We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house for a family/friends weekend away!”

Review of Old Beams

The Old Beams
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Beams
The Main Lounge 2 The Main Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Old Beams
The Main Lounge 2
The Main Lounge
The Study (through view from the snug)
The Kitchen/Breakfast Room
The Conservatory/Dining Room
The Conservatory/Dining Room 2
Second En suite Bedroom
Master En suite-Bedroom
En suite (all have large cast-iron baths)
The Lawn
The Garden/Water Feature
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Waterhouses, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah H
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great house for a family/friends weekend away!”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I was let down last minute when my original holiday accommodation was cancelled on me. Luckily I came across Old Beams and it looked ideal for the weekend I had planned - 6 couples for a birthday celebration. Helen was very helpful from the minute the booking was confirmed and was able to answer any questions/queries we had.

Key collection was very easy and there was plentiful parking. All rooms were very comfortable with all but the top two rooms having en-suites. The best room for us was the conservatory which was a great room for entertaining and socialising. We did have to take the chairs in from the kitchen so we could seat 12 but the table was plenty big enough for us to all dine around. The garden was a good size and there was seating out there for us to enjoy the sun when it eventually came out!

The kitchen was well equipped and there were plentiful glasses etc. It was a bonus having full Sky package - the lads were able to watch the rugby!

There are a couple of pubs in the village and one just up the road in Cauldon called the Yew Tree Inn - a very interesting place! A great place to spend a few days away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Thanks for your review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to hear from you again.
Regards, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MieshaJ
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A prefect house for a country visit”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at Old Beams for a hen-do in the Peak District. The house was perfect for us - large with a huge dining table, a great garden and lots of space for food and drinks, the kitchen was well stocked.

The caretaker next door was very sweet and while we were out closed the windows for us as there was some sandblasting going on across the road.

The owners were quick to respond and let us have a late checkout which was really appreciated, especially as the weather was so good!

The house was easy to find and had ample car parking space.

We'll visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
Thanks for your review.
We're happy you enjoyed your stay, and that the hen-do was a success!
We look forward to hearing from you again for your return!
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bin L
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful family get together”
Reviewed November 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My husband and I, our three children, their partners and teenage children spent a fantastic extended weekend here.
My son and his partner were visiting fron Australia , so it was ideal for a family get together.
There is loads of room for the family to split off and do different things or all sit round playing silly games.the kitchen was amazing, plenty of space to cook meals.
We had our 'Sunday Roast ' on sat evening , after a quick visit to the local pub.
The huge dining room was more than big enough, and in the summer with the doors open would be a wonderful room to sit in the evening.
The garden has lots of different areas and a wonderful play area for children with climbing frame etc. We had a walk upto waterfall on Sunday which delighted my sons Australian wife, a real red working phone box ! And an old water pump!
The house is well stocked and immaculate, the owner is extremely helpful should you need anything. There is one bedroom on the ground floor so if you have trouble with stairs that is an option. Would I go back , in a heart beat.... I just wish I could afford to buy it!!!
Oh I nearly forgot the piano.... We had a weekend of my grand daughter practicing moonlight sonata . And lots of off road parking .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, this allowed room for girly chats and the boys to watch footy, whilst teenagers had space to do their thing.
Liked least: I had to go home !
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2016
Thank you for your glowing review! We're glad the whole family enjoyed their stay in Old Beams and the local area.
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Old beams”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A very nice stay in old beams, great house, location, lots of parking. We all had a fabulous time.
A lovely area of the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House amenities
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. We're happy you loved Old Beams!
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fishfacef...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous house ensured fantastic family get together”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have returned from an amazing 5 night stay at this wonderful house.
From the moment we arrived we felt completely at home - we all wished it could have been our home!!
We had planned the holiday to see daughter and son from our families who were making a whistle stop return to the UK fromAustralia, enroute to a wedding in Tuscany. We booked the house so that all families could all be together from different parts of the UK and to allow those who were working to still be able to join in at the weekend.
This lovely house has 8 bedrooms and 6 bathrooms which provided privacy as well as being part of the bigger group.
The kitchen was extremely well equipped, Sky TV in all downstairs rooms, local pub, playing fields so we could break from watching the Euros to playing a bit of our own challenge match - making sure we sky plussed the Saturday afternoon match to catch up later!!
Garden was wonderful and tranquil, but the best part is the magnificent conservatory dining room. At one point during our stay we had 14 of us at meal times and the dining table was more than adequate for all our needs and is such a perfect room.
Ideal location, supermarkets a few miles away in either direction and bicycle hire for the Minifold Way within a short walk (15 minutes).

A wonderful break with lovely family and friends made more comfortable and enjoyable in such a lovely house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the fact that there were actually better facilities than advertised.
Liked least: Couldn't find the yellow bin for the rubbish!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We have to agree, the first time we walked into Old Beams it felt like coming home - it is very special! We are always so happy to hear our guests love it as much as we do.
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally M
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday home for a family break.”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A house with real character, a garden providing interest for all the children, ages 7-12, and lovely relaxation for the adults. Kitchen well equipped, 3 fridges and a freezer. The conservatory is amazing, a brilliant room for family meals. Close to beautiful Dove dale. Bike hire in the village, the Manifold trail is a great ride for all the family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Thanks for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place for a fab weekend with friends”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had fantastic weekend with friends for my birthday. Spacious surroundings, excellent facilities and what a way to start the day having breakfast with the sun pouring in through a pretty amazing conservatory! Great meal at the crown - made to feel very welcome. Would definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post your review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The conservatory is wonderful - especially when the sun is shining!
Regards, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing