We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopped for a quick pint”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bulls Head

Bulls Head
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Hartshorne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stopped for a quick pint”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A great busy pub with a wide range of local cask conditioned beers, the menu alos looked fantastic but did not have time to stay and eat. I will make sure I have time next visit

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    17
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I have just had an excellent meal at this lovely old pub, nothing too much trouble, food, service and atmosphere great. By 7.00pm most of the tables were taken and it was obvious that a lot of the customers were regulars as they were welcomed by first names by the staff. We will certainly go back in the not too distant future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“one of the original pubs left”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is one of the original pubs left where you can have a drink or eat, but when you walk into the pub you cant resist the food because the smell of old fashioned food is yummy. The Sunday lunch is not even worth cooking at home for as you get everything you need here and more. You done have to wait or give them a table number someone comes and asks you what you want, Yes they come to your table and speak to you. The other menu in the week is just great as the portions are huge and varied. I havnt stayed in the rooms here but they look very clean and modern. The staff might look busy at times but they are all very adaptable and will do anything to please the customer. The Bulls Head is well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alijanDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very good value for money. Nice atmosphere and very homely.
Nothing is too much trouble if you ask...(special diets) Top marks

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jamesnerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Mother's Day”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Thanks becky for a fantastic meal and service. All the family enjoyed the whole experience . The bulls head use to be my local when I was a teenager and its still serving a fantastic pint of pedigree.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 221Sue-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bulls Head also viewed

Hartshorne, Derbyshire
 
Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
 
Swadlincote, Derbyshire
 

Been to Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing