We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly and quaint”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pine Cottage

Pine Cottage is situated in our courtyard which is a suntrap in the Summer and ideal for bbqs, etc
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pine Cottage is situated in our courtyard which is a suntrap in the Summer and ideal for bbqs, etc
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Pine Cottage is situated in our courtyard which is a suntrap in the Summer and ideal for bbqs, etc
Broadhurst Cottages in the snow
Pine Cottage in the snow
Our fields in the snow
Happy Christmas from Woody!
Broadhurst in the snow (Bob Turner Photography)
The Manifold Valley in the snow (Bob Turner Photography)
Christmas at Pine Cottage
Christmas at Pine Cottage
Christmas at Pine Cottage
Castern Hall- a wintery scene near Broadhurst (Bob Turner Photography)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Waterhouses, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachael H
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Friendly and quaint”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It is well located, you are quite close to a couple of shops to pick up what you might need, there are a few local takeaways (I'd recommend avoiding cloves) and you are close to a number of attractions.

The property has everything you would need, we were 8 adults and three kids and we fit comfortably into the house. The garden had horses at the bottom, which the kids loved and they were so friendly.

Bedrooms - beds were good, linen was clean, plenty of space.
Kitchen - really well equipped, no issues at all, lots of cutlery, plates etc... microwave, range cooker, fridge/freezer and dishwasher.
Living room - loads of sofa space which is great, usually we come to these places and they say they hold 8 adults but there are two sofas, here there was enough space for everyone.

The wi-fi is limited, but you're on holiday so enjoy it. There is wi-fi it was just a bit hit and miss.

We'd book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lauren d
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great friendly getaway ”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed over the new year period and had a fantastic stay. We were greeted by Linda, who have left us some lovely mince pies on the kitchen table, who showed us around and explained the local amenities to us.

The cottage is homely and very spacious for big groups staying there. Each room was spacious and fully equipped with everything you need and very clean.
The kitchen is lovely and big and very enjoyable to have a big family meal together as the table seats all guests.

The farm is so friendly and the dog we took had so much land to walk around and a lovely field to run around in. The little play park and trampoline fully entertained the children as well as Linda's daughter bringing her guniea pig and giant rabbit to pet as well. The kids loved this.

There is a hot tub available which is chargeable by the night, I just wish we would of known this before we go there as we didn't mind paying for it but wished it was set up before we got there, so email the owner beforehand if you wish to use it.

The cottage is in a great local area of waterhouses, we used the local shop, curry house and chip shop who were all so friendly. We also drove to The Royal Oak pub for a fantastic meal, which we intend to return to, and if you take a business card from the farm with you the pub will give you 10% discount.

We also used the local cycle hire and did the manifold valley trail.I fully recommend this as the area has beautiful surroundings and view and The kids had a great time in the fresh air.

I would definitely recommend the broadhurst farm as a great rental for families and we will definitely be booking again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirar0ber...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent stay with fantastic hosts”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Linda and Paul were excellent hosts: friendly and relaxed. We stayed in Pine and Elm Cottage and loved it. The jacuzzi was fantastic; the houses catered for our every need; the surrounding countryside was beautiful; the rooms were comfortable and perfect for the 12 of us who stayed. Would definitely recommend. Likely that we will be coming back for another stay soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay, Kira. Hope to see you again soon!
Linda and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonialync...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal for family holiday”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A good base for exploring the area. The house had everything we needed, friendly and helpful owners. The children loved the trampoline and we all enjoyed using the hot tub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexSara...
essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another fantastic break at Broadhurst farm”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have stayed at Broadhurst farm a few times previously whilst visiting Alton towers but this was our first time at Pine cottage. Once again we were not disappointed. The booking process is easy and both Linda and Paul are friendly and helpful.

The cottage is huge with plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms, a big living room and a kitchen with a big farmhouse table which we made good use of, in fact we cancelled our restaurant booking on the second night of our stay as the teenagers preferred to have dinner at the cottage! It was spotlessly clean and everything we needed was provided, the views are lovely and it was nice going down the garden to say hello to the horses. Paul the owner also intridouced us to the pot bellied pig and giant rabbit.

I am so glad we discovered Broadhurst farm as previously we used to stay in local hotels when visiting Alton towers, not only is this closer (12 mins drive) and much more economical, but it turns a hectic couple of days at a theme park into what feels like a proper holiday, we are able to relax with plenty of space in the evenings and it's a much more sociable environment for a larger group.

I would not hesitate to recommend this cottage (and cedar where we have also stayed before) to anyone, families with younger or older children, groups or couples. Many thanks to Paul and Linda for another enjoyable trip and we will be back again!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GwizzUK
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lacking Quality and Customer Service”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed in the larger Pine cottage with 11 other friends for a weekend in a wet July. Upon initially entering the cottage there were a lot of rules we had to adhere to which immediately made us wary on our 'holiday'.
The quality of the furnishings are not as the website describe, very dated and lacking modern touches. The oven is not suitable for 4 let alone a full 12 and the toaster did not seem to work.
Some of the windows are broke and some don't open at all leaving the health and safety in case of a fire a little to be desired.
Outside the hot tub is within talking distance to the next cottage with no privacy panel on either side. There is also a broken slab outside.
The WiFi is virtually none existent but there is a large tele when there is sufficient signal.
The proprietors seem kind enough although you do feel like big brother is watching you. We were a very sensible and respectibale group but certainly the management and upkeep need a little refining.
Not a luxury getaway but an 'it'll do' stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;