We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected better from Brand Chatsworth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Ranked #1 of 2 Beeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“I expected better from Brand Chatsworth”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

As a part of brand Chatsworth I expected better - and this place seems to have gone downhill a bit in the past few years. Bedrooms have nice decor and are very comfy - a pity about the broken window (which I was told was on the list for attention) - and the 2 Ctenocephalides which I found on the bedspread (thats what you get when you allow guests to bring pets!). Food was quite good if not a little pretentious - try eating a fairly tough Bransley chop on a bed of mash served in a pasta bowl, chef. Eating at the dining tables was rather like eating in a lounge on a easy chair, but watching the locals go by instead of the TV!
Staff training and their supervision by the manager of the day will be worth an investment (as apposed to more drastic action) by the Devonshires - knife on the left and fork on the right? a small queue at the bar when the lady bar tender is having a long cosy chat with a 'customer'.
No wonder it was so quiet and several friends from Sheffield no longer dine here.
2 course dinner for 2 and a couple of glasses of wine £80
What a shame, but its easy to see what needs to be done - come on Duchess get into action!

Room Tip: Watch out for the Ctenocephalides
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks for the comments, it is through feedback such as yours that we are able to continually improve and develop. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your experience at The Devonshire Arms and have informed the team of your comments.
Kind Regards
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    168
    80
    18
    5
See reviews for
92
375
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just returned from a one night B & B. The room was very clean and compact with en suite shower room. All the mod cons were there, pity the TV remote did not work. Tea and coffee facilities in the room.
As we arrived fairly late having already eaten a huge lunch we could not face another big meal and the excellent staff sorted out a couple of sandwiches out for us, I have never seen such huge sandwiches which came with the seemly obligatory pot full of chips (why not just put them on the plate) Others have mentioned mean portions but these certainly were not.
The pub dining area round the log fire was nearly all reserved so book ahead if calling in for a meal.
Breakfast was very good with the usual help yourself with cereal or fruit and a served hot dish
Now for the negative aspect of the stay. The room we had was the Dovedale which as it turned out is right above the bar area and you can hear every word, I nearly joined in the discussion of how to catch moles. However by midnight it had calmed down and we could settle down for what was then a quite night.
At least I know how to catch moles.

Room Tip: Avoid the Dovedale room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks for the comments I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! My apologies about the noise from the Bar below in the evening I will have a word with the Locals!
Kind Regards
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Dined here on Saturday afternoon with family of 8, on arrival we found the welcome from the Posh young chap in his waistcoat behind the bar a bit lacking in helpfulness and warmth and both my wife and sister noted this also?
Food was tasty but portions mean for price paid! And surprised that no veg included with the Sausage and Mash £12.95 for 3 sausages and a small portion of mash is not acceptable or value for money!( however the fish fingers dish was excellent).( waiting staff helpful and friendly)
Would not dine here again unless portions and welcome from front of house improved!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewanbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi I was very sorry to read that you didnt get the welcome expected or enjoy your sausage and mash, I will be speaking to the team and expressing the points raised in your review!
Thanks for your comments.
Regards
Alan .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We dined here on Saturday night. The atmosphere and service was very good. Staff very welcoming and food delicious. My only complaint was that the main courses did not include vegetables so if you have the Barnsley chop you get a chop and mashed potato. Having dined at many pubs charging similar prices with veg included I can not understand why there wasn't any vegetables. Slightly spoiled the experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks for your comments it was great to read you enjoyed your Dinner with us on Saturday ! Apologies for the lack of vegetables I try to keep this dish as simple as possible as to emphasise the quality of the Farmshop Chop and our Garden Mint Sauce .
Kind Regards
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed for a night for a surprise 40th Birthday (8 of us). Staff were excellent from arrival to departure, all very friendly welcoming and helpful regarding said surprise!

They accommodated us in the Malt Vault private dining for our evening meal, even arranging for the excellent breakfast to be served there too.

The rooms (we were in Jasmine in the cottage) were very tastefully decorated and very comfortable, and included nice touches such as The Duchess DVD (Chatsworth connection) and various books relating to Chatsworth and the surrounding area also the provision of a brolly should it be required from cottage to pub (we didn't need it thankfully!!).

The area itself is gorgeous, (helped by the lovely spring weather!!).

Food was lovely and the breakfast the following morning which was enjoyed in the Malt Vault couldn't be faulted, and once again the staff are a credit to the Devonshire Arms!!!

Will hopefully be back!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Jasmine was lovely in the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks for a super review it was great to read that you enjoyed your 40th birthday party with us!We hope you will visit again next time your in the Peaks !
Kind Regards
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a one night stay at the Devonshire Arms at Beeley. We were a group of friends surprising my Husband on his 40th birthday. I had told the Devonshire it was a surprise and they did not let me down!! Almost all the staff knew about it and joined in the fun xx We had booked the suite which is really spacious and bright with a bedroom, lounge area and bathroom. Our friends (3 other couples), stayed in the rooms just over the road in the old estate house, which was equally lovely. We lazed around all afternoon in the conservatory area and then had an evening meal in the Malt Vault which is great if there is a group of you. The food and service was excellent!! The village itself and surround areas are beautiful. Don't hesitate to book. A huge thank you to the Devonshire for making our stay a fantastic one.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mtdbaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Wow thanks for the review what a great read I will be sure to pass your comments onto the guys!
Hope to see you soon!
Regards
Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

On an unusually sunny day this week we spent a refreshing morning in the Derbyshire Dales. On our way home, through Chatsworth,, we decided to try The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, for lunch. Good choice. The staff were pleasant and efficient and not at all pushy. We were offered the main menu, and also the less expensive, snack menu. After browsing both, we chose from the main menu. My wife chose pan fried salmon, and I, less adventurously, went for battered haddock, chips, and, yes, mushy peas. My wife said that her meal was delicious (although we forgot to ask what it was that gave the crushed potato their flavour and colour). The haddock and chips was absolutely perfect. The batter was light and crispy without a trace of greasiness, the chips were "proper" chips, as you would expect. (I HATE frozen chips being served in restaurants) Were they fried in beef dripping? Or goose fat maybe? But delicious in any case. I should also mention that the little pot of Tartare sauce served on the side, was almost certainly home-made, with a delightful tang of fresh capers.
It is a little more expensive than your average pub grub, but then the choice and quality of the food is a refreshing change from the menus of national chain eateries. And it is not THAT much more expensive anyway. All in all it was a very pleasant experience, and the perfect way to end an appetite inducing morning in The Dales.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granfavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks for the great review,I was really pleased to hear that enjoyed your Salmon and Fish and Chips!The potatoes we use are Anya and crushed with lots of butter boiled egg and parsley.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beeley
3.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
733 reviews
1.0 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms at Beeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms at Beeley

Property: The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Address: Chatsworth Estate, Beeley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE4 2NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Beeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Beeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms at Beeley 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Chatsworth Estate, Beeley is one of those picturesque unspoilt country villages. And The Devonshire Arms is one of those picturesque country inn at the heart of village life. But with a difference! It offers the charm and character of an historic inn with a warm and comfortable interior full of oak beams and stone crannies. Make your way through to the brasserie and be amazed at the contrast of the startlingly different décor with panoramic windows overlooking the village, the contemporary bar, the glass fronted wine store and colourful furnishings. And for the ultimate escape, why not stay in one of our eight stylish cottage bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Devonshire Arms at Beeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms At Beeley Hotel Beeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing