank you very much for your thoughtfulness. The village had a very nice tea room- the old tuck shop and the Crispin Arms pub provided a very good evening meal. Hopefully we will make a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments and so pleased you have a lovely break, we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie B
1 review
“Fabulous cottage for a perfect getaway”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We went in December for a weekend break and loved it. Such a rural location, peacefully surrounded by lovely scenery yet so close to Matlock, Chatsworth Estate and a short drive to the Peak District, with excellent opportunities for great walks nearby too.
The cottage itself is spacious, with a gorgeous interior; the quintessential barn conversion with all mod cons but where else has its own stone circle in the garden and llamas on the field?
The wood burner was just perfect for the winter weekend although the cottage was certainly warm enough without it.
The owners Helen and Andy cannot do any more to help you enjoy your stay, with excellent local knowledge for touring, walking and making the most of your stay.
Having a bath as well as showers is a bonus rarely found in cottage rentals, yet perfect for soaking after a long walk.
I'd recommend you book here, as you'll certainly want to come back again once you have.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2017
Thank you so much for your comments Marie, we look forward to seeing you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2017
Thank you so much for your review I am so happy you enjoyed the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
adoyle167...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully appointed getaway”
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This cottage more than lived up to the previous reviews. Quiet location, very nicely appointed, room for 2 cars. The Kelstedge Inn is a 10 minute walk and pubs in Ashover a 5 minute drive. Lots of gentle walks from the door, a great weekend meeting up with our son and his girlfriend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back to visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Many thanks for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ROGER N
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend in a superb modern cottage”
Reviewed November 23, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stayed a weekend with my cousin and his wife who are on a long term let. Glass fronted property with a lovely walk in lounge, under floor heating, modern kitchen with everything you could want for cooking, spacious worktops, great lighting, comfortable chairs around large table . Upstairs two good size bedrooms both with en suite bathrooms, sympathetically decorated. Car parking space is plentiful. Ideal location for walkers, sight seeing, several nearby villages with some lovely pubs. Highly recommended.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely open plan lounge and kitchen.
Liked least: i liked everything about the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Thank you so much for your review of the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenator...
Lichfield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis in the Peaks”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and toddler stayed at Cavendish Cottages for a four night decompress after a busy July/August and it provided the perfect tonic.
The location is within easy reach, not far from Matlock but is situated down a single-track lane which helps feel like you are properly escaping from the rat race.
The accommodation is beautifully presented; I am not sure when it was refurbished but it very recently done. Everything is there that you will need and it is particularly focused towards walkers and dog owners.
We briefly met the owners who live in the cottage behind who friendly and helpful but not intrusive.
We would highly recommend Cavendish Cottages to anyone looking access the National Park, visit nearby Chatsworth House or, like us, just chill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural aspect
Liked least: Nothing that I can recall
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Thank you so much for your comments, our aim is to make your stay enjoyable and I am so pleased we were able to do that. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing