We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful house with perfect views”

Review of Cliff House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Garden
View form the house over Monsal Dale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
13 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 32
Great Longstone, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
debbieb0w...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“beautiful house with perfect views”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We enjoyed a fabulous week at Cliffe House. It is well managed,very well equipped, and Peak Venues are extremely well organised. We would love to return and recommend the house for large house parties or a group of families

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2017
Many thanks for your lovely feedback and we are thrilled that you had a great time.
We hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick O
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent house for a large group stay”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed here for a long weekend as an extended family (21 adults, 7 children). The house and adjoining cottage easily coped with all of us, with a combination of family, double and twin rooms - most with en-suite facilities.
Parking for at least 8 cars was easy and the living spaces and kitchen are all designed to handle such a large group comfortably.
Would definitely recommend this for anyone looking for a large and comfortable property with all modern facilities (dishwasher, American style fridge freezer etc) provided.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable bedrooms
Liked least: No obvious issues
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2016
Hi Mick,
Thank you for your lovely feedback and spending time reviewing our property! We are so pleased you had a fantastic weekend and the venue was ideal for your group and occasion.
We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grumple
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue for large group”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed here for a long weekend with my family. It's a fantastic set up with most rooms benefiting from ensuites. There are 4 bigger family rooms which are great for parents sharing with kids.

The communal space it's ideal for a large party with a great dining space. We used caterers from the dinner party company to serve a three course meal which was fantastic and we easily seated 23 in the dining room. The venue itself is really nicely decorated and kitted out with comfy beds and modern bathrooms and lovely showers. It's all been so well thought through.

The venue itself is set ideally at Monsal head and you can walk into Bakewell along the Monsal trail. Great pubs within walking distance and venue has stunning views over the viaduct and fields behind.

Peak venues who manage this property are a slick operation. Really efficient and good to deal with. Highly recommend! I want to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2016
We love this review - thanks so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxyWM
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect House in a Perfect Spot!”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I booked Cliff House for a company away weekend. It is the third house we have booked via Peak Venues and we were right to expect the same quality of accommodation, facilities and equipment because it was all there again.

The house and it's furnishings are very comfortable but also very solid, which is very appreciated when you give a load of people plenty to drink and a couple of days off. We had a really great time but didn't leave a mark on the property.

The location is magnificent. It is just above the viaduct in Ashford and you can walk down to it from just by the house. There are a few other walks too that leave from the same area. It's a short drive outside of Bakewell and larger spots like Chesterfield and Buxton are easily driveable. There is a nice pub only metres away and a B&B next door but that's about it so it's pretty remote. Fortunately there is plenty of private parking at the house.

The house has lots of bedrooms which can be made up in a variety of ways which really helps when trying to book for work colleagues as a load of double bedrooms aren't much use to us. Some of the bathrooms are perfectly functional and some of them are gorgeous. It would have been good to have had numbers on the bedroom doors though so that the plan I made for who stayed where was easier to then convey to the guests! Fortunately I had some post-it notes. Hanging numbers would have done the trick if they didn't want to put up permanent ones.

The kitchen is massive and served perfectly as somewhere for most people to hang out whilst others cooked. Every piece of kitchen equipment you could want is there (if you have the patience to go through all of the cupboards and drawers, of which there are a lot). My only suggestion would be to have a second fridge that could be used for drinks as by the time we had put a few cases of beer in the kitchen fridge there was little room for the food.

We had a BBQ one night and that worked really well. The provided BBQ was a great size. Everything was great really. The team at Peak Venues are great to deal with and Joanne who was housekeeper for Cliff House was really lovely and helpful.

I'd definitely recommend Cliff House and Peak Venues as a letting company.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The solidity of the house.
Liked least: Fridge capacity!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Wow what a fab review - thanks for staying for your third year in a row!. We still have plenty more venues to offer you so hope you will be back in 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah23...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect for Large Family Group”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

22 Adults and 3 children stayed here for half term week in May 2016. Ages ranged from 10 months to almost 90 years.

House is a great space and well equipped for the number of people. The additional cottage is a great get a way for the younger people who wanted to have time together.

Nearly all rooms are en-suite and layout is such that if the bedrooms weren't en suite, we could have family groups sharing a bathroom.

It's worth noting there is no downstairs bathroom facilities - just a toilet with basin.

All in all a very good venue for our group. We mainly used the large dining room for socialising as well as dining and gathered several times around the large table.

Kitchen, although huge, is only equipped as normal family kitchen in terms of appliances, so we would not suggest any fancy cooking. We did have a family Bake Off competition which was a lot of fun and there was space for four or five groups to be decorating cup cakes at the same time!

The area is great too. Plenty of flat or hill walking, plus villages and stately homes for the less able. The Monsal Trail bike ride was a great activity for our younger folk to do together and virtually on the door step.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space for a large group to come together
Liked least: No bathroom facilities on ground floor apart from one toilet with basin.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation and the views
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toulouse, France
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the loveliness of the house
Liked least: Dining room slightly small if the number of people is the maximum accepted
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing