We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Pack Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pack Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 New Mills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

One night's stay over the Spring Bank holiday weekend. Double room very comfortable, excellent night's sleep and a lovely bowl of fruit in the room. Nothing too much trouble for the fantastic staff. First class evening meal and breakfast in welcoming dining room. Brilliant beer garden to rear. Highly recommended for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meandmybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 410 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our daughter in law had arranged a surprise bottle of champagne for us on our arrival. It was on ice in our stunning room, with two champagne glasses and a private message printed on an attractive greetings card by the The Pack Hourse Inn. This was indeed a warm welcome!

A large bowl of fresh fruit simply added to the caring and friendly service, with good quality biscuits, beverages and toiletries as standard. You would never have guessed that our room was also standard, with its own hall which allowed cases to be tucked away out of sight, and a stunning en-suite bathroom.

To cap it all, we were surrounded only by beautiful views. Dinner in the pub and Breakfast were just as good.

If that way again, The Pack Horse Inn will be where we stay. We thoroughly recommend this Inn as a great experience.

Room Tip: Frankly, you couldn't do better than the 3 purpose-built standard rooms, with steps into the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff.
We paid for an executive room which was on the 2nd floor and away from the traffic.
Lovely views. Great breakfast and we had dinner in the pub which was very good too.
The pub had log fires and was very cosy.
Great beer garden out at the back with a water feature.
All in all an excellent place to eat or stay.

Room Tip: Executive room may be better for traffic noise? Ask when booking ok?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Booked 5 rooms for a two night stay and all of us agreed that this establishment was first class. The rooms are all well furnished and the small touches such as fruit, tea and coffee and toiletries (to name but a few) outdo many four star hotels.

The shining stars though have to be the staff. The service they provided was superb, always attentive and nothing too much trouble - all undertaken with a smile. They extended the kitchen service for us on he second night which was unexpected but gratefully received.

The location is stunning and a great base for the Peak District. Another great testimony was that the place was full with many clearly being regulars for the food and drink fare.

Certainly somewhere I would return to without hesitation.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My partner and I had a particularly mishap-ridden journey back from a holiday abroad and needed to be in New Mills the following day. Therefore, we decided to find somewhere to stay for the night. We rang the Pack Horse Inn and found they had a spare room, thankfully.

Not only did they have a room, but they met us from the train station and took us there after we explained our predicament! Concerned that we may not have eaten, they provided soup and a roll (but would have made more for us), which was heartily appreciated and tasty. Uncommon, yet brilliant customer service!

The room was perfect! Quiet, comfortable, clean, included fresh fruit and all the amenities you may expect from a bijou 4/5* hotel. Left feeling refreshed and ready for the journey back to France.

Many thanks again to all at the Pack Horse Inn, especially Rose who took time out and collected us from the train station (just as it started to snow)!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millyweeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Roaring log fires, Real ale, top nosh, cosy atmosphere and attentive service and all this and I've not got to the room yet.
The room was large with a super-king bed and superb views. There was lots of small touches such as boiled sweets, a large bowl of fresh fruits, shower gel, shampoo, sewing kit, small shoe shiner, robes, slippers and a trouser press. It was a really nice room.
Breakfast was good with quality local products and when the toast arrived it was hot not luke warm or cold which often happens even in five star establishments.
Service was supplied by a team of very pleasent people which could not be faulted

Room Tip: We went for the most expensive room which could not be faulted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights while working in Ashton under Lyne. The drive here has breathtaking views. Service is excellent. Rooms were clean and large. Food and breakfast was top notch. Drinks are very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Mills
1 mi away
The Sycamore Inn
The Sycamore Inn
#1 of 5 in Birch Vale
106 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 6 in Hayfield
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pack Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pack Horse Inn

Address: Mellor Road | High Peak, Peak District National Park, New Mills SK22 4QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > New Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Mills
Price Range: $115 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pack Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional inn , family owned for over thirty years. Located on the edge of the Peak district yet convenient for Manchester, Stockport and Sheffield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pack Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pack Horse Hotel New Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing