We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous cottage in a beautiful location!”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to Winnow Stables...... meet Bella, Mrs Pepperpot and Lola, some of our friendly ladies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Winnow Stables...... meet Bella, Mrs Pepperpot and Lola, some of our friendly ladies.
Snuggle up,  two squashy armchairs and a generous double sofa arranged around the wood burner.... Open plan living area...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Welcome to Winnow Stables...... meet Bella, Mrs Pepperpot and Lola, some of our friendly ladies.
Snuggle up,  two squashy armchairs and a generous double sofa arranged around the wood burner....
Open plan living area...
The Stables has full central heating but also has a Log burner for cosy nights in.
Bedroom 1 with king sized bed.
Bedroom 1
Both bedrooms have an en-suite with walk in power showers and fluffy white towels.
Bedroom 2 with King sized bed or two singles.
Bedroom 2 - may be configured as king sized or twin beds..... just let us know which you require.
Bedroom 2
Al fresco dining.....perfect!
Welcome to Winnow Stables. Luxury holiday accommodation in the Peak District, sleeps 4.
Rocky one of our baby Ryeland lambs.
Meet Wilfy and Jimbo the naughty Pygmy goats...
Boris and Chicco - the very cheeky donkeys!
Winter on the farm...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cosmopoli...
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cottage was everything we thought it would be from the pictures. It is been converted and decorated with style using quality materials. It's cozy but uncluttered, beautiful tall ceilings with beams but always lovely and warm. The log burner was really lovely to come home to after long walks around the area. The kitchen has everything you need and the beds were really comfortable. The farm itself has a lovely atmosphere with goats and donkeys and we were greeted on our arrival by Thomas the cat! The owners are really helpful and friendly but not at all intrusive which is really important when you want to get away from it all. The best way for me to recommend this cottage is by saying that I will be going back the next time I plan a trip to the Peak District. Really, really happy!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2017
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. It make all the hard work worth while when I get such lovely feedback Hope to see you all again soon. Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FellowTra...
1 review
“Excellent Standard & Location”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

First of all Andrea was extremely helpful and really understood what her guests need!
In terms of the cottage, we can confirm it was 5-Star in terms of the quality of fittings, appliances, bedding and bathrooms so if you really looking for a luxury spec cottage then look no further!
For anyone coming from the south of England and wanting a central location within the Peak District National Park then this was it! The main activities you would want to do from amazing walks, to bike rental/trails and horses, all are approx 10-15 mins drive from the cottage. There is also Ilam village and river trail with the stepping stone crossing only a few minutes away.
In short all the natural (postcard) beauty you would associate with the Peaks is here and easily accessible which is key when you've already driven for a few hours to get there.
To top it off you also have access to the owners own farmyard and animals, from cats, hens and goats which are excellent for the younger kids.
In short if your looking for a few therapeutic days of sheer beauty then look no further.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2017
Thank you so much for the excellent review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I'm delighted that we met your expectations. Hope to see you and your family again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Hilltop tranquil family retreat”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Set in the hills above Ashbourne and Ilam, this converted stables is a little gem of a find. A perfect base for exploring nearby Dovedale and farther afield to places such as the Manifold valley and Tissington trail. The place has everything you need for self-catering with a nice open plan kitchen lounge area complete with a wood burner.

The owners Andrea and her husband are very amenable. The goats, sheep and donkeys they keep on the farm were very entertaining for our 15 month old daughter. She also made friends with the farm cat and it appears both she and the cat were sorry when it was time to leave!

Overall an excellent week despite the intermittent showers/rain. But then you can't book the weather, can you?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2017
Thank you James for taking the time to write such a great review. It was lovely to meet you all and hope to see you all soon.
Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe17
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had an amazing week staying at Winnow Stables, which is in a beautiful setting and perfectly situated for trips out to Ashbourne, Chatsworth etc. The rooms are all beautifully designed and in keeping with the rural setting, with great showers and really comfortable beds. 2 ensuite bathrooms was a definite bonus! The goats, sheep and donkeys kept our 4 year old entertained and Andrea kindly left goodies with which to feed the animals. The yummy lemon drizzle cake on arrival was the icing on the cake - would not hesitate to recommend a stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Thank you for the great review. It was a pleasure to meet such a lovely family and hope you will be back to stay again soon. Best wishes Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming cottage in a truly rural setting”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A beautiful spot - and the owners directed us to a very good circular walk directly from the farm - where we could look back and appreciate the beauty of the position.
We particularly wanted to walk in Dovedale and it was perfect for that too.
Extremely comfortable beds.
The owners were on hand and very welcomming.
We were very comfortable throughout our stay. It was peaceful and stylish.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for the great review and we hope you will stay with us again.
Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seanfowle...
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
“Winnow barn stables”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Modern,luxurious, cosy accommodation.
Had a wonderful stay. Enjoyed the local pubs and countryside and only 20 mins from alton towers.
Kids loved meeting and feeding the animals. Would be happy to visit again or recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
It was lovely to meet you and your family and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay - hope to see you all again. Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha6...
2 reviews
“Incredible countryside stay”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Winnow Stables is nicely decorated, modern, peaceful and the log burner is the icing on the cake. Being city folk we were a bit clueless in using the burner so Andrea showed us how to make the most of it. The super comfy beds and fresh air meant we slept very well! It's well located for stunning walks and we enjoyed meeting the local residents (donkeys, goats and sheep). Andrea and John are welcoming and helpful hosts - Andrea also makes a knock out lemon drizzle cake! Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing