We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Ranked #1 of 2 Beeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel , for 2 evenings, rang the day before to find out check in times and was told there was a problem with the reservation, we booked with Secret Escapes and had paid for 2 rooms for 2 nights, they only had records of 1 room for I night.
However 10 mins later Oliver from the Devonshire had sorted it and we could look forward to our stay.
We were in the Cowslip , upstairs in the Dove Cottages across the road, a nice room, with ensuite bath/shower. our friends were in the Jasmine room below, again very nice with a large walk in shower.
We had forgot to book a table for the evening, but Oliver had provisionally reserved one for us, I am pleased he did, because the Restuarant was full, food was superb after spending the late afternoon in front of the fire sampling the wines and beer.
Excellent location and we went to Dovedale the following day, ate again the following evening in the Restuarant, steaks great, all 4 of us enjoyed the experience. Visited Chatsworth on our last day fantastic, well worth a visit.
The staff at the Devonshire were very friendly and could not be more helpful.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Really pleased to read your comments thanks!I will be sure to let the team know especially Oliver!
Hope to see you soon.
Regards
Alan
Chef Patron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 590 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We met up at the Devonshire for a family event. It was quiet on our arrival as it was only 7.30 pm. The staff behind the bar were ready to take an order but were not prepared to smile or sound in any way welcoming.

We were soon shown to the small dining room which had been booked for the 7 of us. The young lady showed us where to go and left us to it. The room was delightful. The staff were on time with everything and the food good. A selection of good quality foods for all pallets.

The wine was also a good choice (though I only had a sip from my sons glass. I had the car keys)

I would go again. If all you want is good honest food, the experience of eating at a pub in Beeley on the Chatsworth estate and the memories of a great day/week end/holiday in the area then it is worth the trip. It is a delightful property good food at a high Chatsworth price.

If you want great ambiance with happy, smiling staff try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thanks for the comments ! I will certainly take onboard that the team need to smile more ,although I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our food!
Thanks again.
Alan
Chef Patron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights in September. We were pleased to be allocated a room in their newly acquired accommodation across the road in Dove Cottage. Renovation work to the cottage had not long been finished and we were delighted to be recipients of the opening offer of a bottle of champagne in the room. The room, whilst smallish, was beautifully decorated.

Initially, I would imagine, a pub it now offers accommodation both in the building and at two nearby properties. There is also a nice restaurant offering a varied menu. The fact that some bedrooms are offsite is not seen as an issue as the village is very quiet and walking to and from the pub was no problem.

We were very pleased with the food offered by the restaurant. Although we were happy with it, some people might feel that service was on the slow side. This seemed particularly noticeable at breakfast although in their defence it was evident that all food is freshly cooked to order. The same menu is offered both in the restaurant and the pub itself and we had a preference for the more formal aspect of eating in the restaurant.

The pub is perhaps 3 miles from Chatsworth House and for the more energetic it would be possible to walk there across fields and along the River Derwent.

Room Tip: I think rooms in Dove Cottage were slightly higher priced but I would have no hesitation in recommen...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thanks for the kind words,I will be sure to pass them on to the team!
Hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Alan
Chef Patron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. A little confusing on checking in fairly late on a Friday, the pub bar was the reception! And it was a frantic rush around by the guy behind the bar getting our key and showing us the lovely "Poppy room", but that aside the food and service was excellent but because it is a working pub and restaurant, you lose the intimacy of a first class hotel. The Poppy room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable with views of the babbling brook and ducks running adjacent to the hotel. Don't forget visiting Chatsworth house and the grounds, although a little expensive with every treat an extra charge, still well worth a visit. If you use the audio tour at the house you need to look out for the laminated sheets in every room which includes the number you need to key into your device. Not informed of this at the time of hiring.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Super review thanks!I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our new rooms next to the Brook for me it gives it that real country village feel!I will also pas your comments on to the team at Chatsworth regarding your visit.
Regards
Alan
Chef Patron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a great surprise as booked by my wife via the Daily Telegraph Travel.Arrived at lovely village location.Checking in was slightly confused.Our room was not available and because of the Telegraph offer we had tickets included to visit Chatsworth House,bur they were not readily available.A small issue,but greetings need to improve ! After this everything was top drawer.We stayed in the 'Poppy's room which was so warm,so well decorated,the bathroom was fabulous.The manager had placed in our a room a bottle of champagne,good quality,and small nibbles,owing to my birthday.We eat at night in the brassiere/bistro where the food,service and ambiance was first class.I know previous reviews have mentioned the cost of wine.We had a bottle of good Pinot at a reasonable price.Bottles being better value than glasses of wine !!.Breakfast was superb with quality service.They messed up our bill when we checked out but the error was quickly corrected and was another very minor niggle.Would i go back ? |Most definatly!Lovely location,good beer,food and rooms. A memorable birthday treat !!

Room Tip: Choose Poppys
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhumphr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Great review thanks!Sorry about the niggles we have been working on these!Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Alan
Chef Patron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed one night at this trully beautiful boutique hotel and wished we had been able to extend our stay but our intinery precluded this.The staff, from the manager who met us to the restaurant staff etc, were very friendly and efficient..It was a pleasure talking to them. The room was beautifully presented and the SHOWER WAS THE BEST WE USED IN THE UK.
The restaurant setting and the cuisine was superb!! The Grouse I had set a new benchmark for me...We loved this place and will come back next time we are in the UK

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Great to read your comments thanks,it means alot to the team and myself as we strive for perfection all the time!Hope you can visit us again when your next back in the uk!
Regards
Alan
Chef Patron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We was promised a superb room near to chatsworth fine dining. We got a bog standard B&B near Chatsworth with pub grub.

Pleasent enough staff but the quality was just not up to the marketing hype and not up to the price tag. The staff that book you into the hotel are in Skipton and I am sure if the pub was reponsible for its own booking it would not over egg the level of which its marketing aspires to.

Just to annoy us further they advised it was fully booked and it was dead with 4 tables set for breakfast on the monday.... Very quite sunday night.. with that said the staff seemed to be utilising the room above and getting up at 6:30am very annoying.

Functional B&B

Room Tip: Well worth going when they have a deal on... Otherwise spend your pennies outside of Chatsworth and...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks taking the time to chat to me the other day I am sure we will live up to expectations when you revisit us in the near future!
Kind regards
Alan
Chef Patron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beeley
3.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
801 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms at Beeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms at Beeley

Address: Chatsworth Estate, Beeley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE4 2NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Beeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Beeley
Price Range: $156 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms at Beeley 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Chatsworth Estate, Beeley is one of those picturesque unspoilt country villages. And The Devonshire Arms is one of those picturesque country inn at the heart of village life. But with a difference! It offers the charm and character of an historic inn with a warm and comfortable interior full of oak beams and stone crannies. Make your way through to the brasserie and be amazed at the contrast of the startlingly different décor with panoramic windows overlooking the village, the contemporary bar, the glass fronted wine store and colourful furnishings. And for the ultimate escape, why not stay in one of our eight stylish cottage bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Devonshire Arms at Beeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms At Beeley Hotel Beeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing