We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Harrow Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Super comfy, super king size bed with memory foam mattress Master Bedroom with super king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Super comfy, super king size bed with memory foam mattress
Master Bedroom with super king size bed
Larger of the two twin rooms with two single beds
Smaller twin room
Either twin room can be made up with childrens' bedding to make the little ones feel at home!
Plenty of board games and DVD's to keep the whole family entertained
Cottage owners Libby & Greg also run the White Lion and are happy to deliver meals to the cottage
The neighbouring White Lion serving delicious food 7 days a week
Scrumptious!
Fantastic children's playground - just up the lane.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Great Longstone, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Curiosity...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect stay”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Delightful cottage with everything we needed, comfy beds, excellent kitchen and relaxing lounge. The White Lion pub next door is fantastic, especially their gluten-free bread. Thank you for everything.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you for your kind words - we're so glad you enjoyed both the cottage and our pub! Hope to see you again. Libby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sp4ghetti
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We rented Harrow Cottage for Easter and loved it. We walked to Bakewell on Saturday and walked the Monsal Head trail on the Sunday - just under 20 miles - who says Easter can be unhealthy!?

The cottage had everything we needed and Libby even kindly lent her mixer to us to whip some cream for scones.

We ate in the pub on Friday night and the lamb shank was very good :)

The 4 days just disappeared and none of us wanted to come home ...

We'll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2017
Thank you for your kind review Lorna, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next year! Libby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again! Libby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sarahdC22...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I have posted a review before about this cottage but unfortunately I somehow managed to press the wrong buttons!!! We had a wonderful stay in this great cottage. Libby was the most accommodating host I have met in my years of booking holidays. The property was immaculate and very comfortable with a pub next door which serves excellent food!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say as it was a great holiday.
Liked least: wifi a little weak at times.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2017
Ah thank you so much Sarah and bless you for writing another review! We hope to see you and the family again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizziepop...
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful cottage in a fantastic location”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

On arrival the cottage was so welcoming, really warm and clean with a fantastic welcome surprise! It is spacious and well appointed with every detail catered for. Within 5 minutes of being there my husband and the children all said they wished we could stay longer. We did not cook anything at the property as we were only there 3 nights but it was really well stocked in the kitchen, even some herbs and spices in the cupboard. We ate the pub attached to the cottage two nights of the three and it was fantastic, very cozy with a good variety on the menu. There were some DVDs and games at the property too so the kids had a great time.

The location of the cottage is great, so close to Bakewell and the Monsal trail runs by close at the back of the village. We hired bikes and cycled this picturesque trail one of the days and then in the late afternoon walked through the valley under the viaduct - just beautiful.

We would really love to visit this cottage again and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: The mattresses in the front twin room were too hard for me!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review Liz and family. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we'd love to have you back again.
Ps thank you for introducing me to the world of geocashing!! Learn something new everyday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolobar
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped cottage in great location.”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Had a great week staying in this cottage, helped by it being the hottest week of the year. Cottage is well equipped, great welcome pack and we bought some extra home made jams to bring back. Had a couple of meals in the owners pub opposite. No noise travelled from the pub to the cottage, even when they had a live band. Limited space to sit outside but there is a big park 2 mins walk away. Kids enjoyed walking to the local dairy to get milk and yoghurt. Wifi only in certain spots but that didn't bother us, good to get the kids doing other things. Great location for south Peak District.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Hi Rose, thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. I'm so glad you, your mum and your daughters enjoyed your stay. You did have great weather that week didn't you?! Just to let you know that the Wifi was upgraded shortly after your stay and is now no problem! Hope to see you again. Libby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodSnobZ
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We recently stayed at Harrow Cottage. What lovely accommodation conveniently next to an equally lovely pub! The village is peaceful with local shops nearby and we definitely made good use of the playground. Thank you to Libby for making our stay so enjoyable and for being so helpful; the welcome pack was an extra special touch. We only wish that we had booked for longer and would not hesitate to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again! Libby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing