We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of The Bulls Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bulls Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Hartshorne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My mum and I decided to visit Chatsworth and there food festival so where better to stay than the Bulls Head. This was the first time my Mum had been and was very impressed with the room, how comfy the beds were and the quality of the duvets. We booked for dinner on the Saturday night and initially mum could not understand why I pre-booked this a couple of weeks in advance. However when we we sat eating our eveing meal and she could shee how busy it was she understood my reason for booking ahead. Dinner was delicious and look our for the PT meals (Prime Time) where you can get three courses for £12.95 and considering the size of the portions you will struggle to eat three courses. If you have steak I recommend the smothered dressing. We stayed only 1 night and enjoyed full english breakfast the following morning before heading off to do some Christmas Shopping at the Westfireld Centre in Derby. We have already booked for next year. Highly recommend you give this B&B a go I can guarantee you will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 107 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were visiting Hartshorne for a Friends bday, we thought we would treat ourselves and stay in a B&B, what a good choice the Bulls Head was, very friendly staff, v good food and comfy beds.
The rooms were very clean and had lots of character. the only negative thing was the shower was very slow. The food was lovely and very big portions for Dinner and breakfast. would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We have visited here for many family meals over the past few years and we have always had a lovely meal each time. The food is delicious and made to order, and the specials board is always worth a look. Be warned- you get very generous portions for all courses so you need to not eat all day before your meal! The service is second to none. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming and always have a smile on their faces. We always book here for family birthdays and other occasions as we can be confident we will have a wonderful time in a nice environment. Thanks to all at The Bulls Head :-)

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Dindda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights and enjoyed every day. The room was comfortable and food good. Doug and Beck provide genuine country hospitality and were very willing to please. Happy to recommend their hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at The Bull's Head one night. I had a single bedroom, it was small but was elegantly furnished with a really nice bed and bedding. I was supposed to share my bathroom but I ended up being the only one using it, a bonus. Becky is a born hostess, she is very pleasant and eager to satisfy her clientele. She also speaks fluent French which was a nice surprise. Her husband Doug is the chef and chief entertainer. The evening meal was delicious, there are vegetarian options. For dessert, if available try the Treacle nut tart! My breakfast was cooked to perfection. The hotel is very clean and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathalieFlore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute. A single room as I was travelling on my own. Immediately on arrival I was upgraded to a double room with an en-suite bathroom since it was empty and they did not expect to fill it. My original room had a shared bathroom. The room was small but comfortable. The shower worked well with plenty of hot water. I dined in their restaurant and the food was good. Not Haut Cuisine but tasty and reasonably priced. Breakfast was good. I don't eat cooked breakfasts but everything was fine and on asking if they had a banana the host went to get one from their own flat on the top floor. This was a last minute long weekend break and I had only booked the one night. On asking if they had spare capacity for another night's stay they had to disappoint but got their iPad looked around on it phoned a couple of places and got me a good discount on a hotel not so very far away. Great service and if ever I was in the area again I would certainly re-book.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldieGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Bulls Head was a great little find. Hosts Becky & Doug (and all their staff) are the friendliest folk you could hope to meet. Nothing is too much trouble.
It's a period building with all the twists and quirks you'd expect and the rooms are fitted out accordingly. Our room was very tastefully decorated and had the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in.
Breakfast is whatever you want, prepared that minute and served just how you ask.
The restaurant has an excellent selection of imaginative courses which retain a home-prepared feel. All are prepared with obvious care and using quality ingredients.
On leaving, we booked for the same weekend next year - can't offer a higher compliment than that.

Room Tip: Book early! The Bulls Head has just six guest bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgerTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulls Head

Address: 1 Woodville Road, Hartshorne DE11 7ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Hartshorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hartshorne
Price Range: $77 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bulls Head 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are at traditional English pub, offering quality en-suite rooms with all modern facilities. We serve a large menu, filled with home-made English favourites. Most of all it is our our warm welcome that we are most proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your The Bulls Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing