We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Chatsworth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Ranked #1 of 2 Beeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Visit to Chatsworth”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This would have been a great trip, and place to stay, due to it being close to Chatsworth, the accommodation was excellent and the service was top class, however the food was not so, the steaks we order were very tough and difficult to cut, when one of the steaks was returned to the chef he's repile was that that type of steak should not be well done, he could have mention to us that in the first place. When we went to pay our bill it got very complicated and the staff found it difficult to work out how to deduct the tough steaks.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the ground floor in the cottage are well appointed and very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fletc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    169
    80
    19
    5
See reviews for
92
377
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were taken here for dinner by friends who live localish on Saturday night, the food was superb ( loved the bakewell tart ice cream ) the pub it's self was just what i like, real ale and plenty of atmosphere! we will be certainly returning here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 451Jonnyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We enjoyed a three night stay at this delightful pub/hotel. The staff was very polite and helpful throughout our stay.
We stayed in a lovely bedroom - upper floor of the cottage across the road, ones of the premium bedrooms. It was quirky,well decorated with a superb spacious bathroom. The view from the bedroom was over the beck, which we could hear gurgling along once the lights were out!
The modern twist to this 17th century building was the restaurant which had been very tastefully decorated with subtle lighting that changed the colour wash on the walls! Very atmospheric!
The food was good; was well presented and hot. It wasn't exceptional but was tasty and of good quality. As a vegetarian, the choice over three days was limited, indeed we ate out one night to avoid repeating a meal. Overall it was worthwhile and being so near to Chatsworth it was a real boon.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs in the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you're looking for a country pub with great food and comfortable rooms near Chatsworth, this is it. A celebration dinner on Friday night yielded four excellent meals- the highlights were my black treacle cured salmon and my friend's enormous steak and chips. The wines are good (but buy a bottle if you can, they're London prices by the glass) and the service efficient. We also enjoyed breakfast, especially the porridge with honey. Service falters a little when they're very busy, but overall the restaurant knows what it's doing.

The rooms are very good for a pub, less so by hotel standards. We stayed in one of the most expensive (across the road, the upper floor of a pretty cottage) pleasantly decorated but rather cold especially when we arrived on a chilly November evening. The bedroom was quite small, with nowhere really comfortable to sit, although the bathroom was spacious and well decorated.

We would definitely go again, but try to visit during the week when the room rates are lower as more in keeping with the facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLEETHORPES
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

What a find this pub/resturant in the grounds of chatsworth house is wonderfull roaring fires fab food, we stayed in a great room very reasonable. top staff very welcolming.great location as chatsworth house and farm shop were brilliant great xmas gifts , very varied menu , enjoy xx

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRUISEINKAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent a night here with friends. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming, our room, 'Dove Dale' was most attractively decorated, and the bathroom was clean with lovely fluffy towels and toiletries to hand. We dined in the Restaurant in the evening, there was a a comprehensive and imaginative menu, though the wines were on the pricey side, especially wine by the glass. The Devonshire Arms is situated close to Chatsworth, in beautiful countryside. The Farm shop on the Estate is well worth a visit, too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Winelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Stratford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was taken here by a Solicitor friend of mine who eats here regularly. I have always gravitated to some of the other similar establishments in the Peaks. Very pleasantly surprised is the verdict. A lot of places boast, but don't deliver, but I glad to say this was not one. The menu is fairly comprehensive with traditional and more adventurous combinations, al done with a deftness of touch showing that they know their market. E.g. Steak and Chips (big and hearty man food cooked to your liking) whilst not cheap it is very good value for money. Other seasonal produce is usually available with an emphasis on game. this, plus good beer and friendly service. Just wish it was a bit nearer (walking distance)!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngbonavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beeley
3.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
753 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms at Beeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms at Beeley

Property: The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Address: Chatsworth Estate, Beeley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE4 2NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Beeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Beeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms at Beeley 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Chatsworth Estate, Beeley is one of those picturesque unspoilt country villages. And The Devonshire Arms is one of those picturesque country inn at the heart of village life. But with a difference! It offers the charm and character of an historic inn with a warm and comfortable interior full of oak beams and stone crannies. Make your way through to the brasserie and be amazed at the contrast of the startlingly different décor with panoramic windows overlooking the village, the contemporary bar, the glass fronted wine store and colourful furnishings. And for the ultimate escape, why not stay in one of our eight stylish cottage bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Devonshire Arms at Beeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms At Beeley Hotel Beeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing