We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely farm with beautiful views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Mills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely farm with beautiful views”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

this is a very well equipped location-we hired two caravans and the owners are very accommodating and friendly. The views out over the countryside in the morning are wonderful and there are endless walks in the area. It's also a bonus being able to bring your dog with you!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Manager at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. - Graham Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    9
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have just got back from enjoying a lovely two night stay at Shaw Farm.
The area is so beautiful and we took the opportunity to walk the New Mills Torrs and a day out at Castleton various caverns and small town (well worth a visit).

There were plenty of local walks too that we enjoyed!

What I really loved was the fact that it was great value for money and that we could bring our two dogs with us. We had a friendly greeting by the owner who explained the facilities and then we were left to our privacy. The caravan was of a good size, well equipped and decorated as I'd expect, nothing overly fancy but perfectly fine, clean and very tidy (considering that this is a dog-friendly caravan).

It was great to get out into the countryside and would recommend Shaw Farm for anyone wanting a stress-free and good value stay in the Peaks. Shaw Farm has only 5 caravans so you are pretty much guaranteed to enjoy a quiet getaway, apart from the daily mooing of cows (which we loved).

Room Tip: We had a dog-friendly caravan but there were others that were available should you want an allergy f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim_Sammons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Manager at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks for your kind review and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I especially liked your comment about the cows, we do try and move the noisiest ones into fields further away from the caravans but obviously we must have had a cheeky one that we missed! Hope to see you again, Graham Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned this morning from a week long holiday to Shaw Farm staying in Caravan Number 6 (Luxury). Has to be one of the best family holidays we have all been on. 7 of us stayed in here, 5 adults and two children. Very well equipped. Had everything we needed including BBQ, Utensils, Washing up liquid, loo roll, plastic cutlery and plates etc for the little ones. All of which were much appreciated. The caravan was very clean and looked more like a lodge on the inside, the sitting area was spacious and there was a nice modern kitchen. George welcomed us just after we arrived and the whole family were friendly and keen to help out if you needed them for anything, even if it was just for advice on where to walk, eat out in the area etc.
The kids could play in the sandpit, on the playground, and go and see the calves, roosters and horse.
Cracking little pub nearby called the Fox Inn which is well worth a visit. Very welcoming and lovely atmosphere. Great playcentre too in New Mills and park for the kids. The family work extremely hard on their farm and should be very proud of their business. Already planning our next trip back but for an even longer stay !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beau1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Manager at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for the review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again at some point! - Graham Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have been fortunate enough to find Shaw Farm who have very kindly allowed us to bring our four dogs.we have been coming to Shaw Farm for the last four years twice a year and we go to Van 4! Everything is covered within an inch of its life. We love this van just because it is old!! We feel we can relax with our little family, they too relax as if at home. We have always been welcome, tho' when we arrived for our holiday in May, George had to tell us that someone had complained about our dogs saying we released our dogs each night and allowed them to roam round other caravans and do their business. Please may I say categorically we NEVER allow our dogs out without a lead, we do use retractable leads so someone may think they are out freely. They still cannot reach any other caravan and if you knows Van4 you will know it had its own superb grassy area surrounded by hedging, very private. We have enjoyed all our holiday tho' this did upset us somewhat as we are so grateful to Goerge and Nicky for letting us bring our pets with us. We will enjoy further holidays at Shaw Farm, roll on October! Sorry about the swimming pool and fitness centre! Swim in rain possibly and you should be fit once you have walked the hill a couple of times !!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Manager at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi Jenny, thanks for the review, I see you've done a few for New Mills and its good some of our other local businesses are now listed on here. Sorry if there was a misunderstanding about your dogs, we are more than happy for you to bring them and hope they enjoyed their stay as well. We have quite a few guests who appreciate being able to bring their pets on holiday with them. We do keep Caravans 5 and 6 pet free for allergy sufferers so hopefully we are doing our best to keep everyone happy, not always an easy job! See you in October, Graham Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent Whitsun half term in caravan number 1 and had an amazing time. The van is spotlessly clean, well equipped and even has amazing views of the Welsh mountains in the far distance.
It was an ideal base for our young family. The children thoroughly enjoyed the sand pit and swings and loved seeing the cows being milked.
There is so much to do in the area. We would recommend taking your bike on the Monsal Trail, with its amazing views and chance to peddle through the disused railway tunnels. The nearby Chesnut Otter and Owl sanctuary was enjoyed by the children, as was the Heights of Abraham cable cars, caves etc at Matlock Bath. Peverall Castle is also worth a visit and Manchester by train is only 30 mins away (national football museum for me and art gallery for the wife!). The nearby Fox pub is only a 5 mins walk away and sells a decent pint of Robinsons. It was certainly one of our best holidays!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Manager at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and exploring the local area. One of the problems with living here is I never seem to have time to actually go and see half of what our area has to offer for myself! Unfortunately we have now sold the last of our dairy cows so your were one of the last to see the milking. Its a shame as lots of our guests, especially children, really enjoyed watching the cows being milked and we always got lots of questions! However times move on and we couldn't afford to keep them anymore due to the cost of replacing our old worn out equipment. There is still plenty to see on the farm though as we have swapped over to a herd of beef cows so there will always be lots of calves about, either in the barns during the winter, or out grazing in the summer. We are also happy to show you around the farm and still have most of the old milking equipment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

6 of us stayed for 2 nights and we all really enjoyed our stay. The walk to the fox inn through the woods or down the path by the golf course was well worth doing and it's a cracking little pub with a great atmosphere. There is plenty within reasonable distance for the children, rummaging for golf balls in the out of bounds areas of the golf course can keep children entertained for hours I soon learnt. the walk across and beyond the golf course is also pleasant. Buxton and it's museum are a nice little trip, and there is a nice little indoor play centre in Buxton for kids that the tourist info centre told us about.
George greeted us on arrival and is a really nice chap , we found the caravan was ready for us and spotlessly clean when we arrived despite arriving 3 hrs before our advised check in time. Takeaway menus are provided and if u like Indians one of them was really good and found us easily (though cant recall its name). A really good stay and will happily return in the near future.


A Jones and K Crane .

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank canaries13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Manager at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. There are a few Indian takeaways in New Mills but one of my favorites is called Safron Rice which does a pretty unbeatable value meal deal for about £8.50. It is located just down the road from the mini roundabout in the centre of New Mills, next to Barclay's bank on Union Road. Ha, I also spent many days as a kid hunting for golf balls. But then realised I could sell them back to the golfers, so was it time well spend honing my entrepreneurial skills! Hope to see you again in the future, Graham Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our first holiday in three years could not have been any better.It was everything we were hoping for and more,excellent value ,clean,peaceful,and dog friendly.The fox inn is well worth the short walk either through the woods or footpath.
Cant wait for our return soon.
Paul,Sharron and carol Simpson

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simpsonited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Manager at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi Paul,Sharron and Carol, thanks for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed your long overdue holiday! See you again - Graham Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Mills
5.2 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
8.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,559 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#6 of 7 in Hope Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pack Horse Inn
Pack Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in New Mills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
14.7 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park

Property: Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park
Address: Shaw Farm Shaw Marsh, New Mills SK22 4QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > New Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in New Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering Static Caravan Accommodation near New Mills, Derbyshire, UK. The Static Caravan Site is on our working family farm and each Caravan has uninterrupted views over open countryside. The Static Caravans are fully equipped for six people including a garden and parking. There is a play area with sandpit and swings on site and you are welcome to see the farm including baby calves and Lottie the horse. New Mills is in the northern Peak District and has good train links to Manchester, Sheffield and Buxton. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing