We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Overwhelming standard”
other travelers have booked this property
The entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The entrance
The cottage, garden and view Door to private garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The entrance
The cottage, garden and view
Door to private garden
Rear of Cottage
Kitchen diner
Dining room with TV and sofa
TV room
Ground floor double bedroom
First floor master bedroom with ensuite
Ground floor twin bedroom
Ground floor family bathroom
Home comforts
Side view
The entrance
Views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
New Mills, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Misterbee...
1 review
“Overwhelming standard”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Rarely have I been so impressed or made to feel so at home for a stay away. Brow Farm cottage has been excellently renovated and prepared for use a holiday letting by the owners. The 3 well appointed and generous bedrooms have 2 very comfortable double and single beds. There is a separate gallery living room with 2 sofas, a large television and good selection of dvd's to choose from. The two bathrooms were immaculate and the showers are equal to the highest standard hotel. The open plan kitchen dining area opens onto a private and secure garden, and is fully equipped enough appliances, utensils and dining with space for 6 to eat comfortably. There is even a washing machine and tumble dryer should you need it. The period features of the barn that have been retained such as the exposed oak beams and internal stone and to the charm and character. The view across the valley from the property is stunning, and the location is within easy walking distance of the town centre.
We were made to feel especially welcome by the gift of locally made cup cakes and fresh eggs from the farm itself. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for our university reunion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. We do hope that you will choose us again next year as the venue for your reunion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob t
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a Find.”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Three of us stayed here on a two day walking mini-break, and we all agreed that we couldn't have stumbled on a better place. Lots of nice walks locally and Hayfield is just down the road, which was the start point we decided on for our Kinder Scout ramble. The cottage itself is immaculate and beautifully finished. Wonderful to wake in the mornings and breakfast with a priceless view across the valley. The owner could not have been more helpful or obliging. Couldn't fault Brow Farm, wish our stay had been longer.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will visit us again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing location stunning views.
the barn is so clean, it was really has been done to a high standard.
Highly recommend here

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you came to stay with us all the way from Germany and we hope that you will visit us again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N0rwich
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with wonderful views”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed for a weekend at Brow Farm with friends. The cottage is lovely with wonderful views across the valley. It is well equipped with everything needed for your break away from home. There are horses in the fields below the cottage which pleased my other half.
We went for a walk along the canal and river which I would recommend. We also visited the National Trust property Lyme House which is about 10-15 minutes away.
Cath and Dave were excellent hosts and thank you for the cakes and eggs.
We will definitely stay again if we return to the area.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful accommodation”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

5 of us stayed at this lovely cottage for 4 nights for a walking break. The farm was in a great area for walking with lovely routes straight from the door whilst also being only a 20 minute drive from Castleton where we walked Mam Tor. We were able to walk rather than drive to Kinder Scout which is stunning and afterwards in Hayfield we found a lovely restaurant Dutsons which served superb food and positively welcomed muddy boots! The cottage itself was delightful, south facing with lovely views over the valley. We loved the vaulted ceiling full of character and spent most of our time in the big kitchen diner where we loved watching the horses. The farm is within strolling distance of the village centre with some really nice local shops and even a vegetarian cafe where we ate a lovely lunch one day. We will definitely be back to stay here next year to see more of the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again the next time that you walk the Peak District.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, well worth a visiting”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I visited Brow Farm cottage with my husband and two friends after booking online. We were not disappointed. The cottage is excellent and in a lovely location. We had previously stayed in the old accommodation which is now the owner's family home.
On arrival we were greeted by the owner Cath, who was friendly and helpful, and her two lovely Labradors. Although the cottage is attached to her family home, it is totally private and self contained and the owner made sure our privacy was respected.
It is immaculate inside, well furnished and very clean.The kitchen is equipped with everything you need to self cater and all bed linen and towels are provided. The bedrooms are very comfortable and we slept really well because it is so quiet and peaceful.
The cottage is surrounded by the lovely countryside of the Peak District and is within walking distance of New Mills. The historic town of Buxton and other Peak District villages are in easy driving distance.
This area is ideal for people who enjoy walking and provides a good base for touring the many attractions the Peak District has to offer.
I would recommend Brow Farm cottage to anyone who wants to escape to an idyllic rural setting at very competitive rates.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Hi Patricia
Thank you for your very kind review. We hope that you will visit us again at Brow Farm soon
Cath Bills
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing