We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC AND FABULOUS!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Mills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Had a long weekend in Caravan 3 in mid January. We were very pleased with the accommodation which was spotlessly clean, very well equipped with all the essentials, and it was exactly as described on the website.
Having read a disparaging review from Ian B I defend Shaw Farm vigorously. My husband has OCD and would have been the first to complain had anything been dirty within the caravan. I have lived in the country all my life and I consider that the working farm was both well ordered and organised.
George and Nicky were delightful and did all they could to make us welcome. They'd even put the heating on before we arrived which is something we have never encountered before. A lovely touch.
As it was mid January we expected the Peak District to be a bit chilly and we therefoe equipped ourselves appropriately. Had we been less hardy folk we would have booked one of the double glazed, centrally heated vans with underfloor insulation.
We really didn't want to leave, but we had to return to work. As soon as we can get more time off we will be booking our next trip to Shaw Farm.
Van 3 is an older van but it is beautifully maintained and it is an absolute bargain. The views are spectacular. We couldn't have asked for anything more for our money.
Thank you Nicky and George - we will return soon.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Redrojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Manager at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to keep the caravans and farm as clean and tidy as possible but we have come to accept that we cannot keep everyone happy! Look forward to seeing you again in the future - Graham Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 67 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a wonderful stay over the New year period. We staid in Caravan number 5 which was very spacious for 4 adults and one teenager. The views are fantastic and we enjoyed visiting the cows and lottie the horse. Farmer George is very helpful, friendly and flexible and is willing to go the extra mile. We suffered car problems and George was their to help. We would highly recomend a stay at shaw farm and we intend to return in the Summer.
The caravans are well equipped with cooking utensils, the shower has continuous hot water and the heating is more than ample. We could not have asked for anything else has everything has been thought of, Thank you George and Nicky for a wonderful time and we look forward to our return :-)

Room Tip: Can highly recommend caravan number 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarahloo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Owner at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. My dad George was more than happy to help you get your car going again and I hope you made it home OK! Look forward to seeing you again in the summer - Graham Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My family and I usually take a week away at Easter and usually stay in Yorkshire, this year we decided to go somewhere different. We decided to go to the Peak District andbooked a weeks holiday around Easter at Shaw Farm. It was very cold with snow on the ground but the caravan did not help. The caravan was old and dirty, the heating was not up to the job, I spent the nights fully dressed complete with coat and was still cold. The location of this site is exposed so the caravans should have better heating and double glazing. The farm was messy (I know working farms are not clean places) but there was rubbish and junk just lying about. We had had enough by day 5 and left early as did another family staying at the time. The area was lovely, New Mills delightful, but Shaw Farm and the grotty caravan ruined our holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Manager at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Hi Ian

I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us in April 2013. You stayed in Caravan 3 which is one of our older Caravans so it does not have double glazing or full central heating. There is a gas fire in the lounge and electric panel heaters in each room but as it was such awful weather for the time of year I'm not surprised to hear it was cold in there. If you had come to ask us we do have extra blankets and duvets available plus a couple of electric heaters which could have helped. We do try to put as much detail as possible on our website about what facilities each Caravan has and make it very clear the two new Luxury Caravans have much better heating systems than the older ones. We even had a few people who decided not to come and stay with us as the weather was so bad and we gave them partial refunds. Unfortunately there isn't much we can do about the weather although I'm glad to say since the cold Spring the weather has been fantastic this year.

We do not currently intend to replace the older Caravans yet as we have many visitors who appreciate our low prices. It is expensive to replace a Caravan, if we were to do so we would obviously have to charge more and so many people would not be able to afford to stay with us.

Regards the cleanliness of the farm, we were doing some major building work on a new shed last Spring so I agree there was some mess and building materials lying about. However the area around the Caravans was not directly affected, and none of the Caravans overlooked the area we were working on. The new building is almost finished so we will be using our quiet period during Jan and Feb to properly tidy up the farm so it will hopefully be looking much better this coming Spring!

Finally I'm very sorry to hear you thought the Caravan was dirty, we had a couple of similar complaints this Spring about this, especially with regards to the Caravans smelling of smoke. We have taken steps to improve this situation and have made it much clearer to guests that we do not accept smoking in any of our Caravans. We have received many positive comments over the summer about how clean the Caravans have been so I hope we have now got on top of this problem.

Thanks - Graham Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Arrived for the week in caravan number 5. Had no problem locating it - Google maps took us straight there! Pleased to find it to be just like the photos on the website. Even more pleased to find it smelling clean and fresh, in great condition, well maintained and well stocked with all the essentials - loo rolls, kitchen roll, washing up liquid etc. Plenty of room for all our 'gubbings' (with four children and two adults for the week there's plenty!) and loads of food cupboards. The kitchen has everything you need, and lots of things you might not :) really well stocked. We had a hearty breaky, made a packed lunch and cooked a 'proper' tea for six every day for a week and really found it a doddle. Normally by the end of a week things are starting to niggle a bit, but not so here, it really suited our requirements - we could have stayed forever!

The van felt spacious and was well laid out. We had two adults, a ten year old, two boys and a one year old in our party and managed perfectly. The best thing was that the master bedroom was big enough to have the travel cot in so this made a massive difference to us as we've stayed in large static caravans previously that have not had this option so the travel cot has been in the sitting room meaning the baby can't be 'put' to bed ... anyway, this may not be an issue for you so I won't dwell on it, but, for us, it made a massive difference. The mattresses in the master and twin rooms were AMAZINGLY comfy. All the bedding was perfect infact. Loads of blankets, spare pillows etc too. Not that you needed them as we were there in all that mild weather (with torrential rain day and night). The shower was fantastic, no clonking elbows as it's really spacious. Only two minor issues - a droopy shower head and a loose toilet seat ... easily sorted I'm sure, especially as the owners are so helpful and keen to please.

The twin bedroom was good in that the beds could be moved to form a double, which we ended up doing as our boys kept clonking their arms in the night. Again, loads of storage/shelving/wardrobe space. So much room.

Our only negative was regarding the sofabed in the sitting room. It's a double, but a very small double. This was fair enough though and, as we're not large, we fully intended to use that ourselves as it was comfy, but after one night we had to abandon as the mattress did seem to force us into the middle, which might suit some, but not us! Fortunately we worked round it by swapping with our ten year old who slept in the middle, said it was comfy and loved her 'big single'. I only mention it as I think we would have struggled if we'd have had to be on it for the week.

Small issues aside, don't let this detract from the fact that this is a lovely van, fab location, great hosts, brilliant area. I can't recommend it highly enough and would definitely return. It's a real gem. Oh and there's an Indian menu pinned to the board ... can't remember what it was called, but we had a meal delivered to the van from there and it was GORGEOUS. Highly recommended too.

Thank you Shaw Farm for our brilliant holiday accommodation. We loved it (and not a cobweb or spider in sight!!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123-Lark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Manager at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Wow thanks for your great review! I'm glad to hear Google maps know where we are as normal sat nav systems are a nightmare and some people spend ages trying to find us (that's why we put a proper map and directions on our website!). I'm glad you liked the caravan, we deliberately chose that design as the main bedroom is spacious and there is lots of storage. You will be glad to hear my dad has fixed the loose toilet seat and shower, also I think the meal you got was from Simply Indian in New Mills, I will have to try it again soon! Unfortunately there isn't much we can do about the size of the mattress on the sofa bed in the lounge as its permanently fixed in place but we will make a note if people ask us about it in the future. Mainly we have couples and small families staying in this van so no-one has ever mentioned it to us before. Anyway I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and weren't troubled by any spiders! - Graham Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

this is a very well equipped location-we hired two caravans and the owners are very accommodating and friendly. The views out over the countryside in the morning are wonderful and there are endless walks in the area. It's also a bonus being able to bring your dog with you!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Manager at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. - Graham Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have just got back from enjoying a lovely two night stay at Shaw Farm.
The area is so beautiful and we took the opportunity to walk the New Mills Torrs and a day out at Castleton various caverns and small town (well worth a visit).

There were plenty of local walks too that we enjoyed!

What I really loved was the fact that it was great value for money and that we could bring our two dogs with us. We had a friendly greeting by the owner who explained the facilities and then we were left to our privacy. The caravan was of a good size, well equipped and decorated as I'd expect, nothing overly fancy but perfectly fine, clean and very tidy (considering that this is a dog-friendly caravan).

It was great to get out into the countryside and would recommend Shaw Farm for anyone wanting a stress-free and good value stay in the Peaks. Shaw Farm has only 5 caravans so you are pretty much guaranteed to enjoy a quiet getaway, apart from the daily mooing of cows (which we loved).

Room Tip: We had a dog-friendly caravan but there were others that were available should you want an allergy f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim_Sammons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Manager at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thanks for your kind review and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I especially liked your comment about the cows, we do try and move the noisiest ones into fields further away from the caravans but obviously we must have had a cheeky one that we missed! Hope to see you again, Graham Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned this morning from a week long holiday to Shaw Farm staying in Caravan Number 6 (Luxury). Has to be one of the best family holidays we have all been on. 7 of us stayed in here, 5 adults and two children. Very well equipped. Had everything we needed including BBQ, Utensils, Washing up liquid, loo roll, plastic cutlery and plates etc for the little ones. All of which were much appreciated. The caravan was very clean and looked more like a lodge on the inside, the sitting area was spacious and there was a nice modern kitchen. George welcomed us just after we arrived and the whole family were friendly and keen to help out if you needed them for anything, even if it was just for advice on where to walk, eat out in the area etc.
The kids could play in the sandpit, on the playground, and go and see the calves, roosters and horse.
Cracking little pub nearby called the Fox Inn which is well worth a visit. Very welcoming and lovely atmosphere. Great playcentre too in New Mills and park for the kids. The family work extremely hard on their farm and should be very proud of their business. Already planning our next trip back but for an even longer stay !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beau1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Manager at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thanks for the review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again at some point! - Graham Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Mills
5.5 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
999 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,866 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pack Horse Inn
Pack Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in New Mills
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
9.9 mi away
Lime Tree Holiday Park
Lime Tree Holiday Park
#6 of 20 in Buxton
81 reviews
16.3 mi away
Sir William
Sir William
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park

Address: Shaw Farm Shaw Marsh, New Mills SK22 4QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > New Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in New Mills
Price Range: $46 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering Static Caravan Accommodation near New Mills, Derbyshire, UK. The Static Caravan Site is on our working family farm and each Caravan has uninterrupted views over open countryside. The Static Caravans are fully equipped for six people including a garden and parking. There is a play area with sandpit and swings on site and you are welcome to see the farm including baby calves and Lottie the horse. New Mills is in the northern Peak District and has good train links to Manchester, Sheffield and Buxton. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing