We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Under staffed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Ranked #1 of 2 Beeley B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Food, Under staffed”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Food, location and ambiance was great.... But the amount of waiting and attention to detail let it down for the price. It was understaffed when we went and it showed (Sunday Night). The staff were trying to hold it together but were struggling. One waiting staff was literally running everywhere. A shame and might give it another go incase it was just a particularly off evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Myles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    166
    77
    18
    5
See reviews for
91
368
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
385 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This should be a great place if you are of a certain height, but if you are approaching 6 feet tall, then be prepared to stoop or wear a hard hat. After swerving in the lounge to avoid the low beams and nearly poking my eye out on the automated door closer in the bedroom and cutting my forehead instead, I'd had enough of the place. I'm sorry to say that is why I only give the Devonshire Arms an average score. Food was ok - I had an evening meal and breakfast there - but it was not comfortable experience.
On the positive side, the staff were friendly and bubbly and were concerned about my injury. Location-wise? Perfect!

Room Tip: Bring some fresh produce and exchange it for beer! PS Rooms marked "Terrible" only beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILP-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel both the food and accommodation did not disappoint. Our room was very cottage like. Although its not the cheapest hotel the area its great and I would thoroughly recommend it for its charm, friendliness of the staff and for its position. If there was any criticism it would be that the breakfast took a while to be served (but I must admit worth the wait) and the fact tat there wasn't an ironing board in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived after a hectic drive from the Lake District and the welcome and the room was a delight; the room being on the ground floor of the annex and car parking right outside the door. As we were in a fairly isolated part of the country we decided to dine in-house and we were not disappointed with either the food and wine or the service. equally, the breakfast each morning was excellent and the outlook very pleasant. As we chose the hotel for its proximity to Chatsworth, it was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed for one night at Devonshire Arms and visited Chatsworth the following day. Overall, we were pleased, but as with most places, there were pluses and minuses. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, from check in through to check out. The restaurant had a good ambiance with excellent choices and ok value for money. The breakfast menu had less choice than that on the website, but no complains on quality. Our room was in the main building, which is old and as you would expect had sloping floors and was comfortable. The shower was also hot and plentiful
There were a few niggles. Firstly, there was only one bedside light, no reason why there could not have been a second one. The shower room had cracked tiles on the floor and missing grouting and also the shower tray overflowed after the water had been running for a few minutes. There was also a large cobweb above the window of the room and generally the area around the window could have done with a good clean. All relatively minor things that could easily be quickly fixed, but when you consider we were paying £180 a night for B&B, for basically a room above a pub (admittedly, a very nice pub), I would not expect to mention the above issues. However, we would stay again in the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajp9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

the devonshire arms is absolutely charming, we stayed in the main building which is lovely, with the rooms behind the bar. my husband and i had the funniest room with a feature rolltop bathtub, which was very cool! very pleasant, very comfortable. we also got a very good deal with 25 quid per person towards dinner, breakfast included and day tickets to chatsworth house. dinner was just fine, if a bit heavy. our service at dinner was very friendly and helpful. the timing of the kitchen is off though, and they really make you wait. that was fine for a relaxed dinner, but in the morning when we wanted to be up and away, it took more than 45 minutes for a couple of boiled eggs and an omelette, quite off putting. everything else was just lovely, may have been an off day in the kitchen!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuradhab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Spent four first class days with family and friend here. My room was called Chee Dale. The whole atmosphere of this place was very 'Dorset'. From the time we arrived til' the time we departed it was Service, Relax, Relax, Relax. The staff were excellent and their skills were many, especially being helpful and pleasant! Mind, their local knowledge could do with a little retouching! The meals seemed to satisfy all of our party. . . . but the morning porridge WITH honey was 9+* out of 10! The Hotel allowed our family dogs which was very convenient. I tried most of the ales, which were good, especially after a gruelling day climbing up and down the "Blue John Mines" in Castleton, Derbyshire and the very pleasant but gruelling full day doing the grounds, cafes and house at Chatsworth House! The big scare which nearly made a disaster week was the escape of our King Charles Cavaliers! Two dogs gave the entire landscape . . . especially the sheep!. . .an awakening!! All ended-up, thankfully OK. Thank you, Devonshire Arms. Oh! And we did fit in a quick visit to Masson Mills, Matlock, Near Derby.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are of equal standard. Rooms are dotted around the whole village which is very tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beeley
3.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.0 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
12.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms at Beeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms at Beeley

Property: The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Address: Chatsworth Estate, Beeley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE4 2NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Beeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Beeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms at Beeley 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Chatsworth Estate, Beeley is one of those picturesque unspoilt country villages. And The Devonshire Arms is one of those picturesque country inn at the heart of village life. But with a difference! It offers the charm and character of an historic inn with a warm and comfortable interior full of oak beams and stone crannies. Make your way through to the brasserie and be amazed at the contrast of the startlingly different décor with panoramic windows overlooking the village, the contemporary bar, the glass fronted wine store and colourful furnishings. And for the ultimate escape, why not stay in one of our eight stylish cottage bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Devonshire Arms at Beeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms At Beeley Hotel Beeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing