We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooked grub and good sized portions; a real find!”
Review of The Bulls Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bulls Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Hartshorne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Traditional fish and chips with mushy peas was a popular choice at this centrally located village eatery. Child friendly and with smiley staff, we will definately be returning. Book early to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 106 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

Couldnt recommend this place any higher the food is amazing....fresh and home cooked what more could u ask for x
ideally situated between swadlincote and derby and in a lovely little village
the prices are really good too
all in all a wonderful stay x

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessie_ryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Thank you Doug & Becky for making us so welcome during our weekend stay. A party of seven adults came up from London to plant a tree at one of the many National Forest sites. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were lovely and the quality and the choice of the evening meals were fantastic. Would definitely recommend - see you again next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stay with friends in the area when travelling back home to Australia and always eat at The Bulls Head with them. The food is excellent - and we are all fussy eaters! This time they were also very obliging with helping us checkin online. Lovely people and thanks once again, we arrived home safely and without ado! See you again next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Delwyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We recently stayed here for 2 weeks while visiting family. Everything about this place is fantastic! The room was exactly what we needed for our stay. The food we ate was delicious and the servings were HUGE. Doug and Becky made our stay a real home from home experience and cooked us a full English breakfast EVERY day. You won't find nicer Landlords ANYWHERE! We will miss you guys but we WILL definately return!!

Room Tip: They would ALL be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doug m, Owner at The Bulls Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thanks so much guys it was our pleasure, lovely to meet you and we will really miss your happy faces every morning. Look forward to next time all the best Doug and becky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I made and online reservation with this hotel and a week later I recieved a phone call saying that they were over booked and had to cancel my stay. I asked when they had become fully booked and they said it was a few weeks before so they hadn't bothered updating it online for that long. I had been planning to go to an event and booked this hotel in advance and by the time they had told me I couldn't stay many hotels I could have booked were full. Appauling service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Maaans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doug m, Owner at The Bulls Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

I wish to reiterate my apology with regard to our overbooking, as I explained on the telephone the reason we are overbooked is that the people who stayed with us for the festival this year rebooked for next year. It was unfortunate that it was only when I updated the website for next year that I realised you had already booked. I apologise once again however I would like to point out that it is nearly a year in advance, and there were only a few days from your booking to my contacting you and that every hotel in the area could not possibly have reached full capacity in that space of time. We are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just popped in for lunch at 14.00pm on a bank holiday Monday and despite the fact that food is only served until 14.00 we recieved a warm welcome, great service and some great grub.

We have been to The Bulls Head for Sunday lunch several times before and have never had a bad meal so we had high expecatations for lunch today. We were not disappointed we ordered pie and mash and it was delicious, real home made food. A delicious tasty pie and a good helping of creamy mash with carrots and cauliflower. We followed it up with deserts and both were big helpings of lovely proper puddings.

At £9.99 for two courses, great service and a real pub feel with real food you can't go wrong.

Nothing fancy or pretentious just tasty, traditional food at great prices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gavd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartshorne
6.0 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
427 reviews
8.6 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
360 reviews
6.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 1 in Repton
131 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Hardinge Arms
The Hardinge Arms
#2 of 3 in Melbourne
132 reviews
3.4 mi away
YHA National Forest
YHA National Forest
#1 of 4 in Swadlincote
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulls Head

Address: 1 Woodville Road, Hartshorne DE11 7ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Hartshorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hartshorne
Price Range: $75 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bulls Head 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are at traditional English pub, offering quality en-suite rooms with all modern facilities. We serve a large menu, filled with home-made English favourites. Most of all it is our our warm welcome that we are most proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bulls Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing