We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Find!”
Review of Pack Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pack Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 New Mills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had a few days spare and hadn't visited this side of the Peaks before.
Very impressed by its stunning location. Arrived in brilliant sunshine, and was able to sit outside in their pretty outdoor area for a drink. The staff are all very efficient and welcoming. The room was modern, clean and bright, and fruit, water and daily fresh milk was provided. We were lucky to have excellent weather for most of our stay, and had most of our meals outside. Good choice of food, with excellent service. Very popular with the locals, and it was packed in the evening with diners.
Breakfast was also quick and excellent.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 406 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for a night after a wedding up North.

We were looking for a good country inn with good food and close enough to the Peaks for a nice walk - the Pack Horse offers all of this!

We arrived early and our room was ready in minutes. The service is friendly and the rooms are clean, comfortable and relatively newly refurbished.

The food is great and inexpensive - a good sign was that the restaurant was rammed on a Monday night. Only comment here is that there is a bit of a lack of atmosphere - no background music.

Great beer garden too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamstersndwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

we spent friday night at the pack horse when visiting friends in new mills
we arrived at arround 6.30pm and were welcomed as we checked in and shown to our lovely room.we had complimentory tea/coffee,buscuits,sweeties and a bowl of fresh fruit.a lovely touch.
we went down to the bar arround 7.30 which was very busy with bar food being served.(we didnt eat as were eating later with friends) however the food looked fab.
we sat outside in the garden/patio area as the weather was nice.beautifully kept,clean and tidy peaceful gardens.
we asked if the staff could book a taxi for us which they did their best but couldnt get us one.the manager then told us when we were ready he would run us down to our friends and book our return taxi ! how great was that ! what service.it would have meant either a long walk or being very late had the manager not offered his service.
brilliant !
we arrived back around midnight,our room was lovely and cool (we were able to leave the windows open while out)
we had a great nights sleep in the large comfy bed.
toileteries and fluffy towels were provided.
we had a wonderful breakfast,staff attentive and helpful nothing was too much trouble .
we had a most enjoyable time and will recomend the pack horse to anyone.its a great place,great people beautiful location well worth the money.very clean and tidy through out hotel and gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fluffy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Pack Horse Inn in New Mills UK was a delightful treat, especially after a long "left sided" drive in the rain from London. We were welcomed like old friends and shown a wonderful room with a gorgeous view of the valleys and hills that surround this beautiful place. We fully expected Lassie to come running up the road. The Peak District was new to us and what a wonderful discovery. Our dinner was good but not as special as the service we received. Rose and her gang were delightful hosts making for a warm and delightful evening. Before saying goodbye the following morning, we enjoyed a scrumptious breakfast with fresh orange juice, eggs any style and a choice of bacon or breakfast sausage that was made by a local butcher. If you ever visit the Peak District in the UK, treat yourself and stay at the Pack Horse Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great place in a lovely location with superb views, Wonderful staff. Nothing is too much trouble. A lovely place for a relaxing break. Excellent food.
Great breakfast. Will definitely be going back again.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the peak district
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a jewel of a place, nestled into the Derbyshire hillside with beautiful views across a valley. It is clean, comfortable, welcoming and had everything you could want in a country pub. There is a well kept outside area and a garden with a water feature at the back.
I stayed here one night whilst working in the area and I was impressed initially with the friendly and warm welcome which sought to assure that everything was just right. I then went on to be impressed all over again with the attention to detail in the room, which included a fruit bowl, bottled water, tea, coffee, biscuits and toiletries. I had pleasant views from my window and the bed was large and super comfy. They even turn off the waterfall.
I ate in the bar that evening where the menu was varied with additional specials of the day. I enjoyed an absolutely scrumptious vege chilli and then was unable to resist an indulgence of profiteroles. Prosecco by the glass was an additional treat. The bar was busy and it is clearly a well regarded place locally. In short, I loved it, I recommend it and what's even better I am lucky enough to be working in the area again over the next few weeks and won't be looking to go anywhere else.
My only issue was that the television went on the blink during the evening but it could easily have been a localised technical issue. Overall, double thumbs up.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie2008UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to tour the Peak District. What a gem of a inn we got. The staff are all very friendly. The rooms spotless with tea/coffee making facilities in rooms. We ate both nights here from a substantial menu no fault at all and breakfast excellent choice of locally sourced produce. I always think its a big plus when the locals use it too as you know it must be good.
Will definitely have a return visit and recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindavel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Mills
7.7 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#11 of 15 in Stockport
101 reviews
3.9 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#5 of 159 in Peak District National Park
333 reviews
1 mi away
The Sycamore Inn
The Sycamore Inn
#1 of 5 in Birch Vale
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices

Been to Pack Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pack Horse Inn

Address: Mellor Road | High Peak, Peak District National Park, New Mills SK22 4QQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > New Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Mills
Price Range: $102 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pack Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional inn , family owned for over thirty years. Located on the edge of the Peak district yet convenient for Manchester, Stockport and Sheffield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pack Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pack Horse Hotel New Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing