We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food / Good service”

The Devonshire Arms at Beeley - Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Beeley
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated on the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire's 35,000 acre Chatsworth Estate, Ideally located for a relaxing getaway when visiting Chatsworth House and Gardens. It offers the charm and character of an historic inn with a contemporary Brasserie which is modern, bright and relaxing while the Inn is cosy and inviting. The Malt Vault houses 'the Malt Vault Table' which can seat up to 12 people and is ideal for a more private celebration. The 14 bedrooms are chic and comfortable and a perfect spot to enjoy a stay on the heart of the Chatsworth Estate. Chatsworth is one of Britain's best loved historic houses and estates. There is something for everyone to enjoy: from famous works of art and new exhibitions to landscaped gardens and spectacular fountains. The house, garden, farmyard, adventure playgrounds, gift shops and farm shop offer a delightful day out for all the family. The magnificent landscape and pretty little villages of Derbyshire's Peak District National Park offer miles of free walks, and the Chatsworth Farm Shop is just a short walk away selling fresh local produce, much of which is used on the menu at The Devonshire Arms.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food / Good service”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Beautiful Sunday lunch, good quality of food which you can watch being prepared from the right table. A nice selection of wine, stylish decor and good service. Not the cheapest however.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gutsymmetries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    146
    107
    116
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tries but misses the mark sometimes”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place. Husband and I stayed for three nights, so we ate quite a lot of what was on the menu. Some of it was fine; a rabbit tortellini on a carrot and orange puree was lovely, an apple tart tatin was beautifully done, lovely and sticky with real vanilla ice cream, and a chocolate panna cotta with raspberries and churros was also good.

But some of it tried hard but missed the mark. The assiette of pork for example. The pork was nicely done, but the apple and beetroot accompanying it was too sweet. A salad of crispy belly posk and blue cheese was tasty, but their were weird noodles in the salad that added nothing to it. Goat's cheese mousse barely tasted of goat. And a Caesar salad was made with floppy lettuce... perfectly fresh lettuce, just a floppy round-leaved variety. Caesar salad should be made with a crisper variety of lettuce like cos lettuce. And the cheese in it didn't taste salty and tangy like good parmesan should.

Sunday night was noticeably less good than the other two nights. Maybe it's the chef's night off? The service was a bit slack that night too, better the other nights, though always a bit slow. But they were busy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scratchetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice lunch in Chatsworth”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Four of us had lunch after walking from Chatsworth to Beeley.
Food very nice, though some may find it a bit pricey.
Hand pump beers were good and served at the right temperature and were clear.
All very professional, but would have preferred a warm welcome from the young woman at the bar - it was a bit too aloof and distant, though polite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonaldQuackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday meal”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

For my birthday I had lunch at the Devonshire Arms - 2 courses off the Butcher's platter. A lovely pea and ham risotto to start, quality bangers and mash to follow and a large glass of Sauvignon Blanc. Service was subtle, atmosphere classy and food truly lovely. Highly recommended

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneCowdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful treat”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband decided to take me out for lunch, somewhere we had passed several times and thought the next time we pass here we must go in, there is always a lot of cars on the car park which is always a good sign, we we'rnt disappointed. A friendly greeting on arrival, two lovely crackling fires at both ends needed today as it was quite cold out even though we saw a little sun today. We did'nt have the starters and glad we did'nt as the mains were quite big, we both had the haddock and chips, mushy peas and a relish, the fish was like a whale hanging off the plate, the batter was thin and crispy just how we like it and chunky cut chips that melted in the mouth, I enjoyed a house white with mine while my husband has one of the many special beers on offer, we finished with a lovely lemon tart with ice cream yummy, and my husb and had the sticky toffee pudding with ice cream, two coffees and we were stuffed, we would definitely not pass by again but would always go in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronald d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Devonshire Arms at Beeley - Restaurant also viewed

 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Devonshire Arms at Beeley - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing